We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air-condition”
Review of Goldene Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goldene Spinne
Ranked #276 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Glyfada, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“No air-condition”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have got the feeling that is a hotel by the hour, but we did not have any problem.
We stayed one night because we wanted to be close to the train for the airport.
No complain, but the hotel does not have air-condition, so if you go there in the summer you may have problem because you cannot open the windows due to noise from the trains.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magistros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    57
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
3
49
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We slept only one night at this hotel but it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is clean with fine furniture , the room is small but comfortable , the bathroom is also small but clean with a large shower cabin. The best part is the bed, wich is huge, around 2 meters wide. We had a good sleep there. The breakfast buffet is good and variate . The location is very good, close to Opera House and city center. Pay attention for the hotel doesn't have it's own parking , but we parked our car on the street 50 meters away from the main entrance and all was good.

Room Tip: If you need a good sleep choose a backyard room, is mor quiet. If you want to have a nice view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlad-anda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you are not spending a lot of time in the hotel and just need a place to sleep, this is it! A small clean hotel with large breakfast and super friendly staff. Right next door to the main station Wien Mitte so you can take a train anywhere as well as the shuttle to the airport, so easy! 7 minutes walking distance to the Vienna Center and Hundertwasser Museum. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madparik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Located just 300m away from City Airport Terminal station. Just 15 minute walk to Opera House or St Stephans Cathedral. Rooms are refurbished and very clean. I chose double room for Euro 80 per night. Good size, comfortable bed, clean linen and toilet. Reception available 24 hours. No WI FI but free internet available in mezzanine floor. Breakfast was basic but good. I highly recommend due to convenient location and quality rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Safari1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I were visiting Vienna by car, and we were supposed to stay at a a different place. However there was a little problem with the place we were going to stay, and our friends booked us for one night in Goldene Spinne (Golden Spider) because the property was in the same block our friend lived. The hotel is located in an older building and it is an old fashion hotel: spacious room, big bathroom, 4 meter сeilings. Tiny elevator, broad stairs, standard buffet breakfast. What we would like to have in a hotel if we booked ourselves? The priority would be coffee-tea maker and wifi in the room, none of that existed. One parking spot surprisingly was waiting for us in the front of hotel. The window view was perfect, overlooking Staatspark and Stephan Dome. The best of the hotel is location. Close to everything in central Vienna. And Vienna is a beautiful city.

Room Tip: If you travel to Vienna by car, park it for free in 18th or 19th district and use public transportat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SergeBor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hotel has great location, just next to the Stadt Park and 10min slowly walking to the centre. Room was spacious, tidy and comfy, on the 4th flour looking to the city. Stuff was very frendly and welcoming. Breakfast was just enough. And finally great value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanija_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Pros:
- Close to Mitte station. I had an early train, so wanted to stay close to it.
- 10 mins walk to center of the city.
- Breakfast was good.

Cons:
- No wifi. The one public computer was subject to "overheating".
- I normally like a hard mattress, but this one was too much even for me.
- Electrical adapter they offered me was broken.
- No air conditioning.
- No view. Window looked out to another building not far away.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Pension Stadtpark
Pension Stadtpark
#307 of 361 in Vienna
73 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#190 of 361 in Vienna
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 2
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 2
#206 of 361 in Vienna
306 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#113 of 361 in Vienna
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldene Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldene Spinne

Property: Goldene Spinne
Address: Linke Bahngasse 1A, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldene Spinne 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Goldene Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Spinne Hotel Vienna
Goldene Spinne Vienna
Rodeway Inn Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing