We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Secession Wien
Ranked #129 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is nicely located, walking distance to the famous Vienna Opera House, the shopping streets and a bit further, to Stephenplatz. Rooms are reasonably sized, adequately furnished, clean and with decent bathrooms. Hotel staff were competent and helpful. Breakfast was good and varied. For the price that we paid, this hotel offers good value for money. Overall, this is a good value hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressiona about your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose this hotel based on appearance, price and location and we were not disappointed. The hotel was within comfortable walking distance of the Opera House, Naschmarkt, two U-stations, tram services, numerous cafes and wine bars and the Musikverein. For the price, our room was well appointed and spacious. Service requests were dealt with promptly and reception staff were always helpful with concert bookings, etc. If we visit Vienna again, we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmgtravelsandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Panayiotis P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our room was lousy but the receptionist offered us a sweet apartment instead with no extra charges. So it all went well as it ended well. The area is special, not too central so you don't feel like a tourist, but more like a visitor.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences described.
Please be assured, that an excellent treatment of our guests is first priority to us.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location, walking distance from major attractions, and short walk to metro station. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending coffee houses and biesln to visit.

The room is cosy and comfortable, but the glass shield at the bathtub is not wide enough to prevent the water from the shower from splashing and wetting the floor. Walls are quite thin too. But in-room Wi-Fi is a great plus. Hot food selection at breakfast is quite mundane, but cold food, bread, cakes and cereal selection more than made up for that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaithHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice building and surroundings. Close to everything: shopping streets, Viena Opera House, and all impresive buildings that are a MUST see when visiting Viena. We didn't have breakfast included, but there are plenty of cafes around and supermarkets, and also tea & coffee are provided in the room
Our room was huge, and so was the bathroom.
I would definetely stay in this hotel when visiting Viena

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gstraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel was all that it claimed to be. I had asked in advance for a quiet, non-smoking room with a shower - on an upper floor, and wasn't disappointed.
Staff were more than helpful, and the hotel itself is well situated right in the centre of things, near the Karlsplatz.
Busy street (the Getreidemarkt) right outside, but as my room was at the back, it didn't bother me.
Vienna is a lovely city, and there is so much to see that 5 days isn't nearly enough. I would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back seem to be a bit quieter - if you are traveling on your own and want a good single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alistairk230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions about your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth DIssauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Das Opernring Hotel
Das Opernring Hotel
#93 of 359 in Vienna
423 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#116 of 359 in Vienna
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#94 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#116 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#130 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £78 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing