We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #27 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

During our stay in Vienna we slept in the Grand. Hotel in a perfect location.center. 2 min on foot to the heart of Vienna. The old atmosphere of the hotel gives you a real sense of Vienna. The work many of our people who are willing to help. Everyone who visits bec recommended to visit this hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Ivan D.,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beware of the reviews that you will find on-line for Grand Hotel Wien as it is definitely NOT a 5 star hotel. The rooms are quite small (we booked deluxe) and the service was marginal.

The power kept going out over the 3 days we were there and staff were not even monitoring the elevators. No apology or compensation was given for the lack of lights, air conditioning or internet.

We found the food quite expensive and the only water available in your room was located in the mini bar.

At this price point there are many better choices when staying in Vienna

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Colleen A.,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Wien.I sincerely regret that you couldn't´t enjoy your stay with us at the Grand Hotel due to several power failure incidents.

Unfortunately we had to experience a large powerfailure due to unforseen circumstances here at the Grand Hotel Wien and the connected mall as well as in parts of the first district of Vienna.
We are sorry that it indeed took some time to get the power re-established. This major failure led into issues with our rooms control. All systems had to be resetted carefully which took some time. Therfore we could not deliver a proper Airconditioning at these times.

I believe that our staff did the utmost to minimize the inconveniences to our guests. It is true that at a certain point the elevators where blocked out, but with the help of our technicians we got those back running as fast as possible.

Thank you very much for your kind and constructive criticism regarding our Pricing in the restaurant outlets. We certainly will take the opportunity to check our recent variety.

I sincerely regret your dissatisfaction with the allocated room you had been staying in.We believe that all our rooms exactly match the actual size which is are well presented on our website.

Dear Collen A. please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to experience during your recent stay. Nevertheless I still hope that you will give us the chance in the future to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel to convince you then about our well-known hospitality and our high quality standards.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for three nights in 2014. Negative: Old 90's decor, AC didn't work on the first night, power went out several times in the entire hotel on the second day, wifi was terrible and unstable (1mb was free, for faster wifi you had to pay 10 euros pr night). The breakfast was extremely mediocre, and we had to wait FOREVER for simple stuff like scrambled eggs (we had to wait between 15 and 30 minutes each morning!). Eggs and bacon was something we actually had to order, they didn't serve it in the buffet ... and breakfast cost around 36 euros. I would NEVER pay that much if I could choose! Positive: location is great, service is great, spacious room and bathroom, comfy bed, nice lobby bar/cafe with outside seating, nice fitness room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idapidaoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Idapidoslo,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.

I sincerely regret that you couldn't enjoy your stay with us at the Grand Hotel due to an power failure which we unfortunately had to experience due to unforseen circumstances.

There had been a larger issue at an Electrical power plant outside of Vienna. We experienced power issues not only here at the Grand Hotel but as well in parts of the first district of Vienna. The mall which is connected with the Grand Hotel Wien experienced the same problems.

This major issue led in the result of some delays in our operations. Therefore we are indeed very sorry that you had to wait longer than expected for your orders during breakfast.

Dear Idapidaoslo, we do hope that you can accept our apology and that you will give us the chance in the future to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel to convince you then about our well-known hospitality and our high quality standards.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel rooms were large , clean and beautiful. Hotel itself is just magnificent and on par with the fanciest hotels in the world. Staff was just marvelous and always looking for ways to be helpful. Climate control in rooms was excellent. Bed was great. Location was the best . Went to the Vienna Philharmonic Mozart concert just across the street of hotel. I could not think of anything negative to say about this luxury hotel. We were so glad to have picked it. Look forward to staying there again and recommend it without any hesitation even to the most discerning of people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHARON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Aharon G,

haben Sie recht herzlichen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns im Grand Hotel Wien.
Wir freuen uns ausserordentlich über Ihre positiven Zeilen.

Bitte seien Sie versichert, dass wir auch in Zukunft sehr darum bemüht sind , unseren Gästen den bestmöglichsten Service zu bieten.

Wir hofffen ,dass wir Sie bald wieder im Grand Hotel Wien begrüssen dürfen und verbeliben mit freundlichen Grüssen,

Hochachtungsvoll,


Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was our first visit to Vienna and we had a spectacular time. The Grand Hotel made the stay there absolutely wonderful and we want to go back again. The spa is incredible, the room was gorgeous and comfortable and the concierge services were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Patrica H,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a wonderful stay. We had a 3 night stay here for our 21st wedding anniversary. the room was really nice, beds amazing! Best nights sleep. Breakfast was typical in European hotel we actually only had breakfast here once. The other two days we went out. We were booked into the hotel restaurant but had to cancel as met friends, however if we get back here we will defiantly try as looked amazing and reviews were very good.
Staff really friendly and helpful, loved it here definitely book again if we return to Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ursietucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Ursietucker,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien and your comment which you posted on the Tripadvisor website.

We are very happy to read that you did enjoy your stay with us here in Vienna. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again one day in case you plan a future journey to Vienna,

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We (myself and partner) stayed at the Grand Hotel Wien at the end of May/early June 2014. The reviews state that last refurbished in 1990s, however, everything was very well maintained and clean. Despite facing the main "Ring" the room was very quiet. We had a very confortable queen bed, which felt much larger, and the room was very large and well-thought out in layout, etc.

They are refurbishing at present, and so some of the public areas seem a bit dated, however well-kept and attentive staff. The only complaint I would have is that at the very expensive breakfast they were a bit stingy, I asked for cheese and mushroom omelette and my partner asked for bacon and sausage but we only got one ingredient with no explanation. On the other days we went elsewhere, and given the location there was plenty of alternatives to choose from.

The hotel location is superb, we could walk almost anywhere within 15 mins.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBermondsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear LauraBermondsay,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien and the time time you took to share your impressions and concerns .

We are very sorry that we could not full fill your expectations during the breakfast times. Please be ensured that we will spare no efforts to avoid situations like these in the future.

Keeping a hotel well maintained is always an ongoing process. We are indeed currently undergoing some soft refurbishments in several rooms.
As well we are continously working on our interior and as well on our software inside the hotel. The last major project which we were undergoing was our new SPA on our 6th floor which we are very proud of.

I hope that you will give us the chance in the future to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel to convince you then about our well-known hospitality and our high quality standards.

With kindest regards,

Yours respectfully,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 359 in Vienna
1,176 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
938 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Address: Karntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £191 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing