We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location, suites and service”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #27 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed already the fourth time in this hotel. The suites are remarkable. Clean, big, nice furniture and view. The value for money is very faire. Service and the bars and reception outstanding. Concierge team very well trained and one of the best I know in Europe. We will come back for sure. Only the bellboys need to improve. We got a call to remove our car immediately ( 5 minutes after arrival) - 2 local cars could park at the same place for 4 hours. Maybe our tip was too small.

Room Tip: The suites are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lackahderfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Herr Lackahderfla,

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihr Feeback welches Sie auf dieser Seite erstellt haben. Es freut uns ausserordentlich, dass Sie sich hier bei uns im Grand Hotel Wien wohl gefühlt haben.
Ich leite Ihren Kommentar über unsere Concierges sehr gerne an diese weiter.
Ich bin davon überzeugt , dass es den Kollegen noch mehr ein Ansporn sein wird, einen guten Service zu bieten.

Mit bedauern musste ich jedoch lesen, dass wir im Bezug auf unsere Kollegen vor der Tür Nachholbedarf haben. Ich versicher Ihnen , dass es zu keiner Zeit unsere Absicht war Sie zu verärgern. Ich werde mich persönlich um diese Angelegenheit kümmern.

Es würde mich ausserordentlich freuen, wenn wir Sie in der Zukunft wieder einmal bei uns begrüssen dürften, damit wir Sie davon überzeugen können , dass wir aus unseren Fehlern gelernt haben.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen aus dem Grand Hotel Wien ,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Grand Hotel is one of few that really deserves the 5 stars. From welcome to good bye the service is outstanding. Rooms are tastefully decorated, beds are extremely comfortable, a Nespresso machine is available in the room. Huge bathroom and extra toilet. High quality toiletries. Breakfast great with really nice coffee, eggs to order, fresh juice and other delicacies. Location is fantastic with opera next door, city centre and Naschmarkt round the corner. In front of hotel you can rent bikes if you don't want to walk everywhere. Would come back any time!

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmengerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Carmengerman,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team, but especially our Food and Beverage Team at our Restaurant Grand Cafe on the first floor. who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent location near the tube station, State Opera House and the city centre. Beautiful room. Concierge was extremely helpful. We got an excellent deal through an on-line booking company and think we paid a fraction of the room fee so it's worth shopping around. We didn't eat in the hotel as it is expensive but found a lovely Jazz cafe down the street. The State Opera House does a reasonably priced breakfast. Hotel is spotlessly clean and we found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Would love to go again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jane H. ,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What can you say about this wonderful, charming, elegant hotel that hasn’t already been said? From check-in to check-out the experience is first class. Of course you pay for this however; at no time did we feel we were not getting value for money.
Despite being a high-end hotel the Wi-Fi was free, in the room and at adequate speeds. The breakfast was excellent as was the atmosphere for pre-show drinks in the street level bar, the live piano playing really rounded out the experience.
We have been to Vienna a number of times and have always stayed in a different hotel, that stops now.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from the service room, the noise of staff accessing this room was a little a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJA_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear LJA_55,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.Therefore your feedback is very important to us.
I am glad that you liked our facilities. I ensure you that we are taking your comment on our WIFI service very serious. I am confident that we found a good solution for the future in order to improve that service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staying for the first time in this luxurious hotel , a beautiful old hotel whick kept its high standards.
Rooms are very spacious, big marbled bathrooms , very clean. What I liked most are the corridors, which are without smell, clean, and nice.
The breakfast is amazing, from arabic to japanese and continental breakfast, a big variety of
viennoiserie.The hotel is connected to a small mall.The location of the hotel is excellent for shopping and sight seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Samia G. ,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After we stayed in Vienna in the summer of 2012 an drank a glass of wina at the terrace of the Grand Hotel I booked a stay at this hotel in november 2013 as a treat for my wife. The service was excellent,the room was very nice with a great bathroom. Breakfast was real good and we really enjoyed our diner at Le Ciel,a great restaurant in the hotel. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiBi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mr. Willem,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.Therfore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I booked this hotel as a package with Expedia fare/hotel! I cannot say how impressed I was with the hotel. The service, the concierge especially was superb and made our stay even better when he was able to get us tickets for the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra who were playing during our stay. The room was fabulous, spacious and luxurious!
The food we ate in the hotel was superb and all in all we just had the most fabulous time.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ctbm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear ctbm4,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team but especially to our Concierge team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 358 in Vienna
1,205 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 358 in Vienna
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,554 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,230 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#28 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £191 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing