We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a whole is up to the 5 stars, but there are a few issues with the overall management that shouldn't happen in GRAND hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The location is central, the hotel is perfectly up to the expectations, the spa is nice, but my rating is low because there are things that at this level and specially for a member of LHW association shouldn't happen.
Upon my arrival (about 13.00) my room was not ready, and it took them more than 1 and half hour to set it ready (they did offer me a free cocktail (at 14.00!). I was upgraded room 624, but that is normal for members of LHW if rooms are available, and certainly the hotel was not full. I received my vouchers for continental breakfast, which was good and plenty, but to access at the buffet they asked for 9/10 euro extra, (my package included continental breakfast for 2, but I was alone, so easily they could have recovered the cost). The interesting part (I stood 2 nights) was Internet: the first day while waiting without a room a was given access with a voucher, and I noticed the line was slow, next day I had to login again, and as LHW member I have free Internet, but logging in the offer was for either a free of charge (for all guests) very slow wifi or a faster option at almost 10 euro a day. I called reception for explanation to which choice I was entitled, and after more than one hour of wait without answer I decide to go out for dinner. I mentioned the question to a very efficient lady (unfortunately I forgott her name) and she told me she'd take care. I came back and a nice message explained that LHW members are entitled (as obvious) to the higher speed free option. (I have to clarify that LHW membership is not free of charge, that's why they receive certain agreed conditions).
Finally in the morning I present myself for the check out procedure and I am told that as extra I have the high speed Internet connection option (as resulting from the computer), luckily I had still the written message of the previous evening, so with the excuses was canceled, but when mentioned the lodging cost I tought that the price requested was at least 50 euro's higher than the agreed price (on the LHW booking confirmation) luckily again I had my copy of reservation. Of course again they excused themselves .
My conclusion is that either they have a bad communication system, or a chap management that tries to take small advantages from superficial clients. This is not GRAND at all!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Gilardoni,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Hotel Wien, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

I am so sorry for all the things that happened. At the time you were checking in we didn't have any other room to give to you. Regarding the internet we spoke to the hole reception team that for all Leaders Club member the business level is for free. I am so sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Grand Hotel Wien is an elegant hotel in the classic European style. The rooms are traditionally furnished. The decor is old-world elegance. Our room had a couch, coffee table, and two arm-chairs, as well as a desk and chair, in addition to an armoire which held the TV and mini-bar. The bathrooms are spacious and all marble, and most importantly, are immaculate, as one would expect from any hotel in Vienna. The amenities are top notch - Penhaligon's. The rooms are equipped with electric window roll-ups and the windows are traditional European double panes, so that although we had a beautiful view of the Ring, the room was quiet. The breakfast, while on the expensive side at 32 Euros per person per day, was wonderful and both the Grand Cafe Restaurant Manager, Wolfgang Fink, and the Assistant Restaurant Manager, Julius Savel, insure that the food and service are first-rate. Both Herr Fink and Herr Savel make every dining experience in the Grand Cafe perfectly enjoyable. The lively concierge, Walid Masouf, is always helpful and efficient. Last but certainly not least, the Guest Relations Manager, Vanessa Alvarez, is a gem!

The hotel is very conveniently located on the Karntnerring, just steps away from the Oper and the Karntnerstrasse. I would highly recommend the Grand Hotel Wien and would return again without reservation.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the elevator. The hotel is quite large so if you have difficulty walking you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CALICO90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear CALICO90,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Yes, the location of Grand is great, but that's all.... Like many others, we thought that Grand is the ultimate experience in Vienna, but we were so wrong! We froze during winter (the windows do not close properly), the hotel staff did not clean the room despite repeated calls to them and it took ages for the bell boys to bring the cars from the parking. And since there are already a lot of 5 stars in the neighbourhood, you might want to think twice before booking with Grand.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadaNea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

When we were planning our Europe vacation this year we planned to what we felt would be the best hotel during our vacation. We were not disappointed, to start with the checkin was super and easy, the room was excellent, well maintened, wifi perfect and all the towels free and lovely. We made a request to extend our time in the room as we had a long journey back home to Singapore and this requested was granted without any fuss , questions or hassles , ideal location for everything including the trains and trams. Very very highly recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy the comforts of a great hotel. We will be back and hopefully stay a lot longer. Great job , staff at the Grand Hotel Wein you all deserve a great pat on the back

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BRJP310852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear BRJP310852,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is located at an excellent location for all needs; leisure & business. The check in and out speed was satisfactory. The hotel provides free wifi internet to the guests, which increases the satisfaction.
The breakfast was not included to our fare and expensive according to our point of biew, as a matter of fact our group decided to have it outside.
The design of the entrance and also the rooms were attractive. The rooms were big enough for all needs and the amenities were adequate and also clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Laquila,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

There were 3 disappointing things not acceptable (from my point of view) for the hotel of such level:
1) there was unpleasant smell in the toilet;
2) water in the bath flowed out badly;
3) one of tea-saucers in our room was not washed and extremely dirty with the rest of tea of previous guests.
Also the hotel payed no attention on the birthday of my wife during the stay despite the room was booked on her name.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Igor U,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback.

We really want to apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay. I will forward your comments to our heads of departments and will make sure that we will take care about the issues. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Although the Grand's Old World airs and location near the heart of Vienna's historic core may make you think it's one of the city's lodging "grande dames", the hotel actually opened as an ANA property in the 1990s. The basic rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, if slightly frayed. High ceilings and large windows help give the rooms a spacious feel. Housekeeping was very good, and everything in the room was in working order.

Service was uniformly friendly and efficient. The concierge staff was especially helpful, with special thanks to Stefano for his help in arranging tickets for a musical performance.

We did not eat at the hotel, in part due to the relatively high prices in the restaurant. Drinks and service in the sidewalk cafe were fine, but unexceptional. The hotel has an excellent location a short walk from the Opera and many of the city's other tourist attractions. Compared with other Vienna hotels we saw in a similar price range and location, the Grand is a bit fusty and dated. If you're looking for solid, predictable comfort and professional service in a convenient location, however, then the Grand is a good bet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Shimoke,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 359 in Vienna
1,217 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 359 in Vienna
1,240 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#28 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £161 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing