We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property but could care less about guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #73 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice property but could care less about guest”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel in May on a trip with my 23 year old daughter and requested two beds on my reservation. I was given a room with two twin beds pushed together and made up as a single bed. When I told the front desk about the situation, they told me that I could push the beds apart myself if i needed to (now this is suppose to be a 4 plus star hotel). When I asked for two beds again, I was downgraded to a smaller room with a double bed and was given a cot. I slept on the cot which was a bit nicer than my 10th grade boyscout bed. Magagement should be fired. I am a Platinum member of Priority Club, Intercontinentals VIP membership club, so membership obviously has it's advantages.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear DrC55

Thank you very much for your feedback. As a Senior Reviewer your comments are especially valuable to us.

I was very surprised to learn about your bedding issues and of course discussed it immediately with the team. Separating beds as you had requested is certainly not unusual in any way and something we do almost on a daily basis. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding on our part, for which I would like to apologize.

The new room that you were given as per your request was actually the identical room category, but perhaps due to the fact that the twin beds were separated may have appeared smaller.

I am very sorry that you were given the impression that our staff is not helpful; I would like to assure you of the contrary.

I sincerely hope that you will be returning to Vienna in the not too distant future and that we can reinstate your confidence in our hotel and InterContinental Hotels in general.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    688
    230
    64
    35
See reviews for
257
721
89
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A stay at the intercontinental Vienna allows you to combine the best of both worlds: The hotel lobby, bar and restaurants in the old viennoise style and the rooms and suites with modern equipment and excellent broadband internet connection. Also the sports facilities is excellent. Only drawback is the lack of a swimming pool.

Please take some time for a walk in the "Stadtpark" just in front of the hotel. A nice, charming park which wil delight you by its mix of "ancient stones" and beautifully treated fowers and plants. Something you will never forget.

The service is perfect. They will remember your name already on your second stay !

There are also lots of pleasant restaurants all around the location. Just leave the hotel and turn left and you will find left of the "Stadtpark" towards the center of the old town en enormous variety of restaurants, certain to appeal to any taste.

Room Tip: If you have a priority club card and you upgrade it to an intercontinental card you will - depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Fantastic location, nice rooms, very grand style older hotel. We really enjoyed our time in Vienna and also staying at the InterContinental. The rooms were nice, small but very nicely done and comfortable. We had a lovely view over the park. It was only a short walk to the major tourist attractions (Spanish Riding school, shopping street, palace etc). Vienna is such a beautiful, romantic and pretty city - even in the height of Winter. We went to the opera on the Saturday night and even though the Opera itself wasn't the best, the atmosphere was sensational.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneysidersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at the hotel for only one night and so my comments should be read with that in mind. The check in process was a little slow but otherwise fine. The rooms are a little dated and the temperature control was very poor. The room was far too warm with no way of effectively cooling it down. This temperature problem was also evident in the meeting rooms.

The food was fine and room service effective although the menu wasnt where the hotel brochure said it was! I asked for a copy of the menu to be delivered to my room. This was promised but never happened.

There is no wireless internet access in the rooms which just amazes me for a hotel that is presumably there for business travellers primarily. Wireless access in the lobby/meeting rooms is just unacceptable in the 21st century.

Having re-read my review, it is very negative and that's unfair. The hotel is OK with a few minor irritations but instantly forgettable I suppose

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodsussexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Rodsussexuk,

Thank you very much for your review.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the problems with your room temperature. Surely we should have been able to adjust the temperature in your room to your liking.
I was also disappointed to read that we failed to deliver the room service menu to your room.

I can certainly appreciate that these two rather basic requests would have an impact on your stay.

We are currently working on expanding the wireless network to include all guest rooms, which is an important convenience for today’s traveler.

I would like to assure you that your review will assist us with improving our overall services and as such, is most helpful.

Best regards and safe travels,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great location for the Metro. The station is just over the road from the hotel, and it is a short walk to the centre of the city.
We stayed here from 22nd thru to 26th december and pre booked the christmas eve dinner which we found dissapointing cost of 95 euros per person the wines were of poor quality and the food while their was a great variety it was not spectacular.
The room was comfortable but in need of redecorating.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Staying on the club floor turned out to be such a good idea! Not only was there a comfortable spot to lounge starting at 6:30 in the morning if afflicted by jet lag. . . but there were unlimited espressos and lattes plus delicious food all day long. Brigit and Doris were both welcoming hostesses as well as knowledgeable concierges.

We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was a nice treat. Bed was very comfortable with ever so soft linens and fluffy down duvet. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was incredibly varied, with lovely presentation and outstanding execution. Viennese pastries in the club during afternoon tea simply to die for!

Great, convenient location in a dazzling, romantic, charming city! Would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Club floor well worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmomadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear travelmomadventure,

We love exceeding our guests expectations – and we love even more hearing about it!

Birgit and Doris will be thrilled to hear your rave review about them, they are both such wonderful Club Lounge hosts.

Our lounge is indeed a very special oasis, a place to relax after a busy day of shopping or business appointments. We love to spoil our guests with some wonderful sweet and savory foods, not to mention the complimentary beverages.

We hope to welcome you back to Vienna very soon.

All the best and safe travels

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very good place, kind staff and good breakfast but the room was cold

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Vienna
1,670 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#43 of 362 in Vienna
1,118 reviews
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 362 in Vienna
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Vienna
#111 of 362 in Vienna
2,986 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 362 in Vienna
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#52 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing