We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #20 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is interesting. I was put in an older room with a small balcony that reminded me of a art deco historic room. This was not the typical room. At first I was surprised since I read about large rooms and the large comfortable beds. However, after the first night I appreciated the coziness of the room and the feel of being in an old hotel.

The hotel is in a great location. It is right near the opera house and within walking distance of almost all major Vienna attractions, such as the Hofsburg Palace, St. Stephen's Dome, etc. It is also located right next to a U-Bahn stop (their subway). Vienna has a very easy subway system. We also took the city train ito a lot of places and walked everywhere else.

I would return to the hotel - and the great city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear 'SethK'

Thank you for posting a Review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. It is true that we have different sizes of rooms. Deluxe Rooms are the larger rooms and Classic rooms - probably the one you stayed in are similar in style but a smaller in size. Please check our Deluxe rooms next time you reserve a room - I am sure you will also like them very much. We would be delighted to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We enjoyed two wonderful nights at the Vienna Bristol Hotel. Our accommodations had everything including a magnificent view of the Opera House in downtown Vienna. The hotel is right in the best location, and our room was spacious and comfortable. Everything was "just right" in every way.

We found the staff to be attentive and professional, yet very friendly and anxious to take care of us. The Bristol is elegant and traditional, and very welcoming at the same time. We enjoyed the dining room and we particularly appreciated the assistance and service of the Concierge staff and the front desk people. Our stay was Five Star in every way.

Room Tip: Views are different, ask for what you want. Use the Concierge staff, they are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear 'WarrenK'

thank you for your Review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - in every aspect. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for my wedding anniversary and we were treated like royalty. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. The interior design is luxurious and the location near the opera house is perfect for walking and exploring many landmarks. We definitely plan to return to this 5 star hotel that truly is 5 star in every way.

Room Tip: Every room is nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDM1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear 'MDM1414'

Thank you for your review! It is great to read that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the Food. Glad that we were the perfect Hotel for your wedding anniversary. We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is a absolutely deluxe with a grand history and ground zero location, right across from the opera house. Their website was excellent. It allowed us to easily figure out rooms types and locations. We had a jr. suite with balcony overlooking the courtyard and opera house (postcard views!)
The buses, the trams, the subway, taxis, all at the front door. WE went to the opera two different nights. ONe night we watched and listened on the massive screen set up in the courtyard for free outdoor live viewing (every night is a sell out.) Highly recommend!

Room Tip: executive suites are roomy and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indstrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 'IndstrI'

Thank you for your Review posted on Trip Advisor. I would like to thank you for recommending our Hotel to the world! Thank you for your Patronage and please visit us soon again.
Best regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Hotel Bristol Vienna is an excellent choice for travelers looking for a luxury hotel with a great location (right next to the State Opera House on the Ringstrasse and a 5-10 minute walk from Stephansplatz). Luxury does come at a price, so don't expect to get a deal on the room rates, but you can rest assured that you do get what you pay for. Walking in the hotel makes you feel like you are stepping back a hundred years and the rooms still retain that timeless charm but with updated conveniences. Unfortunately, our bed was rather uncomfortable, but the room itself was one of our favorites on the trip. Though charming, I would recommend avoiding the hotel bar as the drinks (and Cuban cigars) are way overpriced, and you can walk not too far from the hotel to find another place for drinks. I'd recommend this hotel for business travel and couples and families with older children.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Opera House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BourneForAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 'BournerForAdventure'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted tor read that you recommend our Hotel as an excellent choice to stay in Vienna. I regret that you did not enjoy the Bar as much as the rest of our property - just a small tip - our new Restaurant Bristol Lounge has also a nice Lounge seat area in front of the fire place where you can enjoy a drink or two (the Lounge is as the rest of the Hotel - except the bar - smoke free). It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It's called the Luxury Collection for a reason!

Loved the hotel Bristol and looking forward to another trip to Vienna. Big room, very comfortable. Large and luxurious bath.

The dining room (breakfast included in our rate) was top notch.

Location was perfect -- across the street from the opera and walking distance to all attractions.

Service is five star.

This is a really fine hotel and a destination that I'll return to again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drosen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 'drosen85'

Thank you for your review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our services. Please visit us soon again! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, but has average rooms for the price. Its in a great location. Walking distance to the city center, close to public transportation and near the opera house. The bar in the hotel seems to be set up like a cigar bar. The beds were very comfortable though. They also use old fashioned keys, so you have to drop the key off with front desk everytime you leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aashna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear 'Aashna25'

Thank you for your Feedback which you provided us through Trip Advisor. I understand that overall you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel - but I also understand that you found the rooms a bit too expensive - kindly note that December is one of the busiest periods of the year and our prices follow the demand. Allow me to add that our keys are electronic ones but on a regular key hanger - just to avoid any confusion for other guests. Thanks for your comments! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 359 in Vienna
1,225 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,598 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £196 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing