We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay in a perfect city!!!”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #27 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A perfect stay in a perfect city!!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Grand hotel wien is a place in Vienna where you can feel like an emperor... at a reasonable price. It is truly a 5 star hotel where everything is perfect and the multilingual staff is helpful and friendly. The location is strategic, just few steps from the Opera and the famous Sacher hotel. The shopping mall Kartner strasse and the Graben are within walking distance. The Underground is just 20 metres off the hotel. In the Grand Hotel Wien ambience and furniture will let you feel in a 19th century movie, but with all the comfort of the 21st!!! The free wifi connection in all rooms is another thing you will appreciate very much (many five star hotel charge the internet access, that's absurd!!!) Beds are very comfortable and huge!!! Rooms are very clean and if you are so lucky to be upgraded to an Exclusive room, you will find them very spacious. Ask for rooms with an external view; those viewing the internal courtyard are not so lightly. Breakfast is sumptous and absolutely to try. The fitness centre is ok, but there should be a SPA to end a perfect day out in Vienna.
A perfect stay for a perfect city.

Room Tip: Best views are on Kartner Ring
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pigrissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear 'pigrissimo', great review, thank you for commenting our location and our services, this is much appreciated. Yes you can feel like an 'Emperor' at the Grand Hotel Wien, looking forward welcoming you back in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    224
    55
    14
    20
See reviews for
175
542
59
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The location and ambience of the hotel cannot be impoved on. Five minutes walk from the opera, 10 min from the museums. The rooms are light, clean and quiet, the beds good but no more than that. Bathrooms modern but mine did not have a separate shower. Nevertheless, the rooms are indeed 5 star. That cannot be said of the fitness room and business center. The gym is a joke: a few old and creaky machines, dirty, small and stuffy. Unacceptable. Similar for the business center that is not worth its name: a few computers that do not accept/read a USB stick. The service is friendly but not very efficient (forgot turn-down servive for instance, did not pick up tray). All in all a good hotel at a good location, but it needs to be adapted to the 21st century (indeed the wifi was slow - free but slow).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear Äsylvain7', thank you for your review, we try to be perfect but this is nearly impossible as it is difficult to know the wishes and demands on every single guest upon arrival.....I am happy to read that you liked the hotel, the location, the quality and the services and I am looking forward welcoming you back soon, best regards from Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The rooms are spectacular with high ceilings. The japanase restaurant was great. However breakfast will set you back 31 Eur and parking 26 eur/day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globewarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear 'Globewarren', thanky for the review and the respective comments, as to the breakfast, if you compare this with prices in other key European cities EUR 31,00 is still reasonable.....as to the parking, the garage below the Grand Hotel Wien does not belong to the hotel and has its own pricing scheme, something we unfortunately cannot change. Nevertheless, I am looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This hotel met and then exceeded all my expectations of a five star hotel. The room, the staff, the service, the food - all brilliant. (OK, the heating was on the high side so I had to run the air-conditioning all night, but that hardly detracts from a wonderful experience.) The restaurant 'Le Ciel' is in the expensive side, but if you want to treat yourself to a meal for a special occasion you will not regret eating here, it was one of the best culinary experiences I have had, and that includes Michelin starred places. Vienna itself is a magical place, and staying here will only add an extra sprinkle of stardust.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear 'tommymb', great review, happy to read that we were able to exceed all your expectations, let us keep it with 'Einfach wunderbar', that is how many guests do see their stay with us, looking forward having you staying with us again in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Grand had the best breakfast of any of the hotels we visited on this trip. The rooms are like new with heated floors in the bathroom. My rate presented a fantastic value compared to other five stars in Vienna. Even room service is priced so that you don’t mind ordering--a rarity in hotels of this standard.

Austria was experiencing colder than normal temperatures. The rooms were far too hot for me. I am amused that so many European countries think they are green and then crank up the heat in the winter. This hotel was warmer than most. Thank goodness I could open the window and let in the freezing air.

The hotel is connected to a shopping mall if you enjoy that sort of thing.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear 'JPax', such a wonderful review, thank you very much! I am even more delighted on your comments on our breakfast, many guests do not see the value of what it offers......your other comments are much appreciated and hence I am looking forward welcoming you again in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We booked the Grand Hotel for a 5 day Christmas break. The hotel was exceptionally clean, warm and luxurious. It is situated within the central ring in Vienna and very convenient for the tram system to explore, but most of central Vienna is easily accessible from the hotel on foot. It is very well situated for the opera and the Spanish Riding School (tip - book both on the internet in advance). We ate in the Ciel restaurant in the hotel on Christmas Day and the meal and staff were superb. (tip - the first floor brasserie looks a bit basic and opens into an internal shopping mall behind). The concierge was very helpful (tip - if you want to eat traditional Viennese food ask for directions to a Beisl). Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear 'travelmak', such a great review, thank you so much. You describe the location and the hotel that well, I could not have done it better. Happy to read that you enjoyed Christmas at the Grand Hotel Wien and I am looking forward welcoming you again, either for Christmas or on another purpose, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
334 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We wanted to stay at a 5 star hotel in Vienna, but I did do some research to try to find a deal amongst this grouping. I was able to get an incredible deal through a somewhat arbitrary website, and I was worried that our room preference wouldn't be honored because we got it for so cheap. But it was, so we were delighted. Besides that, this hotel is beautiful. The lobby is stunning, clean, and has a distinctly Viennese feel, even though I'm not quite sure what that is, I just felt it when I was in there. The rooms were spacious - we were in one of the larger rooms, I think they were called Executive or something like that. Huge, well-furnished, comfortable. I can't say enough. I would definitely stay here again - but I must clarify that the room we were in would normally be too expensive for my taste. If you want to spend the money, this place is it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear 'sandiUKLondon', great review, happy to read that we were able to make your stay into an unforgettable one, that is our major aim.....looking forward welcoming you again, perhaps we can exceed your expectations, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#26 of 360 in Vienna
986 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 360 in Vienna
1,354 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 360 in Vienna
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
810 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most modern and luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing