We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #75 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Money value”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

One of the best hotel in Wien.
Friendly and professionally staff, always there to help you.The location is perfect whether you want to walk or whether you want to take the metro..exactly outside the hotel.The rooms are cozy and even though not so spacious they are still comfortable.You must not miss the breakfast..in one word is SUPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms with park view and as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXCHARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    703
    232
    67
    35
See reviews for
263
736
92
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Conveniently located in city near Wiener Lienian station that you can easily visit attractions. Breakfast was a real treat packed with pastries. The rooms where notability small, clausterphobicly to facilitate willingness to see sights.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeLLiBaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Vienna InterContinental is conveniently located in the city center just across the street from the Stadtpark, a large city park and a Wiener Lienian station...Vienna's public transportation - not sure if considered a train or subway...a close enough for short walks to some major sights.

Friendly staff, nice rooms with comfy down comforters, good room service. Probably the smallest bathroom accommodations I have ever seen in upscale hotel. All in all, typical city hotel catering to business travelers...but great for our family visit to Christmas Markets.

Room Tip: Bathrooms very,very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chichicastenango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Chichicastenango,
happy to hear that you had a great stay in Vienna and enjoyed the Christmas markets. We hope to see you again in Vienna.
With kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The reception and bar area of the hotel are impressive with a classic and elegant style. Staff very efficient though could have been friendlier. Rooms were comfortable, especially the bed, though as other reviewers have noted the bathroom is very small. Breakfast was really something - so much choice and very tasty. We didn't experience a problem of having to queue for breakfast as another reviewer has mentioned, though we went at around 10am each day so maybe it is busier earlier on.

The hotel is brilliantly located. It's directly opposite an underground station (Stadtparc - it's very cheap to get around Vienna this way), and also within walking distance of the city centre and Staatsoper. I would definitely stay in this area again.

My only gripe was that free wireless was not available to guests. Instead you would have to pay 15E for a standard connection and 18E for hi speed wireless for 24h usage. These prices are absurdly high and I would expect free wireless from a 5 star hotel. The hotel does offer a free standard Wi-Fi connection if you are an IHG member, though it's so slow you might as well use dial up. Another alternative is to bring a laptop or wireless repeater so you can use the Ethernet connection that is provided free of charge (as far as I could tell). Sadly none of our 4 mobile devices had an Ethernet port, which goes to show that the hotel is in need of an update.

Despite the wireless issue I would recommend this hotel to others and would go back if I returned to Vienna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the city center, is very busy with long lines to have a seat in the breakfast. The rooms are spacious and clean despite the bathroom that is very small. The staff was very kind and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Somewhat bland exterior reveals warm and busy lobby with good bar and lounge area. Staff are visible and helpful. Check in and out was courteous and quick. The hotel is is just outside the tourist insanity of central Vienna, but just off the ring, it is less than 15 minutes walk to St Stephens and 10 minutes to the Opera. There is a U station right opposite - so getting anywhere, fast, is simple.
Huge breakfasts were a good start to the day - fish, meat, eggs, fruit, breads..
Amex Platinum gives access to the Club Room with food and good drinks all day long. Great for a quick bite before a concert….

Room Tip: Good view over Stadtpark and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My first reaction upon checking-in? Signs clearly-visible in the back office encouraging staff to 'up-sell'! InterContinental Wien, you need to get these signs out of public view and be more subtle about your tactics!

First impressions aside the hotel is in a relatively convenient location, it's directly in front of a subway station, relatively easy to walk directly to the old town centre (approx. 15 minutes) and within a sneeze of major cultural and social attractions. The building itself could easily be one of Europe's most ugly (mostly because everything else in this city is so visually stunning) but it is functional and the staff were mostly warm and welcoming.

There was no assistance offered from the bell-staff upon arrival nor any offer to be shown to the room by front desk staff after checkin, which seemed odd but nevertheless didn't overly concern me. Check-in was relatively quick and the only reason it took longer than expected was due to the check-in staff looking for an upgraded room for me - again, nothing to complain about.

We received an upgrade to a Junior Suite which was essentially two corner rooms inter-connected but a bed in only one of the rooms. This meant there was ample space to relax in one of the rooms and the other for sleeping. Having access to 2 full bathrooms was also a luxurious touch. The views over the park were dreamy and the room was not overly-cluttered with every latest technological offering but rather thoughtfully laid-out with the most practical of basics. The draw-back of being in 2 inter-connected rooms was that in the hotel's system when we would call (laundry service, room service etc) from the 2nd room it would take a few minutes to explain who we were because the room was not registered under our name.

The only real concern with this property is the room service food which is sub-par and once we learnt our lesson we ate out for all our meals.

I believe this property is quite good value for all types of travelers and convenient enough for most. It isn't quite 5 star but close enough.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a park view, or a view of the ice-skating rink - whichever you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxeTravelerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear LuxeTravelerHK,
thank you for sharing your impressions in regards to your stay in December.

We have removed the "up-sell signs" from the back office, so that they are not visible anymore.

I sincerely apologize that you have not been offered any help by the bellboys nor the front desk staff upon arrival. This is of course not our usual procedure. However I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the room.

Please visit us again in Vienna.

Kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#81 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Vienna
#111 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#82 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing