We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well...”
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Das Triest
Ranked #76 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Let's just say that this hotel has quite a few positive points but also a couple of negatives. Let's start with the good bits. The hotel is very close to a tram stop and a big underground train interchange at Karlsplatz. Rooms are very clean with very swish bathrooms, and good desk space, as well as large wardrobe. We had a room facing the street; the trams along that street are quite noisy during the day but no problems at night. (We had requested a room facing the courtyard but they were fully booked.) Staff at reception were very friendly and smiley. Only a short (10 min) walk to the opera house, Kärntner Strasse and the Stephansplatz and 15-20 minutes to the Hofburg Palace.

Now the not so good things:
The area around the hotel is not really the most attractive of areas, being a little on the dirty and noisy side, a bit of a contrast from the centre of town. WiFi connection was not so good, being intermittent most of the time, fantastic one second and then rubbish the next. Shower (over-bath type) was a little too powerful and so sprayed across the room making the floor very wet. But perhaps the biggest downer for us was the high breakfast price, as 22 euros each, the highest we've ever seen in a hotel. As a consequence we ate breakfast every morning in the Anker bakery in Karlsplatz underground station; coffee, juice, bread and croissant for 6 to 8 euros each.

Overall the hotel serves its purpose, but it lacked that "icing on the cake" that I always expect from a 5-star hotel. You'll get a good night's sleep in this hotel, that's a certainty, but if you're looking for extra touches, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Daniel A.!
It is a real pleasure to read such a detailed feedback and it is good to hear that you had an overall fabulous stay with us.
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna.
I am very sorry that the WIFI did not work as well as normal during your stay, we have already made an update to all our systems so this will not happen again and has not happened since then!
We do believe that we offer an excellent choice and high quality on our breakfast buffet and looking at the prices of most 4 and 5 star hotels in the inner city which are between 20 and 35 Euros, we do believe that our breakfast buffet is at a very reasonable price.
Thank you again for sharing your detailed feedback on the TripAdvisor page.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    265
    79
    22
    13
See reviews for
86
326
52
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Vienna just off the main tourist area. Most of the typical places for tourists were at least a 20 minute walk to the opera house area, but this hotel has beautiful comfortable rooms, a large bathroom, and it's only two blocks from Naschmarket and restaurant area. The staff was very professional and always pleasant. We did not purchase a breakfast package, so we found a cafe a half a block away. As well as a bank machine a few doors down. I would stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Judy G.!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
It makes me proud to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I am delighted that you were satisfied with the service you received from our employees.
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Das Triest offers the perfect combination of chilled vibe, easy access to the city and friendly, attentive staff. I've stayed there on many occasions and always had a great time, whether it was a business trip or a family vacation. Rooms are well designed and internet access works simple and reliable. Before the enjoyable breakfast, I usually take a stroll through the Belvedere gardens which are just around the corner: nice way to start the day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHaslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear PaulHaslinger!
It makes me really proud to read that you enjoyed your time with us again and again and I am delighted that you were satisfied with the service and amenities we offer!
Looking forward seeing you next time!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Good central location with a very easy access using public transport, including from the airport.
Pleasant room despite the old-fashioned "Conrad" decoration.
The breakfast is clearly over-expensive and the staff is invasive, trying to remove your plate even before all is finished. Please note that the beautiful terrace cannot be used by non-smokers as smokers are allowed there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcancalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear fcancalon!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community.
It seems that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations, we will forward your comment to our F& B Manager to take appropriate action!
I truly hope that you will give us another chance in the future and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. It's a handy location to the city centre - 15 minutes walk to the Opera House. Easy to get to - recommend the CAT from Vienna Airport and there's a taxi rank right outside Vien Mitte Station, where the CAT arrives.
The breakfast has a wide range and is excellent quality. The staff were very attentive and continually on the watch for topping up or refilling coffee. Breakfast is inside and out. Outside in a courtyard, though with some grass and greenery. A tranquil setting, surprising for somewhere so close to the city centre.
Room 116 had a view over the courtyard, was quiet at night and spacious.

Room Tip: Ideally one on the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterS743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear peter S!
It is a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us.
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Triest hotel is centrally located close to the main sights of Vienna and the city centre, Most of the sights are within walking distance. Public transport like the tram is just opppsite the front door. The metro station Karlsplatz is 3 minutes walking distance. The rooms are nice, however years ago it was rated as one of Vienna's best design hotels. It is a bit dated now and the rooms are a bit worn. However it has a nice courtyard, where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served. The straff is friendly, which is unusual for Vienna. All in all a great choice for your stay in Vienna.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel room facing the courtyard, as it is quieter. The trams are running along the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tirol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear tirol76!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
I hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again to show you that we are constantly renewing ourselves. Please feel free contacting me personally at any time and I'll take care on your reservation.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Täby
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel has a great location, only 7-8 mins walk to the opera house. The area is just a little bit of the "scrubby" side (Karlsplatz), but hotel is cozy and clean. Rooms could be more design, is low key and more business like. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice inside garden. I would not rate it as a boutique hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Susanne T!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community.
It seems that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations.
I hope you will give us another chance and consider Das Triest in the future again.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#82 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#131 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Property: Hotel Das Triest
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#53 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing