We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #19 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Everyone from the Door, Front Desk, Concierge, Restaurant to House Keeping was extremely nice and helpful. Room was very tranditional with class. We had their Penthouse Junior Suite and it's just amazing. Everything you need could be found in the room. View from patio was killing - overlook the Opera House. The Bvlgari bath products were just so nice. Water, fresh fruit and flower were set on table everyday. Full buffet breakfast for Platimum member for free, but don't forget to tip. People there worked very hard to earn it. Staff from receiption always remembered our name :) Concierge was very nice and gave excellent advice. Location is no doubt - best location in city. Great stay! A+

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimplyEasyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear 'SimplyEasyNYC'

Thank you for your Review. It is a pleasure to read that you had a great stay at our property!
It would be a privilege for us to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,448)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol Vienna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a pleasant 4 night stay in this hotel while attending a conference.

The reception area was quite small and simple looking. However, on the day I left, the new reception opened which was more spacious with seating areas and modern looking. Check in was smooth.

Had a room facing the boulevard which was a good size. In very classical design and in good condition throughout. Very comfortable. Complimentary fruit basket and bottles of water everyday with turn down service. Room was quiet despite facing the main road. Internet access was adequate for checking email although it was not high speed unless you paid extra for it.

Restaurant was under renovation so breakfast was in the function room. It had been nicely done up. Good selection of continental breakfast with hot food too. Very nice except for the hash browns which was soggy every day. Very friendly waiters with good service.

Location is excellent. Right next to the metro station which connects to all parts of Vienna including the conference centre. Opera Hall is also right opposite and so is the main shopping street which is completely pedestrianised. St. Stephen's cathedral only a 10 minutes walk away, which is the centre of Vienna.

All in all, a very pleasant, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKJohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear 'UKJohn88'

Thank you for your rewiew which you posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for commenting on our new reception area. It still will get some new furniture but it is kind of you to recognize the change which occurred during your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back once the new restaurant has been opened (by the end of November) it will also include a complete new breakfast presentation. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Vienna and we had a GREAT stay at Hotel Bristol!!! The location is fantastic ....when we opened the doors of our balcony the only sounds we could hear were from the Opera House and the view over the city was spectacular. The room was beautifully decorated and the staff very profesional and friendly. What a wonderful way to start our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenevdW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was one of our stop offs on a rail touring holiday. The staff were excellent giving us advice on tourist venues, the Opera and elegant coffee shops. I had my birthday here and at the evening meal received a birthday cake in grand style. They are having renovations done but it seems to have a minimal impact on the running of the hotel. The room was quite dated (in a nice way) but spacious and elegant.It was close to the Opera, the Spanish riding school,shops and the underground. I loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathYorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

After returning from a short break to Vienna I feel I must comment on the wonderful Hotel Bristol. I was concerned to read that at the time of my visit there would be renovations taking place within the hotel, mainly to the restaurant area. However, I need not have worried because everything about the visit was really excellent. Dinner was served in what would normally be the Banqueting Suite and you would not have known it was a temporary arrangement as the service, food as well as surroundings were superb. Completion of the work is due to take place in November and I guess the new restaurant will be even better. All of the staff at the hotel were pleasant, helpful and had a smile for everyone and made you feel very comfortable, unlike some 5* establishments.
The room was very clean, bright and although it overlooked the Ringroad noise was not an issue. As we were booked to attend the State Opera House on one of the evenings it was great to just walk across the road and be in the Opera House foyer without the hassle of taxis or worrying about timings.
I would recommend this hotel for it's service, location and the fact they have managed to combine the elegance of a time past with the facilities of the present.
If you get the chance to visit this location do not hesitate to take it - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the best you can afford to make the stay special.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. During which time there was construction activity taking place on the floors above our rooms. We were woken at 7:am but the sounds of incessant banging and the noised generated by various type of equipment directly above us. The activity continued for the entire time we stayed in the hotel.
When we approached the front desk about the situation the only solution they could offer was to change rooms. Not a particularly attractive option late in the evening.
In addition the hotel staff was unable to make the required adjustments to effectively control the temperature in the room, which was way too warm. The only solution was to sleep with the windows open.
At the very least a hotel of this caliber should 1) have notified us about the construction ahead of our visit and 2) not placed us in a room directly under the construction activity..
The inability to effectively control the rooms temperature is unacceptable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear 'Ivan S'

Thank you for your review posted on the Trip Advisor website. We do value the feedback of our guests as it helps us to improve our services. Regarding the current renovation kindly note that we do mention it on our web site (first page) and we send e-mail notifications to all guests in advance - perhaps you did not see the email, but we are very much aware that it is important that our esteemed guests are aware of these circumstances. Nevertheless I do regret that you have been disturbed by these activities. I can assure you that we undertake any possible effort to keep any negative impact on our guests to an absolute minimum. The current works will be completed by early december this year. I however have to say that a room move would have been the only solution to remedy your issue as the majority of the areas of the hotel are not impacted by the works. Regarding the temperature control in your room I have not really any explanation as all our rooms have individual adjustable air-condition. However during this time of the year (September / October) we switch on occasionally the central heating in addition to the A/C in case of unusually cold weather – perhaps this was the case during your stay. I regret that your stay was not as pleasant as you had hoped for but at the same time I can assure you that I as well as my team endeavor any possible effort to make the stay of all our guests as comfortable as possible. We would be honored if you give us the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future despite your recent experience so that we can prove to you that a stay at the Hotel Bristol is a memorable one. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Bristol is pretty much as expected. A grand old hotel in the grand old style. But this old gal is starting to show her wear. Small chips in the furniture, chips in the picture frames, very badly worn fixtures in the bathroom. On the plus side, our room was extremely large and airy, and rather pretty. The old-style doorman and excellent service were also much appreciated. The central location on the Kartner Ring across from the opera house is an excellent one, but extremely noisy. On two occasions, even though they were weeknights, there was some sort of foot race on one night and a rock and roll fest on the other. Really, really loud...and this at about ten at night. Couldn't get the air conditioning to kick on, so needed the windows open, which meant loud noises from outside. A bit of a conundrum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Joan5678,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback through TripAdvisor.
It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, but I was, however, sorry to read that you found that the wear and tear of the hotel in general did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that we are constantly investing in our product in order to keep it in a pristine condition. An impressive prove of this is the current ongoing refurbishment of our ground floor which is going to be completed by the end of December. We gladly like to welcome you back in the not too distant future and show you the Hotel Bristol in its new splendor. Meanwhile I remain
With my best personal regards,
Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,717 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,478 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#18 of 361 in Vienna
1,158 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 361 in Vienna
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £207 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing