We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, central & friendly”
Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #67 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed for 5 days and shared a room with my daughter. The room was comfortable and always spotlessly clean.The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating and the location can't be beat.
I would stay again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYLibraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a good comment at tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to read, that you were so happy with our Location, the cleanliness of your room and the friendliness of our staff.
Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Pension Suzanne on a visit to attend operas and the ballet at the Vienna Opera House. It was perfect for that. It was close and comfortable, good value with good breakfasts included. It was good to have a kitchen. Even the large rooms are fairly small but understandable for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very positive and friendly review at tripadvisor.
We are very happy, that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you loved our Location, our breakfast and the Price value.Your double room, appartment type had a size of 34m2 and this is for an european City Hotel a large size. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

You cannot ask for a better location than this Pension. It is the second time we've stayed here, 1/2 a block from the Opera House, and very close to the pedestrian shopping streets. Don't expect a hotel type situation with a lobby. You have a decent room, functional bathroom, good breakfast, and Vienna is at your doorstop. The owners are very nice. The price is cheap.

Room Tip: If you buy # euro standing room opera tickets, when the doors open, make sure you go up to the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSAFDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for telling us that you were so happy with our Hotel especially with our Location, your room, our breakfast and the friendliness of the whole staff.
Nice, that you stayed in the meantime twice with us and hope to welcome you again.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Pension Suzanne in May of 2014 while visiting Vienna. It is located half a block from the Opera and one and a half blocks from the Karlsplatz subway station. The location was perfect for us. We enjoyed the daily breakfasts and the pleasant conversations during that meal with other guests. The location allowed us to quickly catch public transportation, buses, trams, or subway, and to walk to many of the attractions in Vienna. I would stay there, again, when visiting Vienna.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor overlooking a back parking lot. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very positive Feedback about our Hotel. It is so nice to read that you were so happy with our Location, your room, our breakfast where you had a lot of fun and met many other friendly and polite People. Hope to welcome you again.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I doubt you'll find a pension that's better located for the price in central Vienna. 1/2 block from the Opera and Karlsplatz transportation. Hosts were very helpful and breakfast was typical fare where you'll have a chance to meet other guests. The pension itself seems to be a series of rooms in two adjoining apartment buildings. Our room was an old single room apartment, complete with "bed/living room", small kitchen, foyer and separate bath and shower rooms, which could have been closets at one time. Who knows. Very quiet once the Opera stops their outdoor broadcasts (yes you're that close). Bed was very comfortable. We'd put this at the top of our list heading back to Vienna. 4 stars only due to the nature of the building itself, which is a little off-putting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajweigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your very good comment on tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to learn, that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you loved your quiet room, our breakfast and our Location. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just back from 4 day visit to Vienna. Pension Suzanne is in excellent location within a 2 min walk of Opera House and 6/7 min walk of Stephensplaz. Very safe area, very comfortable strolling around at 10.30/11pm. Lovely breakfast, very helpful staff - facilitated printing of boarding passes, provided umbrellas. Large rooms with kitchenette, all very clean. Our only gripe is that there are carpets everywhere. I did see a timber floor in some visitors photos so perhaps they are gradually changing over from carpet to timber flooring which would be a very positive move.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the rear of premises if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgoldenoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind Feedback at Tripadvisor. We are very happy, that you were so satisfied with our Location, our breakfast, the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna - please let us know in advance that you prefer a room with carpets (most of our guests prefer carpets).
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just returned from our stay in Vienna and Pension Suzanne. It worked out perfectly for us - the staff was very helpful, our room good sized with a large bathroom area, an elevator, and good breakfasts. It is easy walking distance to all the sights in the old town - just around the corner from the Opera House, a 10-minute walk to St. Stephen's Cathedral, and ATMS nearby. We picked up a rental car on our way out of Vienna and the rental agency was 5 minutes away. A perfect stay in a most beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to send such a phantastic Report to Tripadvisor. We are very happy, that you were so satisfied with our Location, your room, our breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#179 of 358 in Vienna
411 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#192 of 358 in Vienna
338 reviews
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#32 of 358 in Vienna
635 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 358 in Vienna
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#117 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing