We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull weekend in one of the top floors suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfull weekend in one of the top floors suites”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have been upgraded to the two levels suite on the top floor, The room was gorgeous, with a good view.

Nothing bad to say, just expect old school style and you'll be happy.

We haven't tried the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CnCaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear “CnCaroundtheworld”,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and our followers on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that moreover the upgrade to one of our Maisonnette Suites on the top floor together with the old-school Imperial service enabled us to even exceed your expectation.

With fresh and colorful autumn greetings from Vienna

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    163
    51
    23
    12
See reviews for
187
553
60
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had chosen the Hotel Imperial in Vienna because of its location. Just a few steps from the entrance to the hotel we had access to Vienna's mass transportation system which would take us virtually anywhere we wanted to go. We were pleasantly surprised at the amazing quality of the hotel itself. Our room could not have been nicer. Luxurious doesn't even begin to describe it. The hotel staff were so helpful with our many requests. Vienna in the holiday season is magical; the Christmas Markets (note it's plural), the music, the overall atmosphere are not to be missed. Dress warmly!

Room Tip: Request a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHWPDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear „JLHWPDA“ and partner,

first of all I want to thank you for your visit and for sharing your comments with us and the Trip Advisor community. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the renowned Imperial service. The Christmas Markets in Vienna are indeed of a magical ambience and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again this year during Christmas!

Yours sincerely,

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We are just spending 6 nights in a recently renovated Maisonette Suite at this truly beautiful hotel. Starting with the extremely friendly doorman, everybody we met was very nice and helpful. The only exception is the dark Imperial Cafe, where breakfast is served and where service is just so-so with some quite moody waiters.
The apparently ongoing renovation doesn't disturb. The gym on the sixth floor is small, but very well equipped (newish Technogym equipment). Location is perfect - right in the very center.
Don't forget to buy their famous - and really excellent - Imperial Cake for your friends back home.

Room Tip: Maisonnette Suites have a small balcony with chairs, overlooking the roofs of Vienna. Ideal for a gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisszrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear "swisszrh ",

thank you very much for your kind review and for sharing your experience with us and the entire TripAdvisor Community! It is indeed a pleasure for us to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the current revitalisation works have not disturbed you at all – which is definitely one of our most important aims during this project. The revitalize Café Imperial will be back open on its original place on December 20th and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Imperial in a hopefully not too distant future!

With fresh and colourful autumn greetings from Vienna,

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

What other concierge can get you center, front row seats, "horse level", to see the performance at the Spanish Riding School, other than Orlando Donato at the Hotel Imperial in Vienna? In fact, additional staff were also instrumental with procuring hard to find wines, dinner reservations, returning our rental car etc.! The mark of a GREAT hotel is impeccable service and the Imperial is renowned for such. We were upgraded upon arrival and well cared for during our stay. Beautiful, well appointed rooms...ask for one that is on a high floor. Can't wait to return to this special place.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a high floor facing the Ringstrasse. Great light, view of the cathedral steeple and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear „Luxvagabond“,

first of all we want to take the opportunity to thank you for your appreciated feedback and for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are more than pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Imperial as well the show at the Spanish Riding School with its famous Lipizzan ballet that can be experienced live in the baroque ambiance of the Imperial Palace. Furthermore I want to thank you for your compliments about our Team and I am certain that it will further encourage them to extend their fullest efforts in delivering memorable experiences for our guests in the future as well!

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again and remain,

with best regards from sunny Vienna,

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

what a city and what a great hotel. spend there a long weekend with my family and we had a great time. Nice and big rooms and the food is outstanding. location is right in the city - walking distance to all main attractions. Imperial cake is a must

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slavka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear „Slavka P“ and family,

thank you very much for your recent stay in the Hotel Imperial and for sharing your feedback with us and our followers on TripAdvisor. It is indeed a great pleasure to read your feedback about Vienna and especially about the Hotel Imperial and we are pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us.

It would be an honor for us to welcoming you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We are staying at the Hotel Imperial for 4 days and are enjoying the service and the facilities. The rooms are worth the price. I booked two deluxe rooms for my daughter and myself. Upon arrival I asked if we could be on the same floor and they informed me that they had already assigned us adjoining rooms! The staff is ready and eager to assist with any need. Breakfast is included and again what you would expect from a 5 star property.

We will book this property when we return to Vienna!

Room Tip: I have not looked at the standard rooms but know the Deluxe rooms are worth the fee paid! The air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear “Michael G” and family,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the quality of our service met up with your high expectations. As it is the goal of our entire team to make the stay of families in the Hotel Imperial as comfortable as possible, we always try our utmost to assign connecting or adjoining rooms and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you and your family soon again.

Best regards from sunny Vienna,

Heinrich Dominici (Director of Guest Services)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a lovely experience staying for 6 nights at this hotel. The service was always very friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious, particularly the bathroom. The location is within walking distance to many of the main attractions and also extremely close to a taxi stand. Only complaint is that the bed was rock hard which I found uncomfortable but the pillows were fantastic, and I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear “TheLadyinRed03” and partner,

thank you very much for your feedback and for sharing your experience at the Hotel Imperial with us and our community on TripAdvisor. It is indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, but I’m very sorry to learn that our mattresses did not meet your expectation and therefore I would like to apologies any inconveniences this may have caused. However, our Housekeeping team would be more than happy to soften the mattresses once you return to the Hotel Imperial.

It would be a pleasure for us welcoming you back soon again.

With sunny greetings from Vienna,

Heinrich Dominici (Director of Guest Services)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Property: Hotel Imperial Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing