We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice as Nice!”
Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #79 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

For the second time in 7 mos. I was accommodated At Pen. Suz.,the first ,in an apartment style and second in a single room.Each accommodation was so comfortable.In June during a warmer spell,I was surprised by a tower fan placed in the room without my asking.The owners always seem to anticipate what their guests need to be comfortable.Again,a friendly,competent staff,a lovely breakfast, cleanliness in all areas,and attention to security make a third stay inevitable.The location is perfect and I esp. enjoyed live opera on screen outside the Opera House around the corner .What could be better.Thanks, Michael and staff and Sandra who made breakfast so inviting!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Desertdweller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very Kind words at Tripadvisor.
We are very glad that you had a good time in vienna and that you loved our Location, our breakfast, the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
Hope to accomodate you again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed two nights in June at this lovely pension. With its unassuming entry, its friendly, helpful staff, its delightful breakfast in a lovely room, our comfortable old-style room, and the tiny elevator, the LOCATION, we loved this place. We were on the seventh floor, room 71, and could look out our window to the left and see the Opera House just half a block away and what became our favorite restaurant down below. We had a very nice modern bathroom (complete with tub!). What a delight to open the window out onto the street and see the sites with no insects (we're from buggy Texas). Pension Suzanne is right in the middle of things. Following the staff's (Michael"s) suggestions, we're lucky to be able to park on the street very near the entry for a very reasonable daily cost.
I've noticed that some guest's reviews encourage a room away from street noise, but after a day of walking in the midst of all the wonders of Vienna, we slept like lambs. We loved this place and highly recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very positive Feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you were so satisfied with our Location, our breakfast, your room and the friendliness of all of our staff. Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent 3 nights in July in the family suite, with four adults. We each had our own bedrooms, plus one toilet separate from the shower/bath room and a large, incredible living room overlooking a lovely street. Incredible amount of space and charm for the money. Might just be the best value in Vienna, given that the location, a block off Karntner Strasse, near the State Opera, is ideal (public transport steps away, too). The service is enthusiastic, warm, inviting and even fun, playful. It's a simple, plain pensione without lots of amenities, but breakfast is good and the breakfast room, like the sleeping rooms, is perfectly Old World in its thoughtful and understated elegance. We've stayed here twice now, and with such easy access to sites and restaurants and transport, it feels like our living room in Vienna. There's no question if we t return to the city, we'll stay here, again. Thanks for running such a fine, affordable, charming and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for you very kinds words and for staying second time with us.
It is a great pleasure for us to hear, that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you were so satisfied with our Location, your spacy Family appartment (80m), our staff and the Price value. We are alos happy, for telling us to stay with us again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely place for 4 nights and had 3 adults in the family suite. You cannot beat the location of this place. We were able to walk everywhere. Easy access to sites, places to eat, shop, atms, parks. The owners are very nice, the staff are warm and helpful and they put a very nice breakfast in a lovely room in the mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KandGtravelabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very positive on tripadvisor.
We are very happy, that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you were so happy with our location and the quiet room with the comfortable bed.
Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked this hotel based on the many favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint! I had a single room that had ample space, a comfortable bed, a large bathroom and was very quiet. The location was excellent for walking around Vienna and for using the metro. The Karlsplatz U-4 metro stop was a very short mostly underground walk to the hotel. Used the S-7/u-4 metro combination to travel from/to the airport for 4.2 euro. Very nice continental breakfast buffet. Highly recommend for Vienna visitors. In interested, the ho-on/hop-off bus departs next to the hotel entrance. Hotel is on second floor and need to push hotel mailbox button to unlock the door.

Room Tip: I was traveling alone and found the single room more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very positive Feedback about our Hotel.
We are very glad that you had such a good time with us and that you were so happy with our Location, your quiet room, the bathroom and the breakfastbufett.
Hope to welcome you again
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived several hours before check in and my friend was feeling poorly--motion sickness from the flight. We were allowed to sit in one of the work spaces so she could lie down. In less than 15 minutes, the staff made a room ready for us and moved us right in.

A few hours of rest later, we walked out of the hotel and around the corner was the Opera House! And another block, the Albertina. Every site we wanted to see was within easy walking distance. The only time we even took the public transit was to ride the tram around the Ringstrasse, and the stop for that was right around the corner.

Breakfast was great, the room beautiful and the bathroom even had a double sink--so rare in Europe. Such a value for such quality and location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very positive Feedback about our Hotel.
We are happy that you were so satisfied with your room, our breakfast, the Location and our Price value.
Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna
Michael, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Pension Suzanne on a recent trip to Vienna. While not a high-end luxury hotel, you can't beat the price or the location. It was an easy walk to most sights, and the staff was most helpful in arranging transportation and dealing with some last-minute changes on our end. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good deal on a nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_strafinger, Inhaber at Pension Suzanne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure for us to read that you were so satisfied with our Location, the friendliness of our staff and the Price value.
Hope to welcome you again whenever you return to vienna.
Michael, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#174 of 359 in Vienna
418 reviews
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#134 of 359 in Vienna
704 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#186 of 359 in Vienna
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#188 of 359 in Vienna
264 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#100 of 359 in Vienna
874 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#117 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £74 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing