We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #77 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very conveniently located”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed there for three nights as a part of our honeymoon. Lots of business travelers there. Just one minute from the subway station. 10-15 minutes walk to the center of the city. Was easy to get on the tram too.
The hotel concierge arranged us the most wonderful seats for the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra concert at the Golden Hall of Wiener Musikverein.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masakotnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear masakotnk,

thank you very much for your review - the feedback of our guests are very important to us and is very much appreciated.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share this with the team.
It is great that you had the chance to visit the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and the Musikverein
I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards from Vienna

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    711
    233
    68
    35
See reviews for
265
745
94
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel in Vienna as part of a vacation. The hotel itself is nicely located within a 10-15 minute walk of St. Stephen's Cathedral. The room we had at the hotel was very, very nice, however I felt the service at the hotel was lacking. Upon arrival (about noon) our room was not ready. I could understand this and when I later returned to check in, we had been put on the 12th floor (Intercontinental Club level). However, when my husband tried to get into the 12th floor lounge to ask for help from the concierge in obtaining his seat assignment on Austrian Airlines, he was told that although we were placed on that floor, we were not allowed access to the Club. In order to get help with what he needed, he then had to go down to the Concierge desk in the lobby where the Concierge proceeded to tell him that he'd have to go to the business center. My husband was left with a computer where he had to try to figure out German and obtain the seat assignment himself. In addition, I had tried to call for a replacement for the room iron which was not working and I needed to call back to the front desk again a half an hour later to request the iron. Overall, I felt that the hotel itself was very nice, but that service left a bit to be desired. It felt like a big hotel with no focus on the customer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Julie N ,

thank you very much for your review which is very much appreciated.
The feedback of our guest are very important to us and it helps us to improve our service quality.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.
It shouldn't be an issue to help with your boarding and I'm really sorry to read that we weren't able to support you in an appropriate way.

I will of course share your feedback with the team

Please accept my sincere apology and I really do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel. It is luxury but generic. Rooms are not that big, small bathroom. The lobby is very nice, with large bar. We ate one night at the bar and it was good. They had wonderful oysters that night. Breakfast had lots of choices, everything from Miso soup to French toast. The hotel was close to most of the attractions via the hop on hop off tours. The spa was an adventure. My friend and I booked massages and our massuser was very young and inexperienced, so be beware.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukerlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Lukerlou,

thank you very much for your review which is very much appreciated.
The feedback of our guest is really important to us in order to improve our service.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast choices and our Bar.
Indeed our Hotel is located very well and most of the sights are in walking distance.
I'm really sorry for the inconvinience regarding your massage - I will of course get back to the team to share your experience.
I really do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for three nights - we were most disappointed!

The hotel was on the edge of the city centre and it would have been a fifteen minute walk to the centre.

The rooms were old and outdated in style with with showers in the baths. The furnishing of the room was most average. They need a good interior decorator.

Room Tip: If you like modern amenities, look for hotels with a separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Merie L ,

thank you very much for your review, the feedback of our guest is really important to us and it's most appreciated.
We are very sorry to read that you didn't enjoyed your stay with us and you didn't like the interior of our rooms.
Indeed our hotel is not in the city centre however most sights are in walking distance and easy to reach.
I really do hope that we are going to have the chance of welcoming you back

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for a week on business and the hotel was great for this purpose although there seemed to be many people on vacation there that were equally enjoying themselves. Clean, tidy, good rooms and staff. No complaints! Near enough to the main areas for restaurants and a bit of sight seeing.

Room Tip: I would go for 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear 2pence,

thank you very much for your nice review which is really much appreciated.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you highlighted our rooms and staff.
We really do hope that we will have the oportunity of welcoming you back

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Booked this hotel for a one-day stopover with a goal to be near the city. It was comfortable, within easy walk of many things to do, and plenty close to the U bahn as well.

Friendly staff at checkin and in the lounge, and great views from the top-floor lounge also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idonotlikeliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear idonotlikeliver,

thank you very much for your kind review.
The feedback of our guest is really important to us and your kind words are very much appreciated.
Indeed our Club Lounge has a lovely view over the city and plenty of guests enjoyed this during a drink or two
We really do hope that we will have the oportunity of welcoming you back soon

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is nice hotel in downtown, next door to Stadtpark - 20 mins on CAT or taxi from Vienna airport.
Not the chipest one but still good value for money. Nice, clean rooms, very helpfull and cheerfull staff. No any complains from my side on service quality.
The hotel is big enouth and at breakfast time it might be crowded.
Buffet breakfast with very good variaties of any kind of food - from soup to water melons.
Breakfast in the club lounge is much more limited, but much less people and very nice view from 12th floor.
Very nice gym with helpfull trainers and good hardware - one of the best so far.
If you'd like to touch memories of "old good times" for a reasonable price - please come to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igorek456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Igorek456,

thank you very much for your nice review, your feedback is very much appreciated.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I really do hope that we will have the possibility of welcoming you back soon

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#80 of 360 in Vienna
2,851 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#76 of 360 in Vienna
1,730 reviews
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#26 of 360 in Vienna
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#36 of 360 in Vienna
1,187 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#114 of 360 in Vienna
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing