We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but no air conditioning with limited wifi access”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #60 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location but no air conditioning with limited wifi access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

I found this hotel via google maps as it was close to the 300 euro / night flagship hotel for a convention I was part of.

Positives:
First off, the location is perfect! Right near the opera house, Karlzplatz ubahn (metro) station, shopping galleries and streets and city center tourist attractions. In fact I would say that the location could not be better. There is a small market around the block in the Ringstrassen-Galerien is around the block and has a food market in the lower level, excellent for those long stays! If you like to walk you can make it down to Stephansplotz in about 15 minutes; or more if you stop at the numerous shops. the Opera is just down the street and the city palace complex is just a few blocks from there.

I had a bedroom, bathroom and kitchenette suit on the top floor with a balcony. It appears that there are others who have had similar kitchenette rooms, but with more or less space.While the size of the room was adequate for my needs, make sure you double check just what you are getting when you book.

The breakfasts are adequate, consisting of bread/rolls, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, eggs, coffee, tea and juice. It can get busy, but the other guests are friendly and the close quarters allow you to socialize in a friendly environment.

The staff from the managers to the maids are very friendly and helpful. They know the area very well and can direct you to local favorites for eating.

As I do most of my travel planning online, in real time, posting Facebook pics and reviews as I go, as well as communicate with family and friends via Skype, manage a group at work etc etc, internet access is a must, and free internet access is even better! They have free wifi access...with a twist (see below).

Cons:
The biggest concern I had was adequate wifi access. Unfortunately, their weak wireless router only reaches about 4 of the 8 floors of the hotel. This means that if you're above that, you have to go down to the dining area to use the service, which wouldn't be too bad until you get kicked out at 10 PM. And if you just need to check email quickly during lunch, it means you have to haul your laptop down to the dinning room, just to check, then back to the room to get ready to go out again. A simple solution to this would be to mount a stronger wireless router on either side of the building. In fact, i was able to pull wifi signals from as far away as the opera house, so I know signals can travel well there. Please also note that internet access in Vienna goes in and out at times.

The second problem I had with the hotel is the lack of air conditioning in the summer. I know this is a lot to ask for an older converted apartment complex, but it is something you can find in other local hotels. The least thing could be to put fans in the rooms; which they do have if you ask on a loan basis (and there are not enough for all the rooms).

Lastly, there was always a lot of cigarette smoke emanating from every floor and especially my tenant neighbor's place. As the units are next door to renting tenants, you cannot really do much about it.

Overall:
So overall this is an excellently situated location, with friendly staff but with limited wifi, conditioning and poor air quality. For me the price was right, and so I would recommend this to others traveling in the area!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    277
    54
    10
    2
See reviews for
174
317
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

I recently stayed at the Pension Suzanne in Vienna with my mother. We were in an apartment style room, which was large, clean and spatious. We had a kitchenette with stove, small fridge and counter space - although we didn't use it a lot as we preferred to enjoy dinners out. The location was perfect. It is on a side road near the Opera House - close to the Hop On / Hop Off Tours of the City which we thoroughly enjoyed. The owners and reception were friendly, kind and very helpful. Breakfast was very good - tradiitonal european style with breads, meats, cheeses, cereal and yogourt. It was our first time in Vienna and we would plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandianTravelBugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

As might be expected for the price in a big city, rooms are small, but very clean and quite adequate. The main advantage is the excellent central location - within walking distance of all the main city attractions in central Vienna. Parking (paid) is generally available on the street outside. Staff are helpful and an excellent breakfast is included. a good range of restaurants are located in the suurounding streets.
This place is a good choice if you don't want to break the budget yet want a central location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

great hotel in a great position. I travelled to Wien and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and we found this accomodation simply..the best! we were in the centre of Wien, near the Opera and we went walking in the most important attraction of Wien. The view outside the window wasn't excellent but the room was good and the beds too. We had also tv. The bathroom is modern. The breakfast was great, lots of things to eat!! I would come back in this hotel again, for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetviolet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Once you get past the fact that we are certifiably nuts for travelling from Phoenix to Vienna to see 19 hours of Wagner's Ring Cycle at the Vienna Staatsoper [State Opera], you might find this review helpful. We were there from a Friday to the following Friday.
We found Pension Suzzane in a Rick Steves book, and its location on Google Earth. Our cab from the Vienna Airport cost 42 Euros. There is an express train, but we did not want to haul our bags packed for a two week European stay, on a train.
The pension is on a small street and occupies the upper floors of its building. The office is on what we Americans call the second floor, but Europeans call the first floor. There is an outside button among the other tenant buttons which opens the front door from the street, and after manuevering our bags up about six steps, took the elevator to the office floor. We hald been told, and it was confirmed, that there is a 4% cash discount, which made the room rate per night 110.50 Euros ($155.00).
Our room was on the same floor, looking out over the street. We were worried about noise, but since the windows were double paned (double glazed for you Brits), we had no noise problems.
The room was quite large by European standards, with a king size bed, a decent sized sofa with a nice coffee table and armchair. The closet was roomy, with enough hangars and shelves for a weeks worth of clothing. The bathroom has a tub/shower and is quite adequate. The decor is late 19th century, well done and very pleasant.
The office staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. There is free access to a comptuer with a printer.
The breakfast room is a tad small for a full house; which was apparently the case. But since there were 8 people from the Dublin Wagner Socierty, and two California ladies there for the Ring Cycle also, we had an enjoyable time chatting with fellow guests. The pension has 25 rooms, some double or triple, so you may share a table, as is the European custom. The food was good German style, but without any hot entrees.
The only glitch did not affect us. We returned after the opera at 11:00 one night to discover, after we walked up to our room, as usual; that a lady was stck in the elevator about 4 feet below the floor level, and unable to move it or open the door. The office was closed, and a phone call to the emergency number on the office door led to a full voice mail box. Fortunately she discovered an emergency button in the elevator, which led to a service techician who was able to open the door and get her out.
If you go about 50 yards from the front door, you find yourself at an intersection, with the Staatsoper on the opposite corner. If you go right at this point, you are on Kartnerstrasse, the main, pedestrian only, Vienna shopping street with just about any store you could want on it or on of the side streets leading off it. The next corner up by the Staatsoper entrance is on the corner of the Ring Road, acrually a series of variosly names streets forming a ring around the old city. You can also get into the Oper Subway station, which gives you access to virtually all subway routes. There is a ticket office in the (very large) station, where we bought a two day pass on Friday and a weekly pass, which ran from the following Monday. The pass is good on all Vienna subways, trams and buses. The trams passing by the Opera go virtually anywhere. Don't miss the Schoenbrun and Belvedere Palaces.
Also opposite from the same Staatsoper corner is the Sacher Hotel, the Sacher Cafe, and the chance to have a real Sacher Torte. Generally speaking Vienna's bakery shops and pastries are hazardous to your health, they are so delicious. The only antidote is to do a lot of walking.
Suggestions: (1) get one or two good guide books. Some will have maps of the city and the transit system.
(2) Make sure your bank knows you are going so they won't put a stop to your ATM withdrawals. I thought I had by e-mail, but ran into a "Limit Exceeded" message after my first withdrawal. I had to buy a telephone calling card at a local tobacco shop to call my bank and get it cleared up.
(3) Wear sturdy walking shoes if you are goung to be there, or any city in Europe for a while. The transit systems are fast, clean and reasonable, but you still will do a lot of walking in the central cities, which often feature pedestrian only blocks.
(4) In Vienna - stay at the Pension Suzanne. It can't be beat for value and location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Citylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

This hotel is fantastically located just yards from the city centre. Our room was spacious, clean and bright. Breakfast offered a good choice - continental. All the staff, from reception, breakfast and cleaning, were very friendly and always willing to assist with enquiries. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

What a great find this place was! Its location is ideal, just a block away from the Staatsoper, right in the heart of it all. When we arrived, we could hear the music from the Opera house live simulcast playing! Our room was all the way at the top, and had a lovely wraparound terrace with chairs and a table. The room itself was decorated in bohemian kitsch... some may like, some may not, but it was always a lovely and quiet retreat from the hustle/bustle of downtown Vienna.

The employees of this pension were always very friendly and accomodating with any requests. When we checked in, we were given a tour of the pension and our room, and offered advice and feedback on where we could park our car and grab a good quick meal. The hotel offers an onstreet parking pass for under 5 euros, and parking on the street right in front of the hotel was easy.

The breakfast was a nice bonus, with a great selection of cheeses, cold cuts, breads, and cereals, as well as hard boiled eggs. We didn't drink any coffee while we were there, but the tea was good. Definitely a great way to get started on the day.

The only problem we had was that the "free hi speed internet connection" did not work on the eighth floor, and we couldn't even get it to work downstairs. Fortunately, the hotel does have two computers in the office with connections, and they were making these systems available to the guests.

If you are looking for a truly elegant, high end boutique hotel, the Pension Suzanne is just not for you. If, however, you want a GREAT place to stay, with really friendly and helpful staff, fun guests, and all for a fantastic price, you are going to love this place!! I can't recommend it strongly enough!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontereyStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#183 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Property: Pension Suzanne
Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#118 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing