We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!!”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #29 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was our first visit to Vienna and we had a spectacular time. The Grand Hotel made the stay there absolutely wonderful and we want to go back again. The spa is incredible, the room was gorgeous and comfortable and the concierge services were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Patrica H,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a wonderful stay. We had a 3 night stay here for our 21st wedding anniversary. the room was really nice, beds amazing! Best nights sleep. Breakfast was typical in European hotel we actually only had breakfast here once. The other two days we went out. We were booked into the hotel restaurant but had to cancel as met friends, however if we get back here we will defiantly try as looked amazing and reviews were very good.
Staff really friendly and helpful, loved it here definitely book again if we return to Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ursietucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Ursietucker,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien and your comment which you posted on the Tripadvisor website.

We are very happy to read that you did enjoy your stay with us here in Vienna. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again one day in case you plan a future journey to Vienna,

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We (myself and partner) stayed at the Grand Hotel Wien at the end of May/early June 2014. The reviews state that last refurbished in 1990s, however, everything was very well maintained and clean. Despite facing the main "Ring" the room was very quiet. We had a very confortable queen bed, which felt much larger, and the room was very large and well-thought out in layout, etc.

They are refurbishing at present, and so some of the public areas seem a bit dated, however well-kept and attentive staff. The only complaint I would have is that at the very expensive breakfast they were a bit stingy, I asked for cheese and mushroom omelette and my partner asked for bacon and sausage but we only got one ingredient with no explanation. On the other days we went elsewhere, and given the location there was plenty of alternatives to choose from.

The hotel location is superb, we could walk almost anywhere within 15 mins.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBermondsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear LauraBermondsay,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien and the time time you took to share your impressions and concerns .

We are very sorry that we could not full fill your expectations during the breakfast times. Please be ensured that we will spare no efforts to avoid situations like these in the future.

Keeping a hotel well maintained is always an ongoing process. We are indeed currently undergoing some soft refurbishments in several rooms.
As well we are continously working on our interior and as well on our software inside the hotel. The last major project which we were undergoing was our new SPA on our 6th floor which we are very proud of.

I hope that you will give us the chance in the future to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel to convince you then about our well-known hospitality and our high quality standards.

With kindest regards,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is brilliant less than 5 minutes from the Operahouse & 10 minutes from the Spanish riding school. The staff were without exception top class. The breakfast in the grand cafe was very good as was dinner in Le Ciel.

Our only complaint was that the room wasn't quite 5 star, we were unfortunate I think in that we were situated next to the elevators which intruded into our room space making it an awkward shape. Also the carpet needed a sprain clean or replacing. The rest of the room was very good and the bathroom was truly 5 star.

We will return to Vienna and will stay here again as long as it's in an other room

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Taffvalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Taffvalais,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.Therefore your feedback is very important to us regarding the quality of our rooms.I do apologize that your room which we allocated for you had not been to your satisfaction.We will spare no efforts to avoid any stains on our carpets inside our guest rooms in the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights. It was short but amazing holiday. Hotel is really fascinating. You are feeling in the middle of the classic movie. Service is over standarts. They tried their best for help us. Room is quite big and has a beautiful bathroom. Location is great. Very close to city center and all historical areas. We have really good memories.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didakocaomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mr. Didakocaomer,

On behalf of the entire staff we sincerly thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

We are lokking forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed already the fourth time in this hotel. The suites are remarkable. Clean, big, nice furniture and view. The value for money is very faire. Service and the bars and reception outstanding. Concierge team very well trained and one of the best I know in Europe. We will come back for sure. Only the bellboys need to improve. We got a call to remove our car immediately ( 5 minutes after arrival) - 2 local cars could park at the same place for 4 hours. Maybe our tip was too small.

Room Tip: The suites are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lackahderfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Herr Lackahderfla,

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihr Feeback welches Sie auf dieser Seite erstellt haben. Es freut uns ausserordentlich, dass Sie sich hier bei uns im Grand Hotel Wien wohl gefühlt haben.
Ich leite Ihren Kommentar über unsere Concierges sehr gerne an diese weiter.
Ich bin davon überzeugt , dass es den Kollegen noch mehr ein Ansporn sein wird, einen guten Service zu bieten.

Mit bedauern musste ich jedoch lesen, dass wir im Bezug auf unsere Kollegen vor der Tür Nachholbedarf haben. Ich versicher Ihnen , dass es zu keiner Zeit unsere Absicht war Sie zu verärgern. Ich werde mich persönlich um diese Angelegenheit kümmern.

Es würde mich ausserordentlich freuen, wenn wir Sie in der Zukunft wieder einmal bei uns begrüssen dürften, damit wir Sie davon überzeugen können , dass wir aus unseren Fehlern gelernt haben.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen aus dem Grand Hotel Wien ,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Grand Hotel is one of few that really deserves the 5 stars. From welcome to good bye the service is outstanding. Rooms are tastefully decorated, beds are extremely comfortable, a Nespresso machine is available in the room. Huge bathroom and extra toilet. High quality toiletries. Breakfast great with really nice coffee, eggs to order, fresh juice and other delicacies. Location is fantastic with opera next door, city centre and Naschmarkt round the corner. In front of hotel you can rent bikes if you don't want to walk everywhere. Would come back any time!

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmengerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Carmengerman,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our whole team, but especially our Food and Beverage Team at our Restaurant Grand Cafe on the first floor. who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 359 in Vienna
1,225 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#28 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £151 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing