We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An imperial treasure preserved as a first class hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Imperial Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #14 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“An imperial treasure preserved as a first class hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This splendid palace, now a first class hotel, transports one back to the glories of a glamorous imperial Vienna of the Hapsburg dynasty. This gem of a hostelry is really a beautifully preserved slice of history but with comfortable modern touches and first class service. The clefs d’or concierge in particular, proved helpful beyond measure, advising on places of interest, booking restaurants, museums and cultural events.

The breakfast room/café and restaurant are both appropriately excellent, as is the newly refurbished bar, which with its charming and very talented resident pianist, is the perfect place to begin and end ones evening with a cocktail or night-cap.

I feel more than happy to recommend this charming hotel to anyone and shall not hesitate to return when I next find myself in Vienna.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear “Philip B” and partner,

Your highly complimenting review on the TripAdvisor opinion portal was a great pleasure to read and receive. It reinforces that the recently completed first phase of our extensive revitalization process “hit the mark” with its intention to re-enforce and bring back elements of the former palace atmosphere. We are very excited to share with you that the final stage of the refurbishment of all public spaces will be completed in July this year and bring to life a much improved visibility of all food & beverage venues and ease of circulation between the different destinations within the hotel.

We would be very excited to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our historical icon in the not too distant future to share with you the completed ground floor. If my team or I can be of any assistance to you with your future trip arrangements, please do not hesitate to call on us for assistance ahead of your journey.

Wishing you a wonderful spring time in Shanghai! Imperial greetings from Vienna,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    159
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
179
529
58
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Imperial for 5 days and wished that we had extended our time there. The room was luxurious, featuring chandeliers, marble, and nicely appointed furniture. We had doors separating the living area from the bedroom. It was a former palace and all public areas were beautiful. The service was excellent The concierge was extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions, reservations, directions, tickets, etc. It made our stay easy. We thoroughly enjoyed the Opus restaurant and ended up having dinner there twice during our stay. it was more than a dinner, it was an experience! The hotel is located near the Imperial Palace. It is within walking distance of many musuems and historical sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayougal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear “bayougal57” and partner,

Your full marks on your review of your stay at Hotel Imperial were most rewarding and gratifying. Thank you for your compliments of my team members, particularly at the Concierge and our Opus Restaurant.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the not too distant future and wish you a re-energizing spring ahead.

Imperial greetings from Vienna to Lafayette, Louisiana,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is not simple an excellent hotel, but our stay was an experience. The hotel well kept the tradition and the royal atmosphere combined with just enough modern touch. The staff made us feel at home and even stayed only one night we were treated as special guests.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AttilaUtazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed at the Imperial last weekend and had amazing day, I booked on cash and points as I am a SPG Gold Member therefore i paid 10,000 points and €123 euros which was a bargain. The room was on the 4th floor 432. It had allot of light as it looked onto the ring, the bedroom was very clean and fit for a queen as was the bathroom. We had a deluxe bedroom with a seating area. shampoo ad shower gel were from the green deep company but we asked for more towels we also received a bucked load of Bvlgari shampoo and body lotion etc. I asked for more pillows and they responded hard or soft. Nice!!!! The bed was also very comfortable, i slept like a baby.
They have a fitness area which is small but useful on the 6th floor and a sauna. we ate in the beautiful Bar as the restaurant was full and food was really good, we paid extra breakfast which was expensive as you don't really get much and not so much healthy options besides fruit. breakfast was €41.00 pp.
The only downside was the wifi, it just didn't work and when we called down to ask they were aware of it and said it was been sorted out. i received 250 points back due to this.
In all i loved my stay at the Imperial and it enhanced our stay at the city. It had a different style of luxury and service. It is the grand dame of Vienna, it has been for 140 years and continue to do so.

It would of been nice that the hotel had a swimming pool and spa this would just enhance the hotel allot more but who knows.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euroboyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear “euroboyde” and partner,

Your detailed and exhaustive review of your stay with us in March filled us with pride and will motivate our team to try even harder to make each and every stay experience as rewarding as you have described yours. We will continue to seek out technical solutions to improve on the stability of our wifi connection and have taken your suggestion on board to extend the healthy breakfast options at our Champagne Buffet Breakfast at Café Imperial Wien.

Our pillow menu does not only provide our valued guests with a choice of 7 different pillows, they are also all available for sale to take home the same comfortable sleeping experience one might have had, whilst staying with us.

Hoping to be able to spoil you once again soon and hence do not hesitate to reach out to us for assistance prior to your next visit to Vienna.

Imperial greetings from sunny Vienna to Munich,

Klaus Christandl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have stayed in some fabulous hotels all over the World but nothing quite compares with the Imperial for opulence, splendour and a sense of history. This former royal palace is stunning and lives up to its well earned reputation.

The service is the right balance of respectful helpfulness without being intrusive and all the staff were faultless in their friendly professionalism. During our stay, they needed to deal with a lift failure causing it to be unusable at ground floor level and guests having to climb the amazing Imperial staircase to the mezzanine. This does not sound much of an imposition but the ceiling heights and hence floor levels are monumental. The staff helpfully suggested this should not be seen as an inconvenience but as an experience to be remembered. That actually worked!

The hotel is a short walk from the Staats Oper, City Centre and Karlskirche with a great tram service past the from door. It is a superb location.

Although there was some redecorating work being carried out during our stay, the only sign of this was that the Opus Restaurant was not open. The imperial Cafe serves meals, but the cuisine is limited and we had become rather tired of schnitzels, sausages and goulash. For this reason only I have given less than full, excellent rating. Which may be a bit harsh. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a unique and luxurious experience.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which is quite splendid. Perhaps because of the time of year it was discounted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear “Stephen M” and partner,

What a delight to read through your outstanding feedback on the TripAdvisor Site. Thank you for all the praise and compliments. It is indeed a privilege to be able to be part of creating unique and lasting memories.

How unfortunate that you were unable to enjoy an amazing culinary experience at our new OPUS restaurant…most definitely an excellent reason to return to Vienna in the not too distant future.

All the best for the back end of spring and a wonderful early summer.

Imperial greetings from sunny Vienna to Liverpool,

Klaus Christandl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

There is marble everywhere, huge, beautiful chandeliers, intricate detail in decoration, exquisite service and very comfortable beds - very good indeed! Our junior suite was well equipped, large and very comfortable.

It is also very, very expensive. The included wifi is too slow to play a basic Youtube video, and a faster version costs €20 per day. The breakfast buffet is nice but not extraordinary, yet costs an eye-watering €41 per person, also for children.

The location is very good, with easy access to all of Vienna's attractions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank amertner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear “amertner” and family,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write down your feedback. I was very pleased to read your feedback about our rooms and our high service achievements. Allow me to clarify that our Champagne breakfast buffet is free for children up to the age of 3 years and from 3 to 12 years children (and their parents) enjoy a 50% discount. I am also happy to share with you that we are in the final stages of an additional upgrade of the bandwidth for both our free of charge service, as well as the high speed service for WIFI connections. This upgrade will be implemented in the month of March 2014.
Wishing you a sunny March ahead and it would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards from the Austrian to the British capital,
Klaus Christandl,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed in the imperial for 2 two nights for a performance/business trip. My bags where in my room when after I checked in. The room was spacious with excellent toiletries and bathroom facility. Fresh plums placed in my room daily with room cleaning. Extremely comfortable bed and very quiet hotel (despite being in the middle of downtown). Very relaxing, top notch service and very attentive staff. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theodorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear „Theodorian“,
Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your feedback about the Hotel Imperial Vienna with the online community. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and that your experience does credit to the renowned Imperial Service.
We would be delighted to welcoming you soon again at our newly revitalized historical icon.
Imperial greetings from Vienna to New York City,
Klaus Christandl,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#4 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Property: Hotel Imperial Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing