We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Value in Vienna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible Value in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Don't hesitate when booking with Kaiser 23. The hotel is in a prime location for visitors as it is a quick 7 minute walk for those arriving by train (Westbaunhof). Plus, it is within walking distance of the cities primary attractions. While simple, the facilities were tasteful, clean and felt very safe/secure. The staff spoke great English, provided a warm welcome, and was eager to provide restaurant recommendations. I can't comment on the breakfast (available at an additional charge) as we opted to eat at outdoor cafes. But, in regards to the room & accommodations...Wonderful value in an otherwise expense (and pristine) city!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    103
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
81
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

- Gr8 location and neighborhood
- Very helpful & friendly staff,
- Surprisingly very clean.
- Tram stop right in front of the hostel and the Westbahnhof station is about 200 meters away.
- Wi-fi is only available in public areas

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The facilities are clean and safe. The staff was friendly, the location is great in terms of access to public transportation. The building has a unique history too and a quaint but lovely courtyard chapel next to it. Some cons are that the rooms can get very warm during spring/summer and we had a room facing the street. When the window was opened to cool down the room it was so loud on the street that we couldn't sleep, but closing the window resulted in a stifling room. There is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby...thats only partially annoying. Breakfasts are good, but 8 euro per person is a bit steep. However, those are relatively small details, overall it was really enjoyable, great location to see the city and totally affordable.

Room Tip: get one facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dborys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I enjoyed my one night there. It is close to the center and also to the metro station. The neighborhood was quiet and there are many shops nearby. My room was quite spacious with a wardrobe, sink, desk and very comfortable bed. They give you a towel and bathrobes which is nice . It was clean there and the stuff was polite. I would definitely recommend this hostel and most probably stay there again in future. It is affordable place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneta91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed for a week at Kaiser 23 earlier this month. The room itself was nice, rather plain but perfectly adequate. Not being ensuite is difficult, especially as the toilets and showers were quite a distance from my room. Walls are very thin, I was woken several times each night with noise. I'd dread to think what it'd be like if it were busy! There is wifi, but only in the lounge, which is a bit inconvenient.

Bar and lounge is good, with reasonably-priced drinks and snacks.

In the end though, paying almost £50 a night for a twin (not double) room with thin walls, no toilet or shower, no wifi in the room and no breakfast included is pricey, especially when it isn't situated very near the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelchick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiser23, Manager at Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and we are glad you were overall happy with our house. However we also know that the Wifi Situation is not satisfactory to our guests at the moment. We are already working on that and there will be free Wifi coverage for the whole hostel in the near future. Also we do have double rooms as well as twin and single rooms. Kindly contact us directly for possible future bookings so we can make sure we provide the right room for you. Thanks again for your helpful evaluation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

well located near westbahnhoff rail station, well priced, friendly helpful staff with good English. very relaxed, was spotless all over. only downfall, bit noisy from street traffic (to be expected from central location), breakfast was a bit pricy, I ate at'the breakfast club' for a lot less.
overall very good, would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joekdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiser23, Manager at Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time sharing your thoughts and experiences. We are glad you liked it here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We spent one night in this hostel as it is located 5 minutes from the Westbahnhow where we had our tram to Innsbruck.
The hostel is very nice, clean and comfortable. The rooms are furnished in IKEA style and are big and comfy. The staff was very friendly.
The only iconvinience was that the wi-fi worked only in the reception.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parania88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiser23, Manager at Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your comments and the good rating. We are actually working on a total house coverage for our free WiFi right now. There will be free WiFi available in every room soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 201 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse

Property: Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Address: Kaiserstrasse 23, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at a unique place in the Austrian metropolis Wien. In the 7th district, also known as "new building", is the Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse located. The Hostel surprises with a fresh design and the famous Vienna charm. The theme of the young team is "experience Vienna" and this is their everyday goal. The employees at the Kaiser 23 are absolutely professional and they will always find what you are looking for. Whether general manager, reception or housekeeping - our team is open minded, uncomplicated and professional- just what the Kaiser 23 is about. The Hostel is located close to the west station and the Mariahilferstrasse. The stage of the tramline 5 is directly next to our front door. This is the reason why this city hotel is the perfect starting point for wandering in the urban jungle of Vienna or a base station and oasis of peace. After a day full of action and experiences in 7th district, you can come down and relax. In the common room, the Kaiser lounge, is a living room atmosphere - putting your feed up is requested! While drinking a fine Austrian wine, having some tasty snacks or a beer you can calm down and thinking about the passing day. You can send you pictures, holiday greets and videos easily at home because of our fast and free wireless lan. Experience Vienna without deductions, come to the Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse - easy, uncomplicated, centrally, cheap! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser23 Ho(s)Tel And Guesthouse
Kaiser23 Ho(s)Tel & Guesthouse Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing