We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, but would not return”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
stuttgart
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, but would not return”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Grand Wien hotel is beautiful hotel. Originally booked it because of the location, but we ended up taking a taxi to several locations such as the Palas Schonbrunn. The biggest disappointment was the spa because it rarely opened on time and was often locked during the day. I was advised by the front desk that I could have the door opened during the day by contacting them. Lets be honest, this is a five star hotel. I should not have to contact the front desk to obtain access to a service that should be open. Overall, yes it is a central location but rooms are a bit on the small side and overall value of the service is not up to other five star hotels. Nice place, but would not return. If I was saying in Vienna again, I would not worry about location because taxis are cheap. I would select a decent hotel and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 17richardf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    228
    55
    17
    20
See reviews for
185
554
59
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Grand Hotel Wien is a true luxury hotel and has all that comes with it.
Excellent and service-minded staff, rooms tidy and clean and the location is ideal a stone's throw from the Opera and Kärntnerstasse.
Only a few negative points:
Breakfast was NOT included in the already hefty rate and goes for 32 euros/pers. It was obviously impeccable, but one could ask for a bit more for that price.
The TV was quite small and didn't feature that many international (English language) channels.
If one has a problem with women in burqas, one should avoid this hotel which seems to primarily cater for numerous Saudi (or the like) families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear pcberlin1,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Grand Hotel Wien. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Hotel Wien, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights as a surprise to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary.
My husband had already upgraded us, but on arrival we were upgraded further and just after we were shown our room, champagne arrived courtesy of the hotel!
The room was beautiful, it featured a huge bed, sofas and very comfy chairs. WIFI was free and was perfectly adequate.
Our rate included breakfast, which again was really good. Champagne was always available, which we did indulge in on the morning of the anniversary. Hot food is cooked to order.
The restaurant Manager is very worthy of mention. He remembered our names each morning as well as our room number and always made sure we had a table by the window.
The location is excellent.
Would I stay again, yes. The hotel is gorgeous, used the spa every day, but what made it very special was the service.
We have stayed in the Savoy in London and I would honestly say that this compares very favourably.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear chunkyCheshire,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We only stayed one night in Grand Hotel Wien as it was a short trip to Vienna but as it was devoted to my Birthday, we made a choice for a more expensive luxurious Grand Hotel. We booked a standard room but due to the problems with the booking system our room had obviously not been booked by us - so we got an upgrade to a suite. It was great! They have really nice classic furniture that makes you think you are back in the old town. The lobby bar with a nice choice of cocktails was also very cosy on a chilly spring evening. We did not take breakfast at the hotel as it seemed pricey, so we just turned around the corner and found ourselves in a nice cafe where the locals come on Saturdays to have breakfast and coffee with friends. If you want to feel as a Viennese, go for this cafe. It also offers great breakfasts for little money.
The location of the hotel is just perfect for a walk in the city or shopping. It is very close to the Opera and shopping streets. The staff in the hotel are all very friendly. I speak English but for those Russians who don't it might be a good thing that they have Russian-speaking receptionists. If you want to have something exeptional, go for this hotel definitely.

Room Tip: Try to have breakfast in a nearby cafe (1 min from the hotel) - much cheaper and a really authentic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Antonina2013,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
946 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The location is central, the hotel is perfectly up to the expectations, the spa is nice, but my rating is low because there are things that at this level and specially for a member of LHW association shouldn't happen.
Upon my arrival (about 13.00) my room was not ready, and it took them more than 1 and half hour to set it ready (they did offer me a free cocktail (at 14.00!). I was upgraded room 624, but that is normal for members of LHW if rooms are available, and certainly the hotel was not full. I received my vouchers for continental breakfast, which was good and plenty, but to access at the buffet they asked for 9/10 euro extra, (my package included continental breakfast for 2, but I was alone, so easily they could have recovered the cost). The interesting part (I stood 2 nights) was Internet: the first day while waiting without a room a was given access with a voucher, and I noticed the line was slow, next day I had to login again, and as LHW member I have free Internet, but logging in the offer was for either a free of charge (for all guests) very slow wifi or a faster option at almost 10 euro a day. I called reception for explanation to which choice I was entitled, and after more than one hour of wait without answer I decide to go out for dinner. I mentioned the question to a very efficient lady (unfortunately I forgott her name) and she told me she'd take care. I came back and a nice message explained that LHW members are entitled (as obvious) to the higher speed free option. (I have to clarify that LHW membership is not free of charge, that's why they receive certain agreed conditions).
Finally in the morning I present myself for the check out procedure and I am told that as extra I have the high speed Internet connection option (as resulting from the computer), luckily I had still the written message of the previous evening, so with the excuses was canceled, but when mentioned the lodging cost I tought that the price requested was at least 50 euro's higher than the agreed price (on the LHW booking confirmation) luckily again I had my copy of reservation. Of course again they excused themselves .
My conclusion is that either they have a bad communication system, or a chap management that tries to take small advantages from superficial clients. This is not GRAND at all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Gilardoni,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Hotel Wien, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

I am so sorry for all the things that happened. At the time you were checking in we didn't have any other room to give to you. Regarding the internet we spoke to the hole reception team that for all Leaders Club member the business level is for free. I am so sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Park NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Grand Hotel Wien is an elegant hotel in the classic European style. The rooms are traditionally furnished. The decor is old-world elegance. Our room had a couch, coffee table, and two arm-chairs, as well as a desk and chair, in addition to an armoire which held the TV and mini-bar. The bathrooms are spacious and all marble, and most importantly, are immaculate, as one would expect from any hotel in Vienna. The amenities are top notch - Penhaligon's. The rooms are equipped with electric window roll-ups and the windows are traditional European double panes, so that although we had a beautiful view of the Ring, the room was quiet. The breakfast, while on the expensive side at 32 Euros per person per day, was wonderful and both the Grand Cafe Restaurant Manager, Wolfgang Fink, and the Assistant Restaurant Manager, Julius Savel, insure that the food and service are first-rate. Both Herr Fink and Herr Savel make every dining experience in the Grand Cafe perfectly enjoyable. The lively concierge, Walid Masouf, is always helpful and efficient. Last but certainly not least, the Guest Relations Manager, Vanessa Alvarez, is a gem!

The hotel is very conveniently located on the Karntnerring, just steps away from the Oper and the Karntnerstrasse. I would highly recommend the Grand Hotel Wien and would return again without reservation.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the elevator. The hotel is quite large so if you have difficulty walking you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALICO90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear CALICO90,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Yes, the location of Grand is great, but that's all.... Like many others, we thought that Grand is the ultimate experience in Vienna, but we were so wrong! We froze during winter (the windows do not close properly), the hotel staff did not clean the room despite repeated calls to them and it took ages for the bell boys to bring the cars from the parking. And since there are already a lot of 5 stars in the neighbourhood, you might want to think twice before booking with Grand.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadaNea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 361 in Vienna
1,141 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 361 in Vienna
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Karntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing