We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Vienna by far!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Vienna by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just finished our stay at this beautiful hotel and we were sad to leave. It's historic beauty is present in every detail of this hotel. The rooms are decorated with historic furniture styles and patterns.
We stayed in the Queen Elizabeth suite and it was roomy and elegant.
The buffet breakfast is delicious and even has their famous Imperial torte which is way better than the Sacher torte.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again and again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aoneeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    161
    49
    23
    12
See reviews for
184
542
59
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The best possible location in vienna, quite as well as 5 minutes away from opera house and the main street,bars , restaurants , city tours, shopping etc.the staff is very helpful and courteous, fantastic rooms and truly a royal experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny33666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Conveniently located just steps away from many of Vienna's highlights: St. Stephen's Cathedral, the Opera House, the museum district, and of course many wonderful eateries with sidewalk seating. Without a doubt, you WILL have to splurge when choosing this hotel. We took it a bit further and stayed four nights in the Elizabeth Suite. Located on the second floor, the view left much to be desired. Then again, we were actually out and about seeing the sights to the view didn't matter. The suite is very quiet and beautifully appointed, and in case you really needed anything the butler was just a phone call away. I especially loved the opportunity to choose from 6 different pillow styles to help achieve a good night's rest. The renovation of the hotel lobby was a few days away from completion though we managed to get a peek at its opulent interior. The adjacent lobby lounge had also been renovated to resemble a museum library though it did seem quite cavernous. This property made our first visit to Vienna definitely not the last.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarrySF0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've stayed in this hotel before and have always had nothing but the best to say about it. Some room are quite tiny but that is typical in Europe. Very comfortable beds, clean, furnished in an opulent Hapsburg aristocratic style. It is worth experiencing it at least for a night. It is right downtown Vienna, close to the Opera etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A3481AQrobertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here as part of our week long vacation in Austria. The hotel is beautifully furnished throughout and service staff was wonderful. The location of the hotel is AMAZING. you are right in the middle of everything and just a few blocks from major attractions in the "ring"

You can read many other reviews here that accurately describe the beauty and elegance of the hotel. I am going to focus on just a few items that a traveler should be aware of if you stay at the imperial.

1. Hotel Lobby is under MAJOR construction.!! Sadly, we did not know this was the case. The lobby right now is a little makeshift reception area to the right of the hotel entrance.

2. Parking - if you have a car, opt for the "street" parking provided by the hotel.. its not expensive (by europe standards) and its FREE on Weekends!!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from all Construction!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I decided to splurge and spend the extra money to stay in this classy hotel based on the reports from TripAdvisor. They were correct reports as most gave it 5 stars. This hotel is truly unbelievable. Old, timeless, world class, and just about the finest older hotel on the planet. So well kept and so elegant in every way. I wish we could just move in here and stay forever. That would be expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

One of the most exquisite hotels we’ve stayed in europe, our suite was absolutely beautiful and so elegantly furnished. From marbled bathrooms with crystal chandeliers to refined opulence in the salon and sumptuously comfortable king bed our room opened up to an impressive view of the city. The hotel is located within walking distance to the opera house as well as shops and eateries. The staff was attentive to our needs as well as most hospitable. Truly one of the most exciting places we’ve visited...

Room Tip: Request a room which faces the opera house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Property: Hotel Imperial Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing