We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept hotel with class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #16 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Lovely hotel, well-appointed rooms. Not a fan of the bed. It was a bit too hard for me. I loved the bathroom. Spacious and with a tub! Hooray! Good walking distance to many sites, shopping and eats. This hotel has great food too! Breakfast that was over the top. Yum! A let down was the wifi as I had some business to do. Fortunately the backup plan worked in the Cafe downstairs. Service was good for the rooms.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a corner room if you can. It may have better views. This isn't really a place th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear “HappyRascal”,

First of all we want to thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your time in Vienna and that you savored our sumptuous breakfast buffet. We will take your comment regarding Wifi on board and will continue to seek out the best possible connectivity for our guests in all areas of the hotel.

Many colorful autumn greetings from Vienna,

Yours sincerely,

Klaus Christandl,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here recently for 5 nights and had a fantastic experience.
Note: we are both SPG platinum and stayed on points.
Service was amazing from the time we arrived at the front door until the time we left ... great check-in experience, very friendly team. We were upgraded to a suite on the first floor ... amazing room, great old world charm as we like. Very comfy bed; nice large bathroom ... what impressed up the most was all the little touches .. daily treats in the room; custom business cards in case we get lost, etc.
We did have breakfast daily which was also very good ...
Overall, we have both stayed in a lot of hotels but this was one of the best experiences and visits we have had anywhere. Highly recommend this hotel for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear “darrennelson” and partner,
It is always a special delight to hear from frequent travelers such as you about your experience at our historical hotel. Thank for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We are delighted to read that you savored a wonderful experience with us and that the personalized approach and attention to detail by our team members made a positive impact on your overall impression. Your compliments will most definitely further encourage my team to extend their fullest efforts in delivering memorable experiences for all our guests in the future as well!

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again and remain,

with best regards from sunny Vienna,

Klaus Christandl,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel and the service is excellent. The front desk staff were especially helpful - Stefano Salsi went out of his way to help us with sightseeing details and information. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are gorgeous. Good size bathrooms top the rooms off. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swhitevancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear „Swhitevancouverbc“ and friends,

Thank you very much for sharing your warm comments about your recent stay at our Hotel. It is indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and that you experienced our renowned Imperial service culture. I am convinced that your compliments will encourage our whole team to go the extra mile in the future again.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again to the Imperial Hotel Vienna in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Klaus Christandl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Everything was perfect from the time the bellman greeted us when we arrived until he loaded our suitcases into the car to the airport 5 days later. Friendly front desk and extremely knowledgeable and helpful concierge. Platinum status was recognized with a suite upgrade. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the Imperial tort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear "rick05"

thank you very much for your kind and well-disposed review about the Hotel Imperial, which gives our entire team the right motivation to steadily improve our performance in order to not only meet but moreover to exceed your expectations.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Vienna soon and remain in the meantime, with best regards

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Orlando Donato is the concierge at a beautiful hotel in Vienna. He is not only an excellent concierge, but also an incredibly patient, kind soul with a huge heart. I was traveling through Europe and once i arrived in Vienna I realized that I left one of my many bags on the euro rail. Frantically, I wandered into the nearest hotel, Hotel Donato. I was just praying that I would find someone who would be nice enough to help me with my situation. Not even being a guest at the hotel, Orlando was willing to call the euro rail for me (I had no phone service nor could I speak the language). Not only did he treat me like a guest, but was willing to take care of the entire process with the euro rail people to locate the bag and make all the arrangements to get it back to me (yes, the bag was found!) Again, I was not even a guest, but he took care of my every need and I could not possibly me more grateful for his kind heart. Quite obviously I would recommend Hotel Imperial to anyone and will be forever grateful for their concierge Orlando Donato.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Britton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear „BrittonP“,

thank you very much for sharing your recent impression of the renowned Imperial Concierge service on TripAdvisor. It is indeed with great pleasure to read that our experienced team was able to assist you in locating your lost bag. I hope you had a save onward journey and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Imperial.

With best regards,

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I visited Vienna for the first time at the end of August 2013.

We booked the Hotel Imperial for 3 nights and it was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Our flight from NY landed very early in the morning and we checked into the hotel at around 9:30 A.M. and they had a room ready for us. The room was spotless. The bed was comfortable, as are almost all Starwood beds. We did some sightseeing that morning, came back to the room to rest, and learned that we had no running water. The hotel is undergoing renovations. We went to the front desk on our way back out to do more sightseeing and they advised us the water would be back on in a few hours. We didn't make a big deal of this as we were headed out. However, that evening when we returned to our room, within 5 minutes we had a knock on our door and room service had brought us a nice note from the GM apologizing for the inconvenience earlier in the day and gave us a box of Imperial tortes (chocolates). It was a nice surprise. The fact that they knew we had just returned to our room (with a different shift working the front desk) was also very impressive.

The hotel is also in a great location - about 3 blocks from the Opera House and a 10 minute walk to Hofburg sites.

Great staff, great location, beautiful room. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stefashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear „Stefashion“ and partner,

first of all we want to thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback with us and our TripAdvisor friends. We are delighted to learn that you had a very enjoyable stay and that even the fact we had a water outage did not cause any inconvenience to you. The Hotel Imperial is indeed currently undergoing a revitalization project to bring back the legendary hotel’s palatial elements and imperial grandeur while creating new social venues and it is one of our main focuses to do everything possible to offer our valued guest a pleasant stay.

Dear “Stefashion”, once again we want to thank you for your recent stay with us and we hope to have the honor to welcome you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We loved our stay at the Imperial Hotel. It was our first visit to Vienna. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Excellent location near the Opera House.. We enjoyed the cozy bar and the friendly bartender. Our dinner was delicious. Our room was luxurious and the fresh fruit in the room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emerson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinrich D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear “Emerson7” and partner,

first of all I want to thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with us and our friends on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am convinced that your warm words will encourage all our team members to go the extra step in the future again.

I hope we have to pleasure to welcome you soon back again to the Imperial in the beautiful city of Vienna!

Yours sincerely,

Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,599 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £251 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing