We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location, Excellent Value for Money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #66 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
ITel-Aviv
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Location, Excellent Value for Money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Pension Suzanne is located in the best location one can think of - 50 m. from the Staatsoper, at the begining of the Kärntner st. - so we could walk to all the major sites within the Innere Stadt and in 2 min. be on any Underground or tram or bus that we wanted and get wherever in the city.
The Pension is very well maintined, clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful with every need of the guests. Breakfast is also rich and very good, definitely worth the extra charge.
We have no complaints! - It may seem quite odd, but that's true!
Complaints that we read of former guests had not occured to us - although the room faced the street it was totally quiet, as well as the whole building. There was neither any problem with leaving the luggage until the late evening in a closed room next to the reception.
To summarize - this is the optimal accomodation.
Than you very much Michael and all others. We shall visit again undoubtfully!

Room Tip: Prefer first floor rooms where you can go by stairs because the elevator is very slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank First_of_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind Review on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you loved our breakfast, our staff, the Location and your room so much.
Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Michael, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    275
    53
    10
    2
See reviews for
172
315
63
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was a great location for 2 adults with 3 adult children. We walked everywhere; staff and service was excellent and very helpful. We would definitely stay in this location again next time we return to Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind Feedback about our Hotel.
It was a pleasure for us to accomodate you and that you were so happy with our location and our breakfast. Hope to be your host again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel was perfectly located near the Opera House and shopping area. The staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions. The breakfast was more than adequate. There were several Metro locations in the vicinity and getting around the city was a breeze. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are very happy to read that you loved our Hotel, especially our Location and the breakfast.
Hope to welcome you again when you return to vienna
Michael. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

For 7 days in Nov.2013,my sister-in-law and I stayed in the apartment style accommodation-large,comfortable, and kept spotlessly clean without any intrusion by an attentive and pleasant housekeeping staff.Getting to the 6th floor apt. in a quiet section overlooking a court type area was easy by lift.The owners,Michael and his wife, were helpful and pleasant in providing information.Michael addressed many of my questions by e-mail almost as quickly as I posted them which was an indication of the service we could expect.Arriving early,we were able to leave our luggage in the office while we acquainted ourselves with the area.The location couldn't be better as it allows for walking to most tourist attractions and transportation sites.We felt safe walking everywhere even at night when returning from restaurants,Christmas Mkts. and family members homes.Breakfasts were varied and fresh in a lovely appointed breakfast room and those providing service were attentive to our needs especially Sandra.At the end of our stay,Michael arranged for a car to take us to the airport.Surprisingly,the cost was less than the taxi we used on arrival but Michael's help with the convenience was priceless.
Because of our positive experiences at PS not only will we return but we have recommended all of you to friends and family.
Thank you,Michael and staff!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Desertdweller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very positive Feedback. It is a great pleasure for us, that you hasd such a wonderful time in our Hotel and that you were so happy with our Location, our breakfast and our staff. Hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Michael, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The location is a great selling point, right next to opera house. The staff are exceptionally friendly and we were able to organise a tour through them, however the tour itself was a let down (the number one Vienna tour). The room was pleasant, but on the down side the shower was quite small. The breakfast was splendid and sumptuous!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoop696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind review on tripdvisor.
We are very happy, that you were so satisfied with our location, our breakfast and our staff.
Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I spent four nights here at the end of December. It is very close to the Opera and the pedestrian shopping area that leads to Stephensplatz. Almost everything is within walking distance, and it was easy to reach from two of the train stations. The owners are wonderful people, so warm and helpful! They even got gluten-free bread and muesli for me for breakfast, which was very much appreciated. The breakfasts were wonderful - fruit, meat, cheese, breads, muesli, yogurt, juices...we didn't need lunch any of the days that we stayed here! Our room was a decent size, quiet, and very clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay here if we are in Vienna again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind feedback.
We are glad to read ,that you were so happy with our central location, the size and cleanliness of your room, and the friendliness of our staff.
Certainly its also a pleasure for us to provide gluten free breakfast for our guests.
Hope to welcome you in our hotel whenever you come back to vienna.
Michael, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is where to stay if you want be close to all the attractions. Reasonable rates, wifi we could pick up from our room and a wonderful breakfast made this the perfect hotel for our family vacation. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure for us that you were so happy with our location, our breakfast and the price value of our hotel.
Hope to be your host again when you come back to vienna
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#185 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#25 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Property: Pension Suzanne
Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#118 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing