We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vienna Christkindlemarkt”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #305 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Schweizerhof, in Vienna. We read numerous reviews before we booked it, showing very mixed results. We found it ideal for a short stay (4 nights max)
The beds were very comfy, plenty of pillows and bedding. The bathroom got a lot of negative comments in several reviews - yes it was small - but it had everything you needed and most importantly plenty of HOT water at any time. Breakfast was first class. Reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is in a superb location for walking to most attractions. We would recommend for short stays. The only downside for longer stays would be; no restaurant, no bar, very small lounge area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cammdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Pros - good location near the subway, very nice breakfast and pleasant breakfast room staff, hair dryer in the room, very good pillows and bedding, large windows that open, elevator available, many nearby restaurants. Oh - and umbrellas!

Cons - no guest computer available nor would reception check in for airlines, lighting limited, tiny bathroom (while drying I had my front against the sink and back against the door - elbow could hit the shower and hand could hit the other wall), tiny elevator, although the open windows are plus - when they are open, the smaller room became even smaller and required walking sideways on that side! Very expensive laundry service.

We were at the back of the hotel, and we didn't hear a lot of noise except for children screeching one night (that happens almost everywhere) and traffic some streets away (see note about children). Luckily it looked like the nightclub was closed; that made the one side of the street look a little iffy. I'm disappointed that we didn't explore the area across the canal, which is within 3 blocks.

Room Tip: If the night club is in service, I'd ask for a room at the back (opposite side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon58759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel location is great- in the street of the famous Hoher Markt Clock and the historic center is in a walking distance. the room are little but nice.
Breakfast is great-we didn’t expect such agood one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank br2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights after a tour of Austria. We wanted a central Vienna hotel at a reasonable price and this hotel fitted the bill. It's not the Ritz and the road where it's located is a bit run down but it did the job nicely for us. Staff were helpful, the breakfast was varied, plentiful and served with a smile ! Its nice that they also leave out a bowl of fruit in reception - simple but a nice touch. The room was an ok size and clean. We were able to walk to all the major Vienna attractions and I would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I really love this hotel. It has a great location (about 3' walking from Stephansplatz) and all staff are very polite, helpful and they can give you advices for sightseeing. Furthermore, the hotel is very clean, despite the old-fashioned room decor, and there is a great variety at breakfast. Next time I will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoAki_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hotel was about ten minutes walk from the centre of Vienna. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were plentiful and if you went hungry it was your own fault. There was fish, meat, cereal, bread, fruit and cheese, the only complaint I could find was the small bathrooms and rooms, the was enough space for two, but would be cramped if there was three of us in the room, but as we explored all day and didn't spend much time in the room we were fine.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank flopsy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We are the young couple and we like to travel a lot everywhere. Moreover, I'm a hotel manager and a travel agent that's why I like to stay in hotels and check them by myself. Planning our trip to Vienne we decided to stay in not expensive, central located and ORIGINAL austrian-vienne hotel- we chose the Schweizerhof hotel. Both of us are sure that it was the best choise! This not big hotel has very nice and warm rooms in original austrian style. Every day you get different chocolate/ sweets on your pillow. All staff give you smiles, good mood and the warmest hospitality from their hearts every day! And the breakfast... we still can't forget it!!! Every day there was something new and different from the day before. The breakfast was very-very varied, fresh, tasty, original austrian and included exotic fruits and berries every day (even it was cold January!!!) I was surprised that this 3-stars hotel offers better service and choise in breakfast than in Hilton's hotels through over the world!
We recommend this hotel very much to everybody and wish excellent experience from Schweizerhof hotel as we had during our wonderful 3-days trip to Vienne!!! Good luck and don't hesitate to choose this hotel!!!

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 types of rooms: modern and antique (original austrian style). The second type costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 358 in Vienna
1,372 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Address: Bauernmarkt 22, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £40 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing