We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIP stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Secession Wien
Ranked #131 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VIP stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have kept excellent memories of my last stay in Vienna. Every thing was perfect, starting with my large hotel room, with a small kitchen. I received a warm welcome from the hotel staff. I found the location excellent, both when coming back from the opera at the Staatoper or when going to admire exhibitions at the Belvedere, at the Leopold Museu and the kunsthistorish Museum. The hotel is situated across the street from the lift exit Secession of Karlsplatz metro station and within walking distance of the Graben, the Parliament... I enjoyed having a light meal while relaxing in my large two window room at night when I was tired after hours spent in museums. Shopping at the Naschmarkt is pure pleasure, especially if you like Greek food, fresh veg and exotic dishes.I just can't wait to go back.
Excellent rapport qualité/prix as the French say.

Room Tip: I asked for a junior suite, I loved the small kitchen with the coffee machine and the boiler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PAPILLON76000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    314
    95
    25
    19
See reviews for
171
214
58
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Usual hight Std of Group Accor !!!....Staf friendly and efficient.Very Nice Hotel !!.. Brekfast with extremely wide choice. Quite Zone few undred meters from the pedestrian Area. Good Value for Money!!!..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LiberoSingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very importagnt for us to improve our quality. We are looking forward welcoming you again in our hotel.
Best regards
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel was a great place to stay. It is a quick and easy trip from Westbahnhof (need to take two different subway lines, but it is so straightforward. And when you get off at Karlsplatz, the hotel is literally right around the corner to your right, if you exit at the Secession exit). Our room was very spacious for our family of three. We enjoyed the breakfast and thought staff on the front desk and in the restaurant we very friendly and helpful. Our only issue was the poor wifi. We literally had to stand in our window to pick up the signal. Not the most convenient thing to have to do, but when we really needed a good signal for an important FaceTime call, we asked for a location with a stronger signal in order to make the call and they were more than happy and helpful to provide a room for us to use temporarily. We arrived on an early train at 9 am, and I had emailed ahead of time asking for a possible early check in, or at least a place to store luggage. They were able to accommodate our early check in, which we really appreciated. Overall, a great place to stay and a great location to see all the sights in Vienna. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 422 had poor wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our Hotel We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Accor Hotels Loyalty program clearly states that Gold members should be upgraded whenever possible. In my opinion, this rule was violated. I didnt have the impression that the hotel was fully booked, which would prevent them to give me a better room than I ultimately received! Actually I was the only one having breakfast around 9.00, the hotel was likely to be NOT fully booked in this winter time,

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Krax_3855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences described.
As a compensation we will credit you some extra Points on your Le Club Accorhotels account.
Please be assured, that an excellent treatment of our guests is first priority to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is its location -- close to Naschmarkt, the Secession building, and Stats Oper. I stayed there for three nights, but even that was too long. My room was the size of a shoebox with a bed so tiny that my feet were sticking out and touching the radiator. The in-room safe-deposit box didn't work properly, and even though the manager tried to fix it, I had trouble opening it. The only English language (news) channel was CNN. As to breakfast, for the price charged, it was absolutely horrible. All in all, I would never stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laviajera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences described.
Please be assured, that an excellent treatment of our guests is first priority to us.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Not great but decent location and that's all. We've spent one night here and it was one night too much. The cleaning lady must have forgotten about the room we've stayed in months before our arrival, and the staff at the reception desk... well that really was the cherry on the cake. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helendee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences described. Please be assured, that an excellent treatment of our guests is first priority to us.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Das Opernring Hotel
Das Opernring Hotel
#96 of 360 in Vienna
400 reviews
Mariahilf
Beethoven Vienna
Beethoven Vienna
#15 of 360 in Vienna
1,307 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#136 of 360 in Vienna
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Property: Mercure Secession Wien
Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#116 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#130 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing