We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel, Best location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #20 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is a absolutely deluxe with a grand history and ground zero location, right across from the opera house. Their website was excellent. It allowed us to easily figure out rooms types and locations. We had a jr. suite with balcony overlooking the courtyard and opera house (postcard views!)
The buses, the trams, the subway, taxis, all at the front door. WE went to the opera two different nights. ONe night we watched and listened on the massive screen set up in the courtyard for free outdoor live viewing (every night is a sell out.) Highly recommend!

Room Tip: executive suites are roomy and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indstrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 'IndstrI'

Thank you for your Review posted on Trip Advisor. I would like to thank you for recommending our Hotel to the world! Thank you for your Patronage and please visit us soon again.
Best regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Hotel Bristol Vienna is an excellent choice for travelers looking for a luxury hotel with a great location (right next to the State Opera House on the Ringstrasse and a 5-10 minute walk from Stephansplatz). Luxury does come at a price, so don't expect to get a deal on the room rates, but you can rest assured that you do get what you pay for. Walking in the hotel makes you feel like you are stepping back a hundred years and the rooms still retain that timeless charm but with updated conveniences. Unfortunately, our bed was rather uncomfortable, but the room itself was one of our favorites on the trip. Though charming, I would recommend avoiding the hotel bar as the drinks (and Cuban cigars) are way overpriced, and you can walk not too far from the hotel to find another place for drinks. I'd recommend this hotel for business travel and couples and families with older children.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Opera House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BourneForAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 'BournerForAdventure'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted tor read that you recommend our Hotel as an excellent choice to stay in Vienna. I regret that you did not enjoy the Bar as much as the rest of our property - just a small tip - our new Restaurant Bristol Lounge has also a nice Lounge seat area in front of the fire place where you can enjoy a drink or two (the Lounge is as the rest of the Hotel - except the bar - smoke free). It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It's called the Luxury Collection for a reason!

Loved the hotel Bristol and looking forward to another trip to Vienna. Big room, very comfortable. Large and luxurious bath.

The dining room (breakfast included in our rate) was top notch.

Location was perfect -- across the street from the opera and walking distance to all attractions.

Service is five star.

This is a really fine hotel and a destination that I'll return to again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drosen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 'drosen85'

Thank you for your review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our services. Please visit us soon again! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, but has average rooms for the price. Its in a great location. Walking distance to the city center, close to public transportation and near the opera house. The bar in the hotel seems to be set up like a cigar bar. The beds were very comfortable though. They also use old fashioned keys, so you have to drop the key off with front desk everytime you leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aashna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear 'Aashna25'

Thank you for your Feedback which you provided us through Trip Advisor. I understand that overall you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel - but I also understand that you found the rooms a bit too expensive - kindly note that December is one of the busiest periods of the year and our prices follow the demand. Allow me to add that our keys are electronic ones but on a regular key hanger - just to avoid any confusion for other guests. Thanks for your comments! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A wonderful place to spend the holidays in Vienna although I understand the variation in reviews. Bristol’s location is ideal for everything from sight-seeing to enjoying the Christmas markets or indulging in high-end shopping. However, if you book anything below a Deluxe Opera View Room you're unlikely to find the hotel to be worth the price (a lot of the negative reviews seem to involve lower-tier rooms). In fact, I wish the hotel would promote the differences more clearly on the website.

Looking online, I did not think there was a difference between Opera and Non-Opera View Deluxe Rooms with the exception of the view itself; however, we found the Opera View room to be substantially larger (and classically beautiful) and would have booked that room directly had we been aware of the difference. The regular Deluxe Rooms are not quite as advertised. If you cannot afford one of the nicer rooms, other hotels like Le Meridien a half block away will probably be a better "value" (we had friends staying there and they enjoyed it). It is nice that the hotel has invested in a few updates, but we wanted a more classic setting for the Christmas holiday so we were content with the existing decor.

The new restaurant is beautiful and the food is not bad although the service still seems to have some kinks that need to be worked out. The staff served soup without a spoon and failed to notice that they never brought the water to the table until we asked some time after the first course. Housekeeping is a also little brash - there was one instance where they burst into the room while I was getting dressed. Not only did they not apologize, they didn't leave immediately - instead they asked whether they could carry out the turn-down service, which seemed a bit unusual in a hotel of this category. In contrast, the reception/front desk and concierge staff are very friendly and on point; Isabel offered a particularly warm welcome and was very helpful during our stay! Great concierges are key to taking advantage of a city like Vienna and the team here does not disappoint.

We found the in-room dining prices to be very reasonable. High-speed internet is quite expensive at 19 Euros/day and the free Wifi can get very slow at times. Though Wifi is normally an SPG Gold benefit and SPG membership is promoted heavily throughout the hotel, we did not receive any obvious SPG recognition. We probably enjoyed several perks based on our status but were a bit unclear. For instance, the fruit in the room may have been a welcome gift but the staff did not mention it as such, so it was hard to discern between standard practice and SPG benefits. However, we would have chosen the hotel for its prime location even had it not been an SPG property.

All in all, we had a lovely stay and would look forward to staying here upon future visits to Vienna!

Room Tip: Book an Opera-View Deluxe Room or higher....or risk being disappointed. Also, don't count on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shau-Ru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear 'SuiteLife101'

Thank you for your Review posted on Trip Advisor. While I understand that you enjoyed your Overall stay there were some smaller Points that can be improved. I would like to thank you for raising those Details as it helps us to Focus on improving our Services. Thank you also for your hint regarding the rooms I will look into this more in detail and see how we can improve this situation. Regarding the new Restaurant you are right - we still need to work on tweaking some details regarding service - whilst we got some very good Reviews for our new Restaurant we know that there is still space for improvement (As you also mentioned in your Review) so please do not make any final judgment on this point. Regarding housekeeping you are of course absolutely right - this should not happen - I will look into this and follow up with the responsible Team leaders. I thank you again for the feedback provided and it would be pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Amazing buffet breakfast among pristine décor. SPG Platinum status helped us book a room in one of the two-room suites, formerly occupied by directors of the Vienna State Opera House. The key is rather a handful. We would leave it with the concierge because it was too heavy to carry. Public transportation is nearby. Amazing service with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZaidi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear 'MZaidi227'

thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We traveled to Vienna to spend New Years with the family in a beautiful city and what we hoped to be a 5* hotel but upon arrival we were all greatly disappointed with our rooms. Our room was a classic room and although the bedroom and bathroom were a good size the toilet which was separate had no hand basin and had a foul smell.
There was absolutely no view as it overlooked an atrium and was quite claustrophobic.
If you had more than one suitcase there was very inadequate space for your luggage and clothes and we decided to live out of our suitcases for the entire stay.
This is not what you would expect from this hotel category.
The staff were pleasant and willing to help but although we mentioned to the hotel that we were dissatisfied with this room they could do nothing about it but a day before our departure were offered a complimentary wine.
There were only 2 places to sit and have a drink, the very small bar consisting of approx 5 tables which was smoking and quite uncomfortable to sit in as a non smoker or the large dining room which was fully booked for dinner on new years eve forcing us to find other alternatives in the neighboring 5* hotel. Thankfully we were treated very well at the neighboring hotel and enjoyed our evening.
We would not be going back there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugs1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear 'travelbugs'

Thank you for your Feedback which you provided us through Trip Advisor. I regret that you did not appreciate your rooms during your stay over New Year's. You are absolutely right - the Hotel was completely sold out so my staff could not offer any alternative accommodation to you and your family. Please understand that this is one of the busiest periods of the year. Furthermore I do apologize that we could not provide you with a table for New Year's Eve anymore since the Gala was already sold out - most guests make their reservation several weeks in advance - we are sorry about this inconvenience. Allow me to add that we have many different types of rooms and suites that you can also check on the web - from regular rooms Classic to spacious Bristol Suites - we have a lot of choices available for our guests. Thank you for your patronage and your feedback. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 359 in Vienna
1,225 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,598 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £196 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing