We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. A hotel fit for a king”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #20 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a great hotel. It takes alot for a hotel to impress me and this one did. I am SPG Platinum and stay 100 nights a year in a hotel. This was magnificent and a great price. You are treated like royalty and the rooms are beautiful You are right in Viennna and the room makes you feel it. You can walk to the sights from the hotel and a short trin ride to the airport. The staff was grear and made us feel very welcome. I will return to Vienna to stay at theis hotel. Other hotels should follow this hotel in customer service.

Room Tip: A great staff will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mikefaud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear 'mikefaud1'

Thank you for your Review which you left on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our property. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thanks for commenting so nicely about my staff and our Services. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arrived in Vienna 3 hours late by air from the United States. Hotel Bristol had arranged complimentary car service via Mercedes E Class because we had arranged for a suite. Driver and service were excellent.

Upon registering, we were informed our Opera Suite had been upgraded to a larger corner suite with a wonderful view of the Opera House. Bellman took us and the luggage to the suite which was outstanding. Two wonderful full bathrooms with quality appointments. The living room was spacious and provided ample seating for guests. There were 5 windows with direct views of the Opera House. The window treatments were period appropriate and very beautiful. The same can be said for the bedroom. The closet space and shelving for clothing was ample and we had brought clothing for an entire week stay. Our suite was over 1000 square feet and provided a great space for the two of us.

I cannot say enough about the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. They were courteous and very helpful with hotel amenities and providing directions to virtually anywhere we wished to walk. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job every night and the wrapped candies provided at turn down service were a welcome treat.

The Hotel Bristol is ideally located. Steps away from the Opera, steps away from St. Stephens, the metro entrance is two doors down, easy walking distance to the Market or City center. The number of restaurants within 10 minute walk is amazing providing outdoor dining in good weather. We had considered the Imperial because it was a bit more elegant in the lobby. We are glad we chose the Hotel Bristol.

The Hotel Bristol is every bit deserving of being part of Starwood's Luxury Collection. We recommend the hotel highly and do recommend the suite accommodations as a treat and a great value.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the beautiful suites and the hotel will provide complimentary car service to and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drsteven49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'drsteven49'

Thank you for your recent stay at our property and your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay in your Suite so much! Thanks also for mentioning the complimentary Limousine Transfer which we provide for Suite guests - furthermore I thank you for your positive comments about my staff. I really appreciate your feedback. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

hotel recently updated so it all works with classic hotel style. Service is all you could ask. Dining room is art. Health club surprised as it is up to Sheraton work out fitted. Next to the opera house.

Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'Jeff S'

Thank you for your review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property! Please visit us soon again! We would be delighted to welcome you back. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We are platinum Starwood members and it is really worthwhile in terms of upgrades an amenities. We recently stayed in this grand luxury collection European hotel and were upgraded to Room 55 which we discovered was one of 10 newly renovated rooms in the hotel.

It was so lovely with brass figurines, great art and a full marble bathroom. We paid about one third of this price as we got a advertised deal but if you are a platinum member you are upgraded to the best available room (just our luck) and offered an amenity which we chose as 'breakfast'.

Breakfast normally costs around €40 per person so this was a further saving over the three nights. We worked out we paid less than the benefits we received, by quite a few hundred euros. Oh, and we got free wifi as platinum members too!

Vienna is a divine city to walk around and an added benefit was running totally by chance into the President and posing for a picture with him (the only picture taken with him in fact). So a magical stay and some memorable moments at the Hotel Bristol, Vienna.

Room Tip: Room 55 if you have the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerriM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'MerriM74'

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your good comments about your room and the benefits you received as a valued Starwood Preferred guest Platinum member. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an old world hotel, chose this property as it's cheaper than it's sister Imperial down the road.

It has a fantastic location right next to the opera house and a stone throw away from the underground. Stephanplatz is just one stop away.

Service in the whole is terrific, would like to make a special mention of Mr Shimmon and Singh from the front desk.

The negative is that the room and the bathroom is dated. I do like charm but I value practicality too. No standalone shower and there seems to be a problem with either hot water being scalding or the water being too cold I took a shower switching between the two.

Beware of the high call rates charged at this property, 15 Euros a minute.

The only service lapse is with a Ms U Dietze, was waiting at reception for 5 mins, when she came she told me off saying that she was with the concierge. Told her my phone and DVD in room was not working and told me that she would make a note of it for the technical in the morning however I don't believe a note was not made as the next evening faced the same issue.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RishikeshK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear 'Rishikesh K'

Thank you for your review. The feedback of our guests is very valuable to us. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write us your impressions. While I understand many aspects of your stay were in line with your expectations but some were not. Most importantly I would like to address your comment about a member of staff - I promise you that we will look into this matter carefully and address this appropriately. I would like to thank you again for your review and your patronage and would be pleased to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Hotel Bristol, a magnificent nineteenth century hotel facing the even more magnificent Vienna State Opera is the perfect hotel in terms of location, comfort of rooms, service, delicious and varied breakfasts, lounge areas and that magical something extra.

we stayed at this hotel recently over a two week period when we made Vienna our European base attending an opera cycle of four operas called 'The Ring.' Over this period we had three stays in the hotel from on to four nights and checked out in between. In this way we experienced three different rooms.

The hotel is in the best position in Vienna, within a short walk of all the best attractions in Vienna, which radiate from the hotel. The palace is a little north, the Belvedere a little south east, the Museum district a little south west and so on. No able bodied tourist would require transport! It's position next to the opera house also places it in the most salubrious area of the famous Vienna Ring.

The recently refurbished lounge extends to a sunny outdoors area and can be used for meals and the buffet breakfast is served in this beautiful grand dining room. The foyer and corridors are full of antiques and paintings reflecting the splendour of Vienna.

Each of our rooms was configured differently, but all were glamorous, spacious, beautifully appointed ( for example each had its own dressing and hanging room) and the bathrooms all marble. Everything in the rooms worked perfectly and was of superior quality, even including the bed linens. We felt pampered and relaxed in all the rooms.

The service was faultless; nothing was too much trouble, and because we were coming and going bits and pieces of luggage were stored at the hotel between stays and appeared magically in our rooms. I also enjoy a full turn down service with the world's finest chocolates!

The breakfast is splendid, with one's choice of freshly prepared eggs a highlight. There are differences between French breakfasts, Australian breakfasts, Italian breakfasts German breakfasts and Viennese... so some of the controversy about the quality/quantity probably relates to national expectations. German breakfasts are huge even in modest hotels, so criticism may relate to national expectations. We had breakfast at various times and never found food to be reduced in quality or quantity.

But the most memorable part of the Bristol hotel which separates it from many other quality hotels is certainly the concierge service, led by Mr Dieter Ludewig. This is really straight out of the recent movie " Grand Budapest Hotel." The team can find anything for guests, make impossible reservations, find the best seats in the house,and give advice that can save alot of time and money.Knowing that we had this tremendous help at hand transformed our stay into a sublime experience and is really priceless.The Bristol is an extremely respected hotel in world hospitality circles and deserves to be. We cannot wait for a reason to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear 'jennifer s'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. I really thank you for your very detailed description of your stay and for sharing your impressions. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the various types of rooms as well as our breakfast in the new Grand Dining room. Furthermore it is of course a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the services provided by our Concierge Team. I am sure that your comments make Dieter and the Team very proud. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back to the Hotel Bristol in the near future! Thanks again for taking the time to give your feedback and your patronage. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is old world elegance par extraordinaire. The rooms are totally charming and absolutely everyone who works there bends over backwards to make one feel welcome and special. It is very expensive but if one wants to splurge on a hotel, this would be the one. It is located across from the Opera House and very well located to good public transportation.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Opera House side if you want to open your windows and listen to the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear 'Lesley S'

Thank you for your Review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for your great comments about the style of our Hotel and our associates. I would like to thank you for your great recommendation! We hope to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,554 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 358 in Vienna
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,229 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#27 of 358 in Vienna
1,195 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 358 in Vienna
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £205 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing