We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Ranked #2 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in a superior 4 bed dorm. The room was right in the roof so had a great view of the markets. The bathroom was really new and clean and Shower had good pressure. The room was spacious and felt really clean. We all had our own shelf and plug and light by our beds which is really handy staying in a dorm. The location is really great, right outside the markets and roughly a 3 minute walk to the metro station. We went on a walking tour into town and you can easily get there in 20 minutes on foot. The breakfast was good value for 3.90 and was one of the better and cheaper breakfasts weve come across. The bar is a bit to nightclubby so you dont really feel like you can have a social drink but you can take your drinks upstairs as an option.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_smith4597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    491
    97
    24
    25
See reviews for
50
238
441
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

the room is big and clean and location is good.The bathroom is modern and just like what you will find in a hotel.
Yet, the kitchen is quite dirty and someone stole my food which I put in the refrigerator . Someone was screaming and got drunk in late night downstairs which made us difficult to sleep. (this might not be the fault of the hostel).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami beach
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Wombats at the Naschmarkt is a new, centrally located hostel. That means that while the facilities are overall nice, it is packed with school groups partying until late in the Wom-bar below (noise!). And the breakfast, while nice, is served in a small, hot room that makes your start of the day somewhat stressful. Reception staff is hit or miss depending on whom you talk to. If you need to stay on a hostel-budget, it's decent, if not, you'd better off to look for a cheap pension/B&B or hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markusinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hostel is in a great location, two supermarkets next door for guest cooking and the Naschmarkt market on your doorstep! It is also only a 10-15 minute walk to the main sites in the 'Inner Stadt'. The rooms are huge with amazing showers, by far the best I have had in any hostel so far. The kitchen is great, lots of hobs and fridge space, but no worksurface space for preparing food. It also got very busy after about 7pm

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really enjoyed our time at this hostel. We had a room to ourselves and had plenty of privacy even though it was a bustling hostel. The room was typical of a hostel, basic but clean and with our own bathroom. It felt very secure with hallways having secure doors only accessible with your room card. Hostel is very close to city centre, only 15min walk or you can get the underground which is close-by also. You can make your own breakfast or get one provided for €3.90 which was quite a nice selection of buffet type foods. Bar is open in the evenings if you want some drinks and play some pool. Overall I'd really recommend this hostel for the price/location.

Room Tip: Travelling as a couple I'd recommend your own room. Ours was good size and we had the bit more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmcguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Wombats for 3 days and it was a nice experience. The hostel gives you very good directions to the hostel so it was very easy to find. We arrived before check-in and the staff was really nice and let us check-in early. We had a private 4-person room and it was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was also very big and nice. The bar area was nice and seemed to be pretty busy most nights. The drink prices down there are also really great so take advantage of that! The staff was great at check-in, but after that they were pretty unhelpful. When we asked for some suggestions of things to do, they did not seem to know anything about their own city. The location was pretty good, it was about half an hour to walk to most of the tourist attractions but it was super close to a metro station too so everything was accessible. One heads up, on sundays, nothing seemed to be open so we had to walk like half an hour to find any food for dinner. Also, there is a really great restaurant close by, Blaue Lagune, that everyone should go to! Overall, it was a pretty good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location, just one block from the subway, and walking distance from the Ring area. It's very easy to get there from Wien Meidling (train station). The hostel is really nice and really clean, the staff really helpul and the breakfast (like in all Wombats) it's amazing although you have to pay like 4 euros, which is really cheap because it's all you can eat. Among the 3 Wombats in Vienna, I guess Naschmarkt is the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#155 of 360 in Vienna
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 205 in Vienna
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing