We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay - all we wanted!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Ranked #2 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - all we wanted!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here because we had enjoyed our stay in the Wombat's Berlin so much. The hostel is clean, has security, comfy beds, a nice bar, wifi and a good location. I would highly recommend it. We also had the breakfast here which was really good! I would definitely recommend it for an easy, pleasant stay. It is also very close to the Secession, the Naschmarkt (hence the name) and two tube stations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wombats V, Manager at wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks very much for your feedback:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    461
    91
    21
    25
See reviews for
48
222
412
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised when arriving at the hostel as I've been travelling previous hostels have not been the best. This hostel is a stones throw from the train station, it was clean, fun and the staff were so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hostel to anyone and will probably be returning here in the future as well!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannnw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Apart from the prostitutes standing a little way outside the front door to this hostel it is very good. It's not even that basic (apart from the lack of AC). Our main problem was the temperature of the room - it got way to hot. They also have a bar in the basement of the hostel. It's not too far from the train station - about a 10 minute walk. It's about 15 minutes from the city center.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Good location but pretty hard to find on the first place. The lounge is a great place to hang out, the bar too even though it's not opened late.
The all-you-can-eat breakfast is big and really good, you have a lot of different stuff. It's worth the 3,90€.
The room was comfortable, the beds are ok.
The employees are good advise and there's a lot of pamphlets about different places in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Assia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The experience was not something I was expecting from a hostel.
I've spent much more money on hotel stays which didn't even come close to the level of comfort and security this establishment provides.

Rooms are clean and spacious, and when I say clean I don't mean clean for a hostel room.

The staff were super friendly and resourceful.

I'd definitely recommend Wombats to people looking for a hostel in Vienna.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sungjae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here in a private double room for one night last year. On arrival we were super early (more than three hours) and they let us check in anyway. They gave us a lot of advice on things to do and places to eat while we were in Vienna. The staff were super friendly and the hostel as a whole has a friendly and fun vibe unlike other hostels I've been too. Also the breakfast is really great, don't miss it!!! The only slight downside is that it's a bit pricey but for Vienna prices and what you get it's definitely worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ht531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Super friendly service with a range of amenities and tourist information available. Very clean rooms which were also very spacious. Good bar (although the themed nights are a bit lame for some people) and a large, well-stocked kitchen. Perfect location too, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 116emm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,300 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
751 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 196 in Vienna
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing