We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Das Triest
Nearby Hotels
US$292
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$357
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Austria Classic Hotel Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$417
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$363
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$315
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$418
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
356
279
88
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
279
88
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvterence conrandesign hotelsilver bargarden suitemolton brown toiletriesopera houseupgraded to a junior suitecity centrewatch tvweekend breaklovely hotelspacious bathroomminute walktram stopconvenient locationthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were in Vienna last week and stayed at Hotel Das Triest. The fantastic room we had at the hotel made our stay that much more memorable. We had requested a room for 3 people and were assigned a suite. Ask for room 306. It's at the end of the hallway, therefore the biggest square footage. It was such a huge and comfortable room, looking at the St. Stephan church. The bathrooms are amazing (the water sprays a bit too strong, but we loved it). The room is airy, bright, comfortable. They have designed everything to perfection at the hotel. We booked through Hotels.com and paid 100 Euros a night, including breakfast, which was just amazing. There was even champagne at the breakfast table. The staff is amazing, friendly and helpful. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the centre, very conveniently located. Overall, I cannot say enough good things about this place. The floors higher up have patios or terraces I think, so I don't know what they may be like.

The only negative thing was the internet was working slow in the bed as it was the furthest away in the floor. But it worked well, standing by the door ;)

Room Tip: Room 306 (I guess 206 is the same) has the biggest square footage and is huge. Double windows, very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear lorin m!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Let's just say that this hotel has quite a few positive points but also a couple of negatives. Let's start with the good bits. The hotel is very close to a tram stop and a big underground train interchange at Karlsplatz. Rooms are very clean with very swish bathrooms, and good desk space, as well as large wardrobe. We had a room facing the street; the trams along that street are quite noisy during the day but no problems at night. (We had requested a room facing the courtyard but they were fully booked.) Staff at reception were very friendly and smiley. Only a short (10 min) walk to the opera house, Kärntner Strasse and the Stephansplatz and 15-20 minutes to the Hofburg Palace.

Now the not so good things:
The area around the hotel is not really the most attractive of areas, being a little on the dirty and noisy side, a bit of a contrast from the centre of town. WiFi connection was not so good, being intermittent most of the time, fantastic one second and then rubbish the next. Shower (over-bath type) was a little too powerful and so sprayed across the room making the floor very wet. But perhaps the biggest downer for us was the high breakfast price, as 22 euros each, the highest we've ever seen in a hotel. As a consequence we ate breakfast every morning in the Anker bakery in Karlsplatz underground station; coffee, juice, bread and croissant for 6 to 8 euros each.

Overall the hotel serves its purpose, but it lacked that "icing on the cake" that I always expect from a 5-star hotel. You'll get a good night's sleep in this hotel, that's a certainty, but if you're looking for extra touches, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Daniel A.!
It is a real pleasure to read such a detailed feedback and it is good to hear that you had an overall fabulous stay with us.
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna.
I am very sorry that the WIFI did not work as well as normal during your stay, we have already made an update to all our systems so this will not happen again and has not happened since then!
We do believe that we offer an excellent choice and high quality on our breakfast buffet and looking at the prices of most 4 and 5 star hotels in the inner city which are between 20 and 35 Euros, we do believe that our breakfast buffet is at a very reasonable price.
Thank you again for sharing your detailed feedback on the TripAdvisor page.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Vienna just off the main tourist area. Most of the typical places for tourists were at least a 20 minute walk to the opera house area, but this hotel has beautiful comfortable rooms, a large bathroom, and it's only two blocks from Naschmarket and restaurant area. The staff was very professional and always pleasant. We did not purchase a breakfast package, so we found a cafe a half a block away. As well as a bank machine a few doors down. I would stay there again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Judy G.!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
It makes me proud to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I am delighted that you were satisfied with the service you received from our employees.
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Das Triest offers the perfect combination of chilled vibe, easy access to the city and friendly, attentive staff. I've stayed there on many occasions and always had a great time, whether it was a business trip or a family vacation. Rooms are well designed and internet access works simple and reliable. Before the enjoyable breakfast, I usually take a stroll through the Belvedere gardens which are just around the corner: nice way to start the day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHaslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear PaulHaslinger!
It makes me really proud to read that you enjoyed your time with us again and again and I am delighted that you were satisfied with the service and amenities we offer!
Looking forward seeing you next time!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Good central location with a very easy access using public transport, including from the airport.
Pleasant room despite the old-fashioned "Conrad" decoration.
The breakfast is clearly over-expensive and the staff is invasive, trying to remove your plate even before all is finished. Please note that the beautiful terrace cannot be used by non-smokers as smokers are allowed there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcancalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear fcancalon!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community.
It seems that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations, we will forward your comment to our F& B Manager to take appropriate action!
I truly hope that you will give us another chance in the future and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews