We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Grand" Vacation”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #27 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A "Grand" Vacation”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We're a family of 4 and we stayed at the Grand Hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the service was excellent. We upgraded to a larger room and had a nice view of the main street. Our room was a work of art, with attention paid to every detail from the high ceilings to the doors and door handles, the matching curtains, wallpaper and bedspreads, the artistry on the walls and ceilings, the marble tables and bathrooms, etc. The beds were a bit small for two people and, as someone mentioned previously, were a bit too soft and the pillows were also too soft and flat, making the sleep quality a bit less than the "very good" rated below. Unlike other hotels in Vienna, this hotel doesn't make you order an extra room for kids, a big plus and a big savings. The location is also outstanding -- close to the opera house, museum quarter, and within walking distance of many additional sights, as well as the amazingly clean and easy to use subway system. We were very pleased with this hotel, would be thrilled to stay there again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaVienna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear VivaVienna2014,
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.Please be ensured that we are taking your comments regarding the bed comfort very serious.We are confident that we have found the right measures to adress this issue.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Rooms Division Manager
mfuernkranz@jjwhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    224
    55
    14
    20
See reviews for
175
544
59
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location being very close to many tourist attractions, shopping and cafes.We booked through LHW and paid full price. The welcome was mixed. Guy on valet parking at the main door was excellent, a happy efficient welcome, it felt like a good start! Check in average, made worse by the fact we'd asked & paid for a city view and had been upgraded to a slightly larger room but were not given the choice of our booked and paid for room or a city view. The room we were given was quiet, a little dreary but had a very nice posy of flowers and expected welcome gift of the little famous cake, which is very nice. The bedding was very awkward, pillows way too soft to the point of being flat and our king bed has two separate single duvets which did not work well overnight, moving around too much and not keeping us covered properly. We had asked the man who checked us in to investigate the Unkai restaurant availability as we wanted to eat there in about 30 mins. When we popped back downstairs to reception to check if we could get a table he said yes it was ok, so we went up to the 7th floor restaurant only to be told they had no reservation for us and were fully booked. We politely persisted that we had just been told a table was reserved for us and a nice lady came out and gave us a table telling us an earlier booking had not showed up and was already 40mins late. The meal and service was very good except the most expensive steak on the menu, not sure what it was called, was pretty tough and not as good as USDA or Kobi beef standards. Breakfast turned out to be confusing. We had been given continental breakfast vouchers and these were shown at Grand Cafe when we entered. There was a huge buffet selection and I only had bread, butter, jam, small glass of orange juice and coffee, on both days we were there. On the second day we had to even ask for coffee, no one ever approached our table to check if all was ok, coffee top up or if we needed anything. So service not great. My husband had some meat & cheese on the second breakfast. On check out we were charged 10 Euros extra each for both days because they said we'd taken from the buffet.Further emails with them later resulted in a refund which was fair because no -one had explained the breakfast system properly at the time and I queried what was their idea of a continental breakfast if what I'd had was not indeed that very thing. We had drinks and late night snacks in the bar after the opera and that was very nicely done. We loved Vienna, had a great weekend, are used to staying in top hotels but don't think on this occasion we got a LHW experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spangle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Spangle1,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.We appreciate the time you took to share your impressions about the Grand Hotel Wien.
I am sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectaions in certain areas. Please allow me to express my apologies.
We continuosly strive to meet the needs of our customers. Therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we will do the utmost to solve the issues you mentioned.

It would be a pleasure if we could welcome you one day again at the gRand Hotel Wien in order to proof to you that we have learned by our mistakes.

I certainly remain at your disposal at anytime in case you do have any further questions.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Rooms Division Manager
mfuernkranz@jjwhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Of course it´s big, of course it´s a legend, of course it´s total luxury…it is everything you expect, but it has something more: excellent service and pleasant staff which is not usual in Vienna. Entering a reception you have a feeling like you jump 200years back to traditional aristocratic Vienna showing you the best. It´s not cheap, but it worth every penny you spend! It is the place where everything works as it should be: from check-in till check-out. Everything works with one unbelievable exception – wi-fi connection! I cannot really understand why, in this digital world, the hotel cannot provide their guest a free wi-fi which works properly – especially when this problem is repeatedly reported by many guests in their reviews, so the hotel management knows about it. Maybe they want to block you from internet to enjoy all the spectacular hotel interiors 

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jirrka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Jirrka,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My family stay at the Grand the from Dec 27th to Jan 3. The hotel greated us with their signature Gugelhupf cake and Champange. The concierge and staff were outstanding in every respect. Concerts, tours and events were arranged at the last minute. All staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms were very well appointed with large bathrooms and outstanding amenities. Room decor was plush. There are several resturants at the hotel,we ate at the cafe twice and found the food quite good. In addition to the quality of the hotel, the location is outstanding; just a short walk to the opera and most of old Vienna's great attractions. In a city with many outstanding hotels, we found the Grand an excellent value and location. We would certainly stay here again on a return visit.

Room Tip: We had three rooms and did not see much distinction in room quality--all were quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Jerome R,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights at GHW in October. The location, rooms, decor and service were all top-notch.... very 'grand'. It was our first visit to Vienna in several years and the location proved very convenient for us as we didn't know our way around. We were attending Aida at the opera house and it was a quick 5 minute walk. It is also only a few blocks from Stadtpark which is worth a visit especially during warmer months.

The only negative is my view is the hotel's 'bigness'. Some hotels like the Fairmont San Francisco, Plaza New York and others are very large but wear their size well. GHW is big but awkward in its bigness. The lobby and main floor area is odd and small for such a large building, the guest room hallways are huge and empty. The service desks are tucked away in a corner of the lobby. Our room was very comfortable, well-equipped, quiet with nice bedding.

We may return to GHW in future but would probably opt for a smaller, boutique hotel if available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EconomistGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear EconomistGuy,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe room. The hotel is fabulous. The staff was extremely friendly. The room was spacious with almost everything you need including a coffee machine. We had a very large and comfortable bed, a double sink bathroom with a separate toilet.
The deal was excellent (take three night and pay only for two). The location is perfect.
The only thing that needs some upgrade is the internet. One should think of a way to avoid the need to log in with user name and password each time you touch your cellular. All the rest is perfect

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oded880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear oded880,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We choose this hotel as a relatively last minute booking. Travelling with my sister we were most impressed by everything at this hotel. From the early check in, cleanliness of our room and whole hotel and the very charming and helpful staff - our stay was near perfect. The hotel is situated in a beautiful building and at the time of our arrival it was snowing gently giving a very pleasant vista indeed. We spent some time in the lobby bar listening to live piano music and working our way through the cocktail menu before taking our evening meals in the Hotel Grand Cafe or the Le Ciel restaurant. The latter had some delicious dishes and a visit to check out the cutlery sculptures on the table would be a treat. I am very sure that I shall return to this lovely city and terrific hotel in the near future and totally recommend that others do the same. Just a tiny warning - watch out for weight gain - after all it is a city known for it's pastries!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor which at that time was quiet with a view of the central glass roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnoldSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Arnold Surrey,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#26 of 360 in Vienna
988 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 360 in Vienna
1,362 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 360 in Vienna
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
818 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most modern and luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing