We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #18 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

One of the most exquisite hotels we’ve stayed in europe, our suite was absolutely beautiful and so elegantly furnished. From marbled bathrooms with crystal chandeliers to refined opulence in the salon and sumptuously comfortable king bed our room opened up to an impressive view of the city. The hotel is located within walking distance to the opera house as well as shops and eateries. The staff was attentive to our needs as well as most hospitable. Truly one of the most exciting places we’ve visited...

Room Tip: Request a room which faces the opera house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Imperial Vienna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently visited Vienna. We are a family of four with a teenage son and daughter. We have made several trips to Europe with our kids. Our expectations for this trip were surpassed primarily because of the service we experienced at this lovely hotel. Almost daily we enjoyed either breakfast, dinner or dessert at the cafe. There we were always greeted by our favorite server, Michael Munda. He made us feel like family, and his service of our table was top notch professional. At the concierge desk, both Orlando and Michael went above and beyond to ensure our stay was memorable. We enjoyed excellent dinner recommendations and last minute tickets to a sold out event. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Vienna. It has become our home away from home in that spectacular city. Apparently, the Rolling Stones feel the same, they stay there everytime when touring, and we had the luck of being there at the same time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 496Tania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were meet at the airport by the Hotel Chauffeur and made very welcome by the reception staff and our room No 206 was fantastic, very large with a bathroom almost the size of some hotel rooms. Breakfast was good with a wide selection. Location could not have been better
we could walk to all the attractions. Would be the only place to stay in Vienna for us.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is an incredible property in the heart of Vienna. This hotel is indeed imperial in location, history, details, service, architecture and rooms.
We moved from another sister property and the hotel handled the moving of our luggage.
Front desk people were germanly kind. They were exact and courteous and proper.
The room upgrade was amazing. A suite fit for royalty. Bedding, furniture, bathroom, amenities, layout and design are all outstanding.
Food is delicious and well presented, deserts are unique (vive la torte!) and the best part is the coffee. We could not have enough. Breakfast was also amazing and geometrically presented.
The historical building is art in itself. The location is absolutely great. Probably this is the place where I will always stay in Vienna.
The Imperial Talents concert was exceptional and setting exclusivist. Again, a unique, imperial experience.
To be fair, I will highlight some negative things:
1. The place was under renovations and they did not let us know ahead of time.
2. Because of the renovation and many unexpected steps I sprained my ankle which I neglected while there, but I had to go to the doctor back in USA and I am still recovering from it.
3. Because of the renovation, there is really no lobby.
4. Before we had to depart for airport, they had a false fire alarm and the elevators did not work and we almost missed our flight. I talked directly to the manager to help us get our luggage and he really was not involved like he should be.

Otherwise this is just an amazing property. We felt imperial for a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonicTravelAmeniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our stay was enjoyable at the Imperial... The rooms were nice, clean, and fresh ... we thought that a facelift would be good ... The breakfast at the restaurant was excellent , especially outside on the small terrace on the street... the lobby was fantastic indeed.. there was also a small shop selling the Imperial Torte (we prefer the Sacher Torte)...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The iconic lobby is closed for renovation, and upon check in we were advised that it's been clearly stated on their website for a year. You have to dig very deep on the website to see the minimal statement. Don't stay here until it's completed (they say by the end of June, but their candor is lacking).

The rest of the hotel is very grand. Our room is exquisite. They did give us a double upgrade. But every time we enter the hotel through a side door, walk past a temporary reception and concierge desk (which feels like a two star hotel), it reminds me of what I'm missing.

The service is good, food and drinks are very pricey.

We made our reservation through Expedia and was not notified of the closed lobby. Tough to appreciate the elegance when the main feature is walled off.

I am disappointed and feel deceived.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovation is completed
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hhishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Definitely an elegant designed hotel. No doubt.

On the other hand, in year 2014, in the heart of Europe, one expects an internet connection which at least can open up google pages to check mails and at least faster than the connection in Sudan. Plus, as you come in to the room after your flight, a complimentary water will do a better job than the nicely written GM's polite letter.

I do not even mention that a small piece of complimentary chocolate in a country like Austria could be presented to the costumer to welcome. It might be to0 much expectation, after having the poorest 5 star hotel breakfast in my life.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 325. The window looks to the other rooms' windows and modem signal seems like...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tugrulg5244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,715 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,479 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 361 in Vienna
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 361 in Vienna
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £307 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing