We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junior suites look tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #19 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Junior suites look tired”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Although roomy and bright, I found that the hotel rooms needs some renovations. i think Luxury hotels are trying to keep them formal and as traditional as they can be. I have now stayed at 2 Luxury Hotels for Starwood and they tend to have chandeliers and lots of window dressing to cover up the errors in window treatments but the rest of the room is very nice.

The breakfast was better than expected and service was very good but this hotel books alot of high end tour groups promising 5 star hotels so it gets very crowded when they all arrive, especially at breakfast. I don't want W hotels style either but if all Luxury hotels continue to look tired than they don't look luxurious either. You can hide alot when there's frou frou everywhere but the hotels that have clean lines cannot fake it. If they looked at the Hotel Sacher 2 blocks away they'd know, you don't have to embellish the rooms with paintings and yards and yards of fabric. I was impressed that the walls and the bed cover did match but they look worn out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. The feedback of our guests is extremely important to us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the service at our property. Regarding your comments related to the condition of your room I can assure you that we are constantly upgrading our rooms - soft refurbishments like carpet or fabric replacements are taking place on an on-going base. I regret that your room did from that respect not meet with your expectations. Your feedback if valuable is it helps us to improve our service and offerings. I can assure you that we have plans in place to further enhance our product in the future as we believe that a traditional hotel needs to develop further in order to remain attractive. I would be pleased to welcome you back in the future! Thank you again for your feedback. Best regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    307
    74
    37
    20
See reviews for
221
616
99
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

This is the perfect location, we were even able to watch the free opera on the screen from our balcony. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suit which was a cherry on top to the helpful staff. I would recommend this to everyone who visits Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your kind feedback posted on this web site. I appreciate your comments and I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending our hotel! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is very well located, the rooms are very clean despite a little old fashion the concierge and people from reception are great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Madame, Sir

thank you for your kind review posted on this web site! We appreciate your comments. Please come and visit us soon again! Best regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

TripAdvisor software sucks! This is the third time that I am writing the same review because of TripAdvisor.
Literally across the street from the Vienna Opera House, this is a a little slice of heaven on earth. Impeccable service, fiendly efficient staff and a stunning art deco building combine to make your stay memorable. Since this is located on the Ringstrasse, you are close to everything in central Vienna.
The gym is very basic but clean. The business center has 2 computers and free internet which means that you can usually get on. Like many hotels in Europe, this hotel OVERCHARGES for the internet but you can use the business center for free.
The hotel is stunning. If you can afford it, enjoy it. It is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onereallyniceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Along with the Imperial and the Grand, Bristol Hotel evokes all the grandeur that is Vienna. Perfectly situated next to the Opera House it provides an ideal base to explore the city. The opera view second floor rooms are quite small by modern standards but comfortable enough. The service is good. The concierge offering me a towel and water on return from morning jog was a nice touch. Bristol is not cheap however and the extras are best avoided. Breakfast a third of the price at the nearby Cafe Museum is sensible and EUR 19 for WiFi is robbery given that virtually every cafe and pub in Vienna provide it free. There is also a Spar across the road to avoid minibar.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dodge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Madame /Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it helps us to constantly improve our levels of service. I have noted your comments about WIFI and breakfast charges. With regards to WIFI please note that we offer free Internet in our business centre and we will take your comments into account when we are reviewing our internet policy for the future. With regards to breakfast please note that you have the choice of ordering a la carte - so cost is tailored to what you really eat up to a full version were you have unlimited access to our rich selection on the buffet. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future to our hotel! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarteDeVisite08
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This hotel is just a walk across the Vienna State Opera House and very close to Vienna's main transport system. Most "points of interest" are within easy reach by foot because of its strategic location. The room is provided us is decent size compared to what other surrounding hotels have to offer for the same price. We were greeted right away by a bellhop who accommodated us with our luggage and valet park our vehicle. Overall, our stay was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarteDeVisite08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our stay in the hotel started out pretty bad but ended up getting better the longer we stayed. We first arrived at the hotel when it was pouring rain. There was no doorman to help us get in the narrow doorway with all our luggage. In fact, though they claim to always have a doorman on service, half the time that we were there he was not, this was very frustrating especially when arriving soaking wet after a long flight.

We had to wait in a long queue at the check in desk. Also, an fyi for English speakers- the man who checked us in spoke very little English and booked us in a room a class lower than what we had paid for. We had to go back down to change our room to the correct class which was also very annoying start to the trip.

The redeeming qualities of this hotel are the unique rooms and great view of the opera house. While I am not a fan of the older style of hotel rooms, I have to say this one grew on me. While I would have preferred a bit of updating with the window curtains and bed, i have to admit there was a certain charm and uniqueness to the place. It could have been a bit cleaner however and our maid seemed to forget to turn down our room at night twice

The best part about this hotel is the breakfast, where the food is wonderful as is the service staff. Be warned though, tip is not included in the free breakfast, but we were happy to tip big since the wait staff was fabulous. The location is wonderful and really enables you to walk to anywhere you want to go in Vienna for the most part.

So overall, we had a pleasant stay but are not rushing back. We will probably try a different place next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the opera house- it makes the whole stay worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxurylover86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
PROPER SERVICE IS IMPORTANT TO US!
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor. It is extremely important to us to receive feedback from our valued guests as it helps us to constantly improve our service levels.
I regret that you did not have a pleasant arrival at our hotel and hence I understand that the first impression was not a good one. I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during check in - starting from no doorman waiting for you or the wrong room you got assigned to. I can assure you that all of the things you mentioned are definitely not up to our standards and I will look into this situation further in order to ensure that such incidents will not reoccur in the future. I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast at our property though. Best regards,
Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 360 in Vienna
1,630 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
815 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 360 in Vienna
1,109 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#27 of 360 in Vienna
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Property: Hotel Bristol Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing