We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to Museum Cafe and the Opera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Secession Wien
Ranked #127 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 27 August 2014

very good location and friendly staff. The Cafe Museum is a must for sumptious cakes. Very close to the Metro and walking distance to Opera and other tourist places such as the Arts precinct, ie Albertina Museum, Hofburg etc. Close to the main shopping plaza which has a fantastic selection of European shoes!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impression about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights in Vienna at the Mercure and really enjoyed the stay. It began well with a warm welcome from the men running the reception with whom we shared a laugh and a joke. They continued to be helpful and friendly throughout the stay.
The room was slightly dated but large with a comfortable bed. The hotel was also quiet which was nice and the view from our window was good.
The hotel had a relaxed feel to it which we really liked. Teamed with the excellent location, this hotel was a good find and we would return if we visit Vienna again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank A_McGrath17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear client,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in Mercure Secession Wien back in Oct 2013.
- The location was perfect, a walking distance to metro, opera house and main attraction.
- The room was okay spacious for a double bed. The wifi was free.
- The Elevator was small
- Friendly staff

I would come back to this hotel again, just for the location.
cheer,
Diana

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsD_LadyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear client,
thank you very much for taking the time to desvribe your impressions about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel our 2nd week in Vienna. The first week we were at a conference in the Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront (see my review on that hotel). Since we had our daughter with us, we booked one of the apartments and this was a great choice. It had a small kitchen - they will provide cookware if you ask for it. We stayed in the bedroom that had 2 twin beds and our daughter slept in a sofa bed in the living room. There was an A/C unit in the living room only, so we had to leave the bedroom door open at night to stay cool, but this was not a problem. We were on the Getreidemarkt side, so we got a lot of traffic noise, but we actually found it rather relaxing at night. We did not opt for the hotel breakfast as the Naschmarket is just at the end of the street and there are many cafes close by. This hotel has close access to both Karlsplatz and Museum Quarter U-Bahn stations. There is a nice grocery store nearby and I highly recommend the Saigon Restaurant next door. Delicious! We ate their twice! You are close to the above ground trams and within walking distance to most everything. They do not provide washcloths, so if you're like me and like to scrub up in the shower, be sure to have a washcloth or a loofah. There is an elevator, but it is the smallest one I've ever seen! 2 people with luggage is capacity. Wi-fi was very unreliable. Free, but unreliable and quite slow.

Room Tip: Loud if you are on the street side. Especially if you open the windows! You could ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgal_0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear client,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lovely hotel with great service and located right in the heart of the city. We had a family room with a double and a single, large bathroom, coffee making area in a really spacious room. The room had air con or opening windows depending on your preference. Breakfast offered 3 different packages to suit everyone tastes. Turn right out the door and you're at the Naschmarkt full of restaurants, bars, fruit & clothing stalls. At the end of that road turn left to Karlsplatz underground or keep walking up to the opera ring and the shops and Hotel Sacher. Turn left out the door and you've got the museum quarter and beautiful local cuisine restaurants on spittleberg (recommended by one of the staff and well worth a visit) The staff at the hotel are really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HFD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tetley101
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A nice comfortable hotel close to the naschmarkt with its shops, bars and restaurants. It is well situated for walking and using the metro to visit the many tourist attractions. The room was very spacious/clean and the breakfast experience was enjoyable. In the main, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and Vienna to other potential visitors and my wife and I plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#88 of 359 in Vienna
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#114 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#129 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £86 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing