We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing elegant hotel, flawless service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #16 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My wife & I stayed 4 nights at the Imperial and loved it. We had a Junior Suite and enjoyed the extra space. We prefer real air to air conditioning so appreciated the fact that the windows could open. The bed and pillows were "delicious", as my wife put it. Fantastic service at the front desk and very helpful and engaging bar/lounge staff. Internet was extra, as was the pay per view, so we purchased a package deal for both which had the best value. Perfect location for a walking tour plus a Hertz car rental office is right across the street. Handy!

Tips: Make sure you take the hotel stairway at least once! Enjoy coffee/lunch/brunch across the street at the corner cafe where the locals like to be "seen" and watch everyone stroll and drive by. Try to attend a concert at the symphony hall 20m behind the hotel. Great location! City bus tour was useful and enjoyable, given our short stay. Make sure you try the Weiner Schnitzel at the Schonbrunn Palace cafe/restaurant. Wonderful! The hotel restaurant is pretty pricy but we dove in once. Lots of good restaurants nearby at varying price levels.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with street view highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waterboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

Had a very nice stay at the Hotel Imperial at the end of March 2011. Rooms and the facility are tasteful, elegant and spacious. Staff was friendly, helpful and a valued addition for our stay. Easy access to all of Vienna. Sadly no access to free light weight Internet - so that I would not have to send this review from the (very lovely) cafe across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aehsdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riccardo_giacometti, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear reviewer,
thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Imperial and for taking the time to comment on your stay. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were overall satisfied with our staff and the level of service offered. Furthermore I herewith like to inform you that the internet access is free of charge at our Business Center.
Best regards from Vienna,
Riccardo Giacometti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed at the Imperial for 3 nights in February. Location is excellent. Just adjacent to the musikverein & a minutes walk from Kärtner Strasse. Excellent and most courteous staff throughout our stay. Rooms are great & very well maintained. Breakfast room was cosy and had an extensive spread. Staff were very helpful. Will definitely visit again when in Vienna.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The rooms were ornate, but mine was fairly small. The bathroom had marble floors and were neat and tidy. There is just one elevator, so I would recommend staying on the lower levels. An annoying aspect was dropping off a huge key every time I left and having to stop at the front for my key upon return. Everything was fairly expensive- similar to the city. However it's a block away from the Opera and on the Ring, so the location is great. The staff were friendly and answered all my questions and even followed up afterward.

p.s. the Long Island drinks at the bar are the strongest concoctions ever made.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getachkaraoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

A great old, atmospheric hotel. Very good location in the centre of the city. Air conditioning a little noisy in some rooms however and its on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrquhartHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This was a 3 night award stay as an SPG Platinum Guest.

The Imperial Hotel is just lovely, we couldn't fault it and for us the Imperial is Vienna.

We took the Schnellbahn from Vienna airport to Wien Mitte station and then a taxi to the hotel. On our return we took a taxi to Wien Mitte and then the CAT express train. Both ways were well priced and efficient.

On arrival at the hotel the front door staff quickly took our bags from the taxi and delivered them to the room after we had checked in - actually they didn't just deliver them, they also set them up on suitcase stands, offered to open them up and explained how to use the automatic window shutters. As we had arrived early at 1100, we didn't expect a room to be available and were happy to simply leave our bags whilst we went sightseeing, but Reception were excellent and not only offered us immediate check in but also upgraded us and then walked us to the room.

The room was spacious and comfortable. It had a flat screen TV, sound system and CDs, a desk to work at, two armchairs, a small table and a separate wardrobe/ dressing room. It was very elegantly decorated with yellow silk wall coverings and a half-tester bed with a padded silk headboard and curtains and the bed linen was a very good threadcount making for a restful nights sleep. Each evening the turndown service left a bottle of mineral water and a chocolate at each side of the bed.

Servicing of the room was very efficient and was done at least three times a day, the bathroom was seemingly tidied each time we popped back to warm up (it was a high of minus 10oC whilst we were there). The bathroom was excellent, a large walk in shower (big enough for two) with both handheld and rainwater shower heads, two washbasins, toilet, bidet and separate bath. Bathroom products were generous bottles of Bvlgari. The large mirror was heated so nothing steamed up, and the whole room was beautifully decorated in matched marble.

Breakfast was an extensive hot and cold buffet, with a large choice of everything as well as freshly cooked omlettes, eggs etc to order. As well as orange/ fruit juices there was also champagne. The breakfast area was elegant and beautifully furnished with excellent service - almost like the old Lyons teahouses. We never took less than 2 hours at breakfast, it was long and leisurely and nobody ever tried to rush us. Evening drinks in the bar were comfortable and intimate.

One thing to note is that smoking is allowed in public areas of the hotel, so if you go up the beautiful staircase to have a look be aware that people smoke on the landing area at the top.

A tip for SPG Guests - save some points to spend whilst you're at the hotel. Not many hotels have such a good range of choices available to pay with points during your visit, including a romantic candlelit 4 course dinner for two with wines selected by the Sommalier in the Imperial Restaurant for just 25,500 points.

The location of the hotel is excellent, close to everything. Vienna is built for people - large swathes are pedestrianised, buildings are low rise, and there are lots of parks. And it is such a civilised place - people don't expect tips for simply doing their jobs, in fact on many of our restaurant bills there wasn't even space to add a tip.

Vienna is a lovely place to visit, made even better by staying at the Imperial.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKA_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My family and I stayed for 4 nights at the Imperial last week.. We had a deluxe room with a beautiful view that looked over the Musikverein and the dome of the Karlkirche. The hotel is gorgeous and the rooms are very elegant yet comfortable. The bed was beautiful with lovely white linens. I definitley felt like I was staying in a former palace, which is what I wanted! The staff was fantastic and very friendly. The bottled water and chocolate on the pillow each night is a nice touch. If I had to critique anything it is that the Starwood hotel bath products used in the rooms (the rooms we had at least) are horrible! My hair felt like sludge after using the shampoo. But, in no way should that deter you from staying here when in Vienna. The Imperial is a beautiful property that is everything it says it is. If you want old-world elegance and pampering, this is for you. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creynold02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,741 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#27 of 359 in Vienna
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 359 in Vienna
1,486 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £282 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing