We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel even better staff”
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Das Triest
Ranked #76 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great hotel even better staff”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

just had a great 4 night stay,everything was fantastic,great food,location perfect for vienna city and staff were really helpful and polite!Hotel is a gem,will surely be back. Spacious rooms and bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Jackie J.!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest” and lloking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    263
    79
    22
    13
See reviews for
86
324
52
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

we Stayed at the Hotel for 2 Nights as soon as we walked in our bags were taken off us ready to be delivered to our room the Reception Staff were polite & professional and very friendly also very patient as our German is very poor, However all the staff spoke excellent English.
The Rooms were Modern and clean, Apple TV and free no hassle WiFi was a great and welcome touch.
The Breakfast was great very good selection of hot and cold food plus endless supply of Tea & Coffee Even had a glass of bubbly for my girlfriends birthday breakfast really nice touch!
The Bar and the staff were excellent it had a really nice vibe.
We went out for a birthday meal and when we returned we found that my girlfriend had left her hat in the Restaurant the Bar Man found the restaurant phone number and called them they had the hat and he arranged for us to pick it up in the morning we were so grateful and he did this all off his own back superb service and Thank you so much
We both like Running and the staff recommended a route which we ran twice and loved it!!
All in All a truly 5 STAR Hotel with kind & professional staff really made our trip special
To all the Staff at Hotel Triest - Thank you for making our Vienna Trip so Special.

Room Tip: We Stayed in Room 502 which was great clean & Modern! The window looked out over the High street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mark H!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a lovely stay in Das Triest.

The room was very clean, had a mac to use as a TV and computer, such a comfy bed and nice bathroom.

We were very disappointed with breakfast as there wasn't much at all too choose from. Even though we had paid for breakfast I wouldn't even eat anything considering the limited amount of food they had. My fiance had bread which was stale. There was fruit flies all over the fruit. Not happy with breakfast at all!

The towels and robes aren't good quality at all and need replacing.

I would say it's probably a 4 star hotel.

It was a good location but about a 10 minute walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Emma-Leigh B.
Thank your for taking time and sharing your experiences at Das Triest on TripAdvisor.
I really would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.
We will forward your comment to our F& B and Housekeeping Manager to take appropriate and immediate action.
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future again to show you that we can do a lot better!
Please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We visited this hotel for a weekend break in January. It was an ideal choice with a very good location within walking distance of all the sights. The hotel is comfortable welcoming and very efficiently run. Our standard rooms were attractive with good beds and shower and excellent storage. One criticism was the well worn towels!
Breakfast was very good served in a pleasant dining room. We enjoyed an evening drink in the Silver Bar before walking into the centre of town for dinner.
The hotel organised a guide to take us on a walking tour which we can strongly recommend.
In all respects an excellent choice for a comfortable visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Imogen_10!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced with the towels, unfortunately the delivery of the new ones took lomger than expected, but they will be changed completly within the next 2 weeks!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very much enjoyed our stay at Das Triest, the location is excellent, just a 10 minute walk into the centre of Vienna and very close to an underground station for when you are going further afield.

The restaurant is very good if a little expensive and the breakfast is exceptionally good.

The rooms are clean and tidy and the bathroom is very good, the macs are a nice touch but the wi-fi is very patchy.

Staff were friendly and attentive throughout our week long stay.

All in all a comfortable and relaxing way to see the beautiful city of Vienna.

Room Tip: A lower floor may help with wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Brian R.!

Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
I hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again. Please feel free contacting me personally at any time and I'll take care on your reservation.

Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Triest is well located and close to city center (walking distance). Public transport hub is very close as well (Karlsplatz). The rooms are great and people are very helpful. What else does one need? Can only recommend the Triest if you are looking for a smaller and more private hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Hubthegreat!

Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!

Best regards

Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
217 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Location: Location was convenient to walking to many of the main tourist sights as well as close to the subway.
Room: Room 106 is very spacious with a seating area and large windows. Nice big bed with nice linens.
Bathroom: Large and clean with a tub and towel warmer.
Service: The front desk staff was not very knowledgeable of the area or restaurants. It also tended to be the same people staffing the desk during our whole three day stay.
Breakfast Buffet: Overpriced! Nice selection but not work the money.
Patio: Nice to sit out on the patio and enjoy a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaronning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear jaronning!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
Although it seems that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations, our front office staff is regulary trained on these things but we will provide additonal trainings especially for this staff member!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#133 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Property: Hotel Das Triest
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#53 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing