We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious in a delicately Austrian manner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #17 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
1 review
“Luxurious in a delicately Austrian manner”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My last stay here was on New Years Eve and was most enjoyable. The bathrooms have heated marble floors which are very, very cozy in the Vienna winter. The fruit which awaits in the room is of the usual extraordinary quality found in many of the world's top hotels. Where do they get this stuff?!

The staff is great and everyone seems to speak English quite well. The bar in the lobby, where I was able to smoke a cigar, is elegant and understated. The breakfast buffet was outstanding in every way and the clientele present offered a wide variety of people-watching. Lastly, you must try the Imperial Suite once in your life!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    167
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
197
572
61
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CATravelBug29
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed here recently while in Vienna and truly felt like we were staying in a Palace. I will preface by saying we were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was fabulous so I can only base my room review off of that. The décor was very old world and the bed was one of the most comfortable we’ve had on our European trips. Each day there was platter of fresh fruit left in our room along with chocolates during turn-down service. The concierge was helpful and we fully enjoyed the free internet supplied in the business center. The location was also perfect- right on the ring and we were able to easily walk all over town. Loved this hotel and will hopefully be back during our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATravelBug29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Good hotel, helpful concierge. Hotel full of old-world charm.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rewaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We used to come to Vienna regularly and first time decided to go for Imperial. We have been affraid reading some comments about the rooms (some people commented on dust or unsatissfying breakfast etc) but nothing like this occures. From the arrival to the end it was a spotless experience. Deluxe room was nicely decorated in a style you would expect from the Imperial, bathroom extremely spacious, both clean. Service very professional and friendly. Breakfast of a high quality with sufficient choice. To keep it shortly - a hotel to recommend in order to experience the old and real charme of Wien.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Out of the four hotels we stayed at during our Eurotrip, this by far was the best. The hotel had arranged a driver to meet us at the airport and from the moment we had gotten into the car to leaving the hotel we were impressed.

The driver that had picked us up had spoken very good English and was such a knowledgeable person. Upon arriving at the hotel we were very warmly greeted and assisted. Our room was beautiful! We have two balconies, a huge bathroom, huge room, and a huge closet.

Every time we asked any staff members questions about what they would recommend we were fully accommodated. The cafe, and restaurant we both great.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Vienna!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeCecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I had the good fortune of staying in this luxurious property during a sight-seeing visit to Vienna, and I was not disappointed! My room was upgraded to a Junior suite upon my arrival- WOW! I felt as though I was in the age of the Hapsburgs! The staff was attentive and friendly. The decor was fabulous!
I would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeChatRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

It was our Ruby Wedding anniversary and we decided on the a 3 night visit to Vienna followed by a rail journey back to London on the Orient Express (memorable in its own right)

We arrived in Vienna at 10:30am on Sunday 12th July. We were met by a driver and chauffeured to the Imperial Hotel. Check-in is normally 4pm but I had advised the hotel that we would be arriving much earlier. email correspondence was quick and helpful and we were expected early.

On arrival the receptionist told us that the room was still being cleaned and would w have coffee on the terrace while we waited. No problem. After half an hour we were told the room was ready and the receptionist advised us that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite. Very nice, thank you.

The room, on the second floor, overlooked the main Kartnerring so we were a little concerned that there would be traffic noise, but all was quiet, evening on a Monday morning "rush hour"

There was a full bottle of Imperial Sparkling wine which I subsequently compared to the to the Laurient-Perrier Champagne and preferred the Imperial, personal taste, I know.

We had a large king sized bed, the room was large, light and airy. Beautifully decorated and furnished. The bathroom was green and white marble, full shower and separate bath tub. fresh bottles of water were left on each table every time the maid cleaned or turned down the bed.

Breakfast was a buffet, relatively small selection when compared to the large modern hotels but great quality, cheese, salmon, cold meats, fruit, cereals, pastries, cakes, juices, bacon, sausage, bread etc. The omelets were freshly prepared to your selection and were extremely tasty. Laurient-Perrier Champagne and Imperial Sparkling wine was available with one the juice chiller and this is where I compared the two offerings.

One evening we had night caps in the bar and the drinks ARE expensive, but you stay in this rating hotel and it is to be expected and one should not be surprised.

The restaurant was closed for summer renovations so meals had to be taken in the Cafe. The selection on the menu was small but the wiener snitzels were tasty and well presented. We only ate once in the Imperial so cannot comment further.

The business centre had 3 computers, printers and free internet access, all available 24 hours per day.

The hotel is a short walk to the Opera house, shops and the Concert Hall

The Imperial is not a "child friendly" hotel.

Would we stay again, most definitely!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English_Traveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#7 of 360 in Vienna
1,663 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,414 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
848 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 360 in Vienna
1,391 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 360 in Vienna
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Property: Hotel Imperial Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing