We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #26 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Easily one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. The lobby and reception desk are beautiful, and started our experience with a complimentary glass of Opus wine! The room was excellent and luxurious, the bathroom ornate with marble throughout, even framing the doors. The room was without a doubt the quietest of any hotel I've stayed. Once you close your door, it is as though you are in a soundproof room. Never heard another peep from the outside world. Location is perfect, within walking distance of most of Vienna's best attractions and restaurants. Finally, the concierge service was the best I've ever experienced, friendly, informative, and never seeming to tire of making arrangements for our excursions around this absolutely breath-taking city. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyeguyTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear 'eyeguyTN', such a great review, nice to read that we are 'easily one the nicest hotels you ever stayed in', such comments are always very welcome and do support our daily strengths in overall performing. Thank you also for your comments on the hotel, the room, facilities, services and staff, much appreciated! Looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Everything is perfect in Grand Hotel Wien. When I arrived, informative and polite staff introduced my family to the room and she explained every detailed features. I felt comfortable in room. Interior is really oustanding. It follows classic style. Location is also perfect. And breakfast was great, especially Japanese cusine. I have already recommended my friends to stay at Grand Hotel Wien when they visit Vienna.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAbroadKang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear 'TravelAbroadKang', great review, thank you so much, good to read that everything was perfect at the Grand Hotel Wien. Thank you also for recommending us to your friends. Looking forward wlecoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed in the renovated Superior room for eight nights in fall 2011. Originally, we were looking for the TripAdvisor's higher-rated hotels, but in the end we chose this hotel because the hotel style looked attractive to us. It turned out to be the right decision. The hotel provided us everything we wanted - elegant room, convenient location, and great services.

Room:
The renovated Superior room on the 5th floor was absolutely beautiful. It had an elegant interior, comfortable bed, and huge bathroom. We were so please to stay there, however, I'll point out two things that may be problematic for some people - the view and the room size. We knew that the Superior rooms in general face the courtyard, but we didn't know about the office building across. We requested to see a Deluxe room with the street view but decided to keep the Superior room because of its beautiful interior. Another issue is that the size of the Superior room isn't that big. For example, there is no sufficient space to put two open suitcases on the racks (I put a piece of cloth on a writing table and put my suite case there).

Location:
Location can't be better. Very convenient for exploring Vienna. Also, we really like the clean and well-stocked grocery store, Bella, adjacent to the hotel's backdoor.

Service:
The stuff members at the front desk and the concierge were professional. I was a difficult customer asking many questions and requests, and they were extremely polite, helpful, and tolerant with me (thank you, Katherine and Stefano!)

I highly recommend this hotel and hope there will be another opportunity for us to stay there again.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank Takashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear 'Takashi', this is a great review for which I thank you very much! I am happy to read that we offered more than you expected and would like to express my thankfulnness for the detailed comments on the room, the location and our services and staff. Thank you! Looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien in the near future, I remain, wit best regards from Vienna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had the pleasure of staying in this lovely hotel. From the time you book with them, their concierge, in our case Marcus, could not be more helpful and informative, taking care of all the details that otherwise bog down a vacation.

Upon arrival, you are shown personally to your room by the people in reception who make certain your room is to your liking. After that, the service is seamless, always there but never intrusive. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very much set the mood for a classically beautiful city. Even the room service is superior with prompt, polite delivery, indeed the best we have ever experienced.

Finally, but significantly, this 5 star property behaves like a 5 star property and does not nickel and dime you with ridiculous charges for things like wireless Internet.

I would stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BRNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear 'BRNR', such a great review, thank you so much! I am so delighted to read that you would stay again with us and that we were able to make your stay to be a wonderful experience. Looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien, I remain, with best regards from Vienna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Grand Hotel Wien is honestly the best hotel I had the pleasure to stay in.

From the location, to the lobby, rooms and cafe and restaurant, everything was in great taste, luxurious.

The room I had, a suite, was huge, with elegant furniture and deluxe fittings in the bathroom.
The breakfast : AMAZING.

All the staff, from reception to concierge and doormen were of great help and very polite.

The location is unbeatable, next to the Opera, walking distance to St Stephansplatz, connected to a shopping center and a Billa store, you can even walk to Mariahilferstrasse, or take the subway to everywhere in the city as the station is maybe 100 m away.

In the last few years I had the opportunity to stay in high-end hotels around Europe and Asia, and I can honestly say that this hotel is number 1 on my list

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montana99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear 'Montana99', such a great review, thank you so much!! It is always good to read that the Grand Hotel Wien is the best hotel in town. I am also happy as to your comments to the hotel in general, the breakfast, location and the staff, great!! I do hope the Grand Hotel Wien will stay on your list as No. 1 for a very long time. Looking forward welcoming you again at our hotel, I remain, with best regards from Vienna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Excellent staff, they were very polite and always helps you. The room were big, confortable and very clean. The restaurant is wonderful (food and service). Teh hotel is near from everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear 'RitaF', thank you so much for your review, I am delighted to hear that you liked the hotel and its facilities and that the location did meet your expectations. Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future at the Grand Hotel Wien, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel during our last visit in Vienna (March 2011). I think it is one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed.
With the exception of the fact that my suitcase was transferred by mistake to another room, I can not find any other negative point in our stay.
The staff was polite and willing to serve. Indeed one of the employees was even speeking Greek!
The hotel is decorated in the old style, exudes luxury and comfort, both internally and externally.
The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated - like visiting a palace, as my wife stated; the bed is big with comfortable mattress and pillows. Of course there is free internet. Unfortunately there was no available room overlooking the road.
The breakfast included everything one could ask for and in very good quality.
Furthermore the hotel is in a fantastic location on the Ring Strasse, from where we had access to almost everywhere on foot.
The cost is reasonable for the services offered, but at the time of our visit, due to the annual radiology congress, all rooms (and hotels) were full, so the prices had risen a bit. We were asked for an additional payment of 180 Euros, in order to keep our room for a few extra hours, on the day of our departure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diggeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear 'Diggeo', thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is indeed a pleasure to read that besides the fact that your suitcase was transferred to another room there was no other negative point as to your stay. That is what we intend to achieve, besides the fact that we would like to have our guests 'feel at home' and also explore the beautiful city of Vienna. Thank you for describing your room and our service and facilities that well, it is also much appreciated. Looking forward welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Wien in the very near future, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,189 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 358 in Vienna
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 358 in Vienna
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £182 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing