We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mozart overdose”
Review of Mozarthaus Vienna

Mozarthaus Vienna
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.04*
and up
Mozarthaus Vienna Admission Ticket
More Info
US$34.38*
and up
Mozarthaus Vienna Summer Concert with Museum Admission Ticket
More Info
US$69.95*
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket
Ranked #14 of 104 Concerts & Shows in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Domgasse 5 is the only one of Mozart's apartments in Vienna that still exists today. The composer lived in Mozarthaus Vienna in grand style from 1784 to 1787. Nowhere else did he compose more music. Mozarthaus Vienna presents the life and work of the musical genius Wolfgang Amade Mozart, with particular emphasis on his Vienna years from 1781 to 1791, in a unique setting in the heart of Vienna close to St Stephan's Cathedral.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mozart overdose”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

You need plenty of time to really enjoy the whole museum. There's a rich and very good audio guide through the museum with a specific child version (really good!) telling you the whole life of Mozart. It's fascinating to stand in the rooms where Mozart used to live.
Over all you need a lot of time if you want to get everything but fortunately you can skip not only rooms but also parts of the audio guide and compile your own tour with just the pieces you're interested in.
Staff in the shop has the unpleasant habit to manipulate your input into the credit card machine, i.e. they try to select the currency you're going to pay with.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ReiseReiseCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MozarthausVienna, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mozarthaus Vienna, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit at the Mozarthaus Vienna. Also I would like to apologize for your incident at our shop! Your Mozarthaus Vienna Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    225
    251
    139
    101
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brossard
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing interesting”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Really not worth the 17 euro (with Vienna card) - all the pieces are copies, haven't seen a museum with no originals! There is absolutely nothing that was made to reproduce the atmosphere. The audio guide is okay, but not great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank keikoBrossard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MozarthausVienna, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mozarthaus Vienna, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The admission for our museum is regular 10 €, reduced 8 €. The audioguide is included in the price. € 17 is the price of our reduced family ticket. The decoration of Mozarts historic apartement is intentionally to emphansize the distinctive nature and authenticity of the rooms. Sadly there is no furniture of Mozart left so we choose a narrative reconstruction which is, again, the most authenticity we can give to our visitors. At our special exhibition and on the third floor we do have originals. Your Mozarthaus Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“History Comes Alive!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Imagine listening to Mozart on your music player while sitting in the very room where he composed the piece! Or stepping out the door and seeing the same view he had? Exhibits are tastefully done. Narrations are excellent. Not too pricey, either. Easy to walk to, as is most of Vienna. A don't miss if you're going to be there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell77017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MozarthausVienna, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mozarthaus Vienna, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback!We are glad that you enjoyed your visit at the Mozarthaus Vienna. Your Mozarthaus Vienna Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing compared to Salzburg”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After visiting his birth house in Salzburg, we were a bit disappointed

One gets the feeling that this is a corporate thing pulled together. There is a very good audio guide, but it's very long. The place has little charm and draws largely on public domain information and images from external collections, so it's an assemblage of images in a place where Mozart wrote Figaro. It's rather ironic that they prohibit photos being taken given all the copies that they have on display. This being said, the history of the apartment is interesting and one comes away with a new wealth of new knowledge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MozarthausVienna, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mozarthaus Vienna, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. You can't take pictures in the museum because of copyright issues. At the Mozarthaus Vienna we do focus on Mozarts years in Vienna especially on the years where he lived at the apartement. The decoration of Mozarts historic apartement is intentionally to emphansize the distinctive nature and authenticity of the rooms. Sadly there is no furniture of Mozart left so we choose a narrative reconstruction which is, again, the most authenticity we can give to our visitors. Your Mozarthaus Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Kids love it!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

audio guide is included in the entry fees and they have a special audio guide made for kids! My kids love it, they listen to all of it and learn a ton about Mozart and his contemporaries!
Well worth it especially if you have children!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mozarthaus Vienna also viewed

 

Been to Mozarthaus Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing