We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat for the eye”
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Das Triest
Ranked #117 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, great service, very friendly staff, nice room, well situated, excellent parking service. Stylishly decorated (of course ... sir Terence Conran !). We asked to book a concert and this was done immediately and correctly.

Room Tip: Rooms giving on the court yard are quieter, but we had a room on the street side and we slept very w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NM223397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear NM223397!
On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel Das Triest I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna.
Hopefully we will see you again soon at our hotel!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Facts
- Exclusive Boutique Hotel in downtown Vienna, timeless elegance implemented in perfection
- Located in hip neighbour hood of the 5th district, in walking distance of many sights and fine restaurants and shops
- Amazing inner courtyard, for breakfast & outside barbecue; enjoy steaks, fish & seafood
- Recommended for business travellers as well as tourists

Design
The hotel shines with straight, reduced design and combines well-known furniture classics with traditional elegance. You will find Flos Arco lamps as well as stunning Jugendstil taps with golden elements. The rooms and especially the suites are very spacious, and offer stunning views to Karlsplatz and Stephansdom. Floors and doors are designed like in a luxury Yacht. The retro furniture and the architecture, in cooperation with Wiener Werkstätten and famous English designer Sir Terence Conran, perfectly fit to the overall concept.

Around
Karlsplatz, Naschmarkt, Kärnter Straße (famous shopping street) and Stephansdom are in walking distance, as well as underground and tramway stations. Also a lot of small and urban restaurants as well as museums and shops you will find there. Give "Heuer" a try (great selfmade lemonade, good wines and tasty burgers), and visit Wiener Secession (Beethovenfries - by Gustav Klimt).

Conclusion
If you are either a business traveller or a tourist, you will like Das Triest for sure. Enjoy the city, and relax at the hotel - with Bang & Olufsen TV and free WLAN (without cumbersome login procedure . Breakfast in the beautiful courtyard is an awesome experience, also the outside barbecue with steaks, fish and seafood will meet your expectations. A perfect starting point for exploring a fascinating city!

(heartoflife.cc)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank heartoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear heartoflife!
Wow, what a detailed and excellent review, thank you so much for sharing this with us and the TripAdvisor community!
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I choose this hotel for my last night in Vienna since my other preferred hotel was booked. This is a 5 star hotel but the rooms were quite small. Most of the staff were friendly but not all. I asked the reception desk to call for a taxi that accepts credit cards and was told of course we always do that- not the case. I had to get out in the airport and find an atm. Other than that- it's decent for a short period.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Susan c.!
Thank you so much for your review. We are really sorry that not all of our staff treated you the right way and caused inconveniences for you, I can only assure you that this is definitely not our normal standard and the way we work!
We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again to show you that we can do a lot better!
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent two nights at the Das Triest recently. Booked this via Hotwire and felt we got a great stay at a great price especially since our 16-year-old was accompanying us.
Great location. Close to everything. We reached the main sights in a comfortable 15-20-minute walk.
Also, dined at the hotel's restaurant, Restaurant Collio's for dinner and enjoyed a great meal in the beautiful courtyard. The meal, wine and setting complete with 30-year-old olive trees and rosemary bushes was charming and romantic especially in the candlelight. In Vienna, I
ate schnitzel three times at three different establishments and Restaurant Collio's was by far the best. My husband had the filet mignon and it was perfectly cooked. Wine list was very nice.
There is also a market across from the hotel and numerous restaurants and stores.
The bathroom was large, the beds comfortable and extremely clean. We had a room over looking the street and did not hear anything. And, we have never seen an Imac ever before in a hotel room.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear jdvmd!
We are more than happy that your have enjoyed your time with us and we could fulfill all your expectations.
Further we are very grateful that you have taken time to share your experiences with us and the TripAdvisor community in such a detailed way.
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels brings you to Vienna again
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is a great location for seeing Vienna. A 5 minute walk to the center of town and near everything. Our room 406 had a great view of the city and was well furnished. The buffet breakfast was excellent, but a little over priced. I would stay here again on our next visit. The concierge gave us great choices for restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Ronald B.!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect. Hotel staff are very helpful. Breakfast is so good and served in a beautiful small garden. Some negative points exists but you could easily ignore them and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank parnader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear parnader!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you were lucky to have nice weather and that you were able to enjoy the breakfast in our beautiful garden!
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of the combination of reviews and the low price.
The hotel is at a pretty central location, but not inside the core of the city center (it's just outside the ring surrounding the core). It's also near an underground station, but again - not _right_ next to it, but about 300m from it (which is substantial if it's raining heavily). The nearest underground station is located on the right on the ring, and marks the edge of the core of the city center.
The staff is very helpful. My flight has been postponed by a week and they have immediately moved my room reservation to match my new flight date. All requests are fulfilled immediately with a smile.
However, while the staff is very helpful, the service is not overly professional. When we first checked in into our room the garbage bin in the bathroom has been full with the garbage of the previous guest. On one of the days they forgot to bring us fresh small towels (they brought only big ones), so we had to ask for them specifically.
The restaurant of the hotel serves decent food, but charges disproportionately high for it.
All in all - we enjoyed our stay and it was a good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the back of the building and not the street - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Leonid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Leonid F.!
Thank your for having chosen the Das Triest Hotel for your recently visit at our amazing city.
Further we are very grateful that you have taken time to share your experiences with us in such a detailed way.
I am really sorry that we have not been able to fulfil your expectations a 100%, we have already forwarded your feedback to our housekeeping manager, who will take the appropriate action to avoid such things in the future and give all our future guests the feeling of an excellent service!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
And by the way, in case of heavy rainfall we have a lot of umbrellas free of charge available at the reception!
Best Regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Kaisermühlen
Melia Vienna
Melia Vienna
#59 of 359 in Vienna
2,076 reviews
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#152 of 359 in Vienna
892 reviews
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand
Grand Ferdinand
#108 of 359 in Vienna
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,434 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#69 of 359 in Vienna
3,069 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#58 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#85 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £95 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing