We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, very centrally located”
Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #127 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very centrally located (just round the corner from the Opera).

Nice room, with comfortable beds, armchairs, and space, together with a proper bathroom (although the friend I was travelling with goes to Vienna a lot, and would always choose the Pension Suzanne, said that most of the rooms have showers rather than baths). Overheated when we arrived, but could control the radiator and open the windows, so easily rectified (and most hotels seem to think their customers want the bedrooms tropical)

Generous buffet breakfast, cold meats, cheese, fruit, lots of different types of bread roll, salad, cereal, juices, yogurt, etc. etc. Excellent coffee.

I would definitely check here first for a room, if/when coming back to Vienna, and would very happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine_RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a good review on Tripadvisor,
We are very happy, that you loved your spacy room, our great location and our breakfast.
Thank you for beeing our guest and we hope to be your host whenever you return to vienna
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed for one night at the Pension and chose here for the great location. In the centre of the town near to the Opera, everything was within walking distance.
Our room or apartment as it seemed was in a separate building to the reception. We crossed a courtyard and used a lift. We were travelling light so didn't mind, however this might be difficult with large luggage. The Apartment had an old world charm, there was a separate kitchen, toilet and shower room.
Breakfast was nice, a small continental selection with coffee service. We had to wait for a table as the room was full when we arrived. There seemed to be too many guests for the size of the small breakfast room. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we were able to leave our bags at reception whilst we did some more sightseeing before heading to the train station. Overall a lovely nights stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to post such a go review on Tripadvisor.
We were very happy, that you loved your appartment, our location, the breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. Hope to welcome you again in our hotel in future and thank you for your input.
Michael, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The location of this Pension could not be better, right in the middle of Vienna, walk to everything. We had a large room for 3 with a small kitchenette and separate bathroom/toilet. Beds were extremely comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Very pretty breakfast room with plenty of choice for continental breakfast. Michael and his wife are very pleasant, as were the breakfast room staff. We really enjoyed our 5 days stay. Would thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Owner at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time and post such a good comment on tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you were so satisfied with our location, the cleanness of your room, the breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Terrific location--everything is nearby. Hotel staff very accommodating. Good breakfast.
We had the family apartment and it was clean and comfortable, with a separate living room and 2 bedrooms. There was one toilet in a separate room, and the sink and shower were in another.
The description seemed to imply 2 toilets, but probably our mistake. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Owner at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for taking time and write a comment on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you were very satisfied with our hotel, especially with our loccation, the cleanness of our room and our breakfast and our staff.Hope to welcome you again in our hotel
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Pension Suzanne and all of us (family of 4 with 2 adult children) enjoyed it. Location couldn't have been better. Accommodations were great--neat and clean--with quirky antiques-- and the breakfast helped us start the day on the best possible footing. Although we didn't use the kitchen it would have been great if needed. Would definitely stay again if we return to Vienna

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Papapapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Owner at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Client, thank you so much for taking time to post a such a good comment on tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you were so satisfied with our location, our breakfast and our typical viennese furniture. Thank you also for telling us to stay with us again when you return to vienna.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The position of this Pension (right alongside the Opera in central Vienna) is absolutely perfect for all the tourist sights. The staff were extremely helpful during our week's stay and one had everything one needed. There is a lift up to all the floors on which they have rooms (although there are a few steps initially to the lift door). The breakfast is not lavish, but perfectly acceptable and the service extremely good. English is spoken, if needed by all staff. There is a computer for use in the office and WiFi connections in the rooms. We had single rooms which, again, were not of course huge, but not cramped and had lots of storage; a very comfortable bed; and a modern and pleasant en suite bathroom. There were other, double rooms with a view over the street (higher up) if required. I would certainly go back and feel fortunate to have found this Pension.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Owner at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind and informative feedback in Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enyoyed especially your room with the large modern bathingroom, our breakfast, the location, the friendly staff and free WLAN in the room.
Hope to welcome you again in our hotel
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We do not usually choose such lavish accommodation on our travels, but we saw this was central Vienna and thought we would do it this once. We had a big surprise when we walked in, with separate WC, bathroom, bedroom and kitchen. Didn't know what to do with ourselves, and a chandelier to boot. It was very distinctive and we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights there. A very quiet area on the edge of the main mall, with a superb little food shop only two blocks away.
If there was a negative, it would have been the dark entrance from the main street. It was a little foreboding. Once inside the staff greeted you well and treated you well.
We have lived, and now we shall get back to our hostels . . . and dream of what was!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Owner at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time to post a review on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you were so satisfied with our location the spacy, quiet appartment and our friendly staff.
Hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#174 of 359 in Vienna
418 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#33 of 359 in Vienna
811 reviews
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#124 of 359 in Vienna
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#36 of 359 in Vienna
1,318 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#117 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing