We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pension Suzanne a quaint and friendly spot in the heart of Vienna”
Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #62 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pension Suzanne a quaint and friendly spot in the heart of Vienna”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Pension Suzanne on a recent trip to Vienna. While not a high-end luxury hotel, you can't beat the price or the location. It was an easy walk to most sights, and the staff was most helpful in arranging transportation and dealing with some last-minute changes on our end. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good deal on a nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure for us to read that you were so satisfied with our Location, the friendliness of our staff and the Price value.
Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    280
    55
    10
    2
See reviews for
177
320
65
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed for 5 days and shared a room with my daughter. The room was comfortable and always spotlessly clean.The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating and the location can't be beat.
I would stay again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYLibraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a good comment at tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to read, that you were so happy with our Location, the cleanliness of your room and the friendliness of our staff.
Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Pension Suzanne on a visit to attend operas and the ballet at the Vienna Opera House. It was perfect for that. It was close and comfortable, good value with good breakfasts included. It was good to have a kitchen. Even the large rooms are fairly small but understandable for the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very positive and friendly review at tripadvisor.
We are very happy, that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you loved our Location, our breakfast and the Price value.Your double room, appartment type had a size of 34m2 and this is for an european City Hotel a large size. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

You cannot ask for a better location than this Pension. It is the second time we've stayed here, 1/2 a block from the Opera House, and very close to the pedestrian shopping streets. Don't expect a hotel type situation with a lobby. You have a decent room, functional bathroom, good breakfast, and Vienna is at your doorstop. The owners are very nice. The price is cheap.

Room Tip: If you buy # euro standing room opera tickets, when the doors open, make sure you go up to the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSAFDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for telling us that you were so happy with our Hotel especially with our Location, your room, our breakfast and the friendliness of the whole staff.
Nice, that you stayed in the meantime twice with us and hope to welcome you again.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
350 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Pension Suzanne in May of 2014 while visiting Vienna. It is located half a block from the Opera and one and a half blocks from the Karlsplatz subway station. The location was perfect for us. We enjoyed the daily breakfasts and the pleasant conversations during that meal with other guests. The location allowed us to quickly catch public transportation, buses, trams, or subway, and to walk to many of the attractions in Vienna. I would stay there, again, when visiting Vienna.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor overlooking a back parking lot. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very positive Feedback about our Hotel. It is so nice to read that you were so happy with our Location, your room, our breakfast where you had a lot of fun and met many other friendly and polite People. Hope to welcome you again.
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I doubt you'll find a pension that's better located for the price in central Vienna. 1/2 block from the Opera and Karlsplatz transportation. Hosts were very helpful and breakfast was typical fare where you'll have a chance to meet other guests. The pension itself seems to be a series of rooms in two adjoining apartment buildings. Our room was an old single room apartment, complete with "bed/living room", small kitchen, foyer and separate bath and shower rooms, which could have been closets at one time. Who knows. Very quiet once the Opera stops their outdoor broadcasts (yes you're that close). Bed was very comfortable. We'd put this at the top of our list heading back to Vienna. 4 stars only due to the nature of the building itself, which is a little off-putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajweigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your very good comment on tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to learn, that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you loved your quiet room, our breakfast and our Location. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just back from 4 day visit to Vienna. Pension Suzanne is in excellent location within a 2 min walk of Opera House and 6/7 min walk of Stephensplaz. Very safe area, very comfortable strolling around at 10.30/11pm. Lovely breakfast, very helpful staff - facilitated printing of boarding passes, provided umbrellas. Large rooms with kitchenette, all very clean. Our only gripe is that there are carpets everywhere. I did see a timber floor in some visitors photos so perhaps they are gradually changing over from carpet to timber flooring which would be a very positive move.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the rear of premises if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgoldenoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind Feedback at Tripadvisor. We are very happy, that you were so satisfied with our Location, our breakfast, the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna - please let us know in advance that you prefer a room with carpets (most of our guests prefer carpets).
Michael, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#185 of 360 in Vienna
393 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#190 of 360 in Vienna
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#155 of 360 in Vienna
580 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 360 in Vienna
868 reviews
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Property: Pension Suzanne
Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#118 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing