We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #75 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I liked the location. Rooms seemed to be bit old but clean. Breakfast was messy it looked like they didn't have enough staff to cover rush hour. Very expensive a'la carte restaurant but it's a 5 star so you should expect that level of prices. Overall nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Andrey G,

thank you so much for your kind review, which is very much appreciated.
The location of the hotel is indeed one of our advantages and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the breakfast and I have already shared your feedback with our F&B Team.
I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back and I hope that you can accept my apology.
In the meantime I wish you all the best and a lovely summer.

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    679
    226
    63
    35
See reviews for
255
704
88
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I get a contradictory impression of my stay. On the one hand, comfortable and spacious room, nice atmosphere, and delicious snacks in the lounge on the club floor, free morning coffee on the ground floor. On the other hand, the lack of attention to details, that create a sense of hospitality and a desire to return again. Thus, at check-in I got a welcome letter with the privileges, while the letter did not specify my name. The same letter with my name put under the door of my room after 9 p.m. In mini bar of my room I found half eaten chocolate, so the saff didn't check the room before check-in new guests. At check-in I got 2 electronic room keys, and one of them did not work. When I went to the front desk and asked to replace one key, the employee - the same, who greeted and checked me in two hours earlier, asked for my ID. When I said, that I do not have ID with me, the employee asked my date of birth. In principle, nothing awfull, security measures, but I can't understand, how the employee can forget the guest, who was checked-in 2 hours earlier and welcomed as a Platinum Ambassador member. On the day of departure in my room wifi, phone and tv stopped working - any repairs carried out. I couldn't call guest service and find out, what was happenning, because the local phone didn't work, so I had to down and ask to resolve these problems. Another negative impression of my stay was the fact, that when I entered the parking of the hotel, the price per night was 32 euros. At the front desk when I paied my bill, they charged me 35 euros. I was surprised, but did not raise this issue. When I was leaving the parking, the staff changed the sign with the price 32 euros into 35 euros. It would be logical to apply the new price to the customers after notification, and not to extend it to those, who began to use this service on the previous price. And finally, the hotel exterior is not very attractive. Unlike the beautiful architecture of Vienna, the hotel’s building looks like a «set of false teeth». Overall, I would not recommend this hotel as a place, where should to stay in Vienna and is unlikely to stay here again.

Room Tip: Club room is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear bunechca,

thank you so much for your review, which is very much appreciated.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges that you experienced as that is certainly not indicative of the level of service that we pride ourselves on.
We already made follow up with the specific departments in order to improve this kind of service.
The safety and security of our guests is our utmost concern and we follow very
strict InterContinental standards and procedures, therefore we need to ask for an ID.
Dear bunechca - again I'm very sorry for the inconvenience and I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back.
In the meantime I wish you all the best and a lovely summer.

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I enjoyed this hotel for business. Spacious rooms, free wifi, great food, lovely service and a beautiful bar and lobby area. Concierges doing whatever they can to please and all staff has a great attitude. My only complaint... I was on a floor with what seemed to be a lot of tour groups so each morning at 6am I'd wake up when they opened all of their doors to go on tour....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Cindi D,

thank you very much for staying with InterContinental Vienna and of course thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments are a big motivation to all of us.
I was certainly very disappointed to learn that your stay was marred by noise and I'm really sorry about that.
I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back soon.
In the meantime I wish you all the best and a wonderful summer

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

In simple words it was an absolutely wonderful experience. Stayed five days at this gorgeous property and I must say it was beyond my IHG member expectations. Do not get me wrong, as a loyal customer of this hotel brand the moment I step in I always expect the best of the best. Nevertheless, Vienna Intercontinental Hotel has a classic flavour thai can not be missed! From the warming reception (immediately acknowledging my ambassador status) to the spectacular city and Stadt Park views to the very chic club suite I was assigned to the breakfast at both the Club Lounge and the MeditarreNeo Restaurant, everything was perfect. Particularly it is to be emphasized the staff caring to guest's needs, no matter how insignificant. I had a very pleasent staying and would definitvely recommend the hotel. My deepest congratulations!

Room Tip: If available choose suites in the Club floor. They are gorgeous and have lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emroao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear emroao,

thank you so much for your wonderful review, which is very much appreciated.
The feedback of our guest are very important to us, especially from our loyal Ambassador Members, as you are.
We were delighted to read your kind words about your stay and we will of course share this with the team.
Your shared experience is a big motivation to all of us.
I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back.
In the meantime we wish you all the best and a lovely summer.

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We'd read some reviews that said this was a tired building with the hotel in need of refurbishment. Not so at all. In Europe, the Intercontinental Prague sets the standard, in my opinion. I've a couple more to visit so that view may change - but for now, it stands. The ICH Vienna is just about up there with its Prague sibling and perhaps even ahead from a certain perspective.

The hotel is directly opposite the U4 underground station which serves the Airport CAT interchange as well as the high brow shopping area in Kaerntner Strasse; bo th of these places are a short walk away - except in the rain!

We didn't get the opportunity of eating in the restaurant, but we ate twice in the café. They had a decent range of Viennese hot dishes and we could see that they were individually cooked Absolutely first class food and service.

One of the reasons that we never used the restaurant was that, being four persons in two room for two nights, and breakfast at around €40 each. So a room pass to the Club Lounge at €80 per room was a no brainer. Happy our; wal to wall Schlumberger Brut Sekt (top class bubbly); hot food; finger food etc.

The rooms were excellent; the plumbing worked; the WiFi worked everywhere. A special mention should be made of Ahmed and his concierge colleagues. They were a cheerful and helpful crew.

Top class.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suspishio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Suspishio,

thank you so much for your lovely words and your kind review - it is very much appreciated.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The location of the hotel is indeed one of our advantages and we will pass your kind words to Ahmed.
I really do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and in the meantime we wish you all the best and a lovely summer

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the metro and the park. The concierges Christian and Thomas are extremely knowledgeable and accommodating. The rooms are clean and well appointed.
I am happy to have been in residence at the Intercontinental Vienna.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Laura P,

thank you so much for sharing your experience with InterContinental Vienna.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, your kind words are very much appreciated.
I will of course share your lovely review with the team, this is a big motivation to all of us.
Our concierges are indeed very knowledgeable and we are very proud of this.
I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back soon.
In the meantime I wish you all the best and a lovely summer

With kind regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times already and every time is a very consistent service delivered. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice gym but very small stream room. good location with woking distance to the main street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Henrique S,

thank you so much for your kind review, which is very much appreciated.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stays with us and I am more than happy to share your lovely review with the team.
This is a big motivation to all of us and we really do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
In the meantime we wish you all the best and a lovely summer

With kind regards from Vienna

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hilton Vienna
#112 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#84 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#44 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing