We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service level and very bad answers”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #26 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service level and very bad answers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went to the terrasse restaurant for a short diner before going to the Musikverein which is 2 minutes walk away. The weather was not really sure and we asked to have a table inside. After several minutes waiting, we asked for the menu and where told that for hot dishes we had to go out...
We went out, took the menu and choose one burger, one chese burger and a veal liver. We where served the burgers as requested and a wienershnitzel! I informed the server who asked if I wanted to send it back. I told him that my time is tight and don't have enought time to wait more. The wienershnitzel was good (but 4 euro more expensive than the dish I ordered), but the burgers where a disaster. Instead of meat they put a mix of vegetables meat (boil?) and spices. What to say about this unles it is all excepted a burger!
Then comes the bill. When you don't have what you order, you at least expect to pay what you ordered (unless it's less expensive!). It was not the case even after insisting. It like forced sales.
I have been in a lot of restaurant over the world, from basic level to upper class, but never seen such a bad service.
I do not recommend anyone who's expecting service to spend their money here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Patrick V.,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At the Grand Hotel Wien, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations.Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you had to experience at our Cafe Rosengarten.We are confident that the actions which we already have set will help us to prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    218
    51
    14
    19
See reviews for
171
519
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great friendly hotel. It is in the center of Vienna, right next to the State Opera House. Everything you need and you can do in Vienna is in walking distance. Super clean rooms, loved the Gerber flower in the bathroom, very charming detail. Simply, it is a hotel where everything is on the right place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An4i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear An4i,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

In the end a hotel has to be ultimately judged by the quality of the customer service and the Grand excelled in this and nothing was too much trouble. Having a large number of children we had 4 rooms and one or two rooms could have done with a little refurbishment. And the bar was closed during this period. But there were the only minor points. The room service was not only excellent but very well priced for a 5 star hotel. The Japanese restaurant was justified to our minds in claiming it was the best of its type in Vienna. And contrary to some comments, we liked the fact that the hotel adjoined a mall which had some nice boutiques and a very nice food store. Will definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear John T. ,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

I am sorry that you got the impression that your rooms you have stayed in where not on the same level.
Therefore i would like to point out that we are indeed undergoing some soft refurbishment in certain room categories. Most of these work is being done with our own technical departement. It is indeed an ongoing process during the year in order to keep everything well maintained.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I had the opportunity of sharing one night in 2011 at this magnificent hotel. I have no words to describe the luxury room and bathroom also. Breakfast just excellent and we also bought of the special cake of the Original Wiener Guglhupf. It is more than a 5 stars hotel for sure and yes very expensive for luxury tastes. Very close to the center and the opera. All in all extraordinary don’t miss if you have the chance to stay here you will be charmed!

Room Tip: Front room looking at the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Angela G.,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Grand Hotel for 3 nights. It has been a wonderful experience. Great services, amazing rooms and friendly staff. The hotel is right next to the Opera and all the amazing shopping is right there :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Julia F.,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Wien in early June this year (2014) and can't wait to return to this very central lovely hotel.
We were in a front facing large room, beautifully furnished with very comfortable lounges and the beds were to die for.

Being right in the centre of town we could walk to the opera house (which we did and saw a wonderful production of "Cinderella" - from the front row! pre booked) and many of the palaces, and grounds.

The staff were pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.

We didn't eat in any of the restaurants, had a couple of late night cocktails and nibbles in one of the lounges, the menu for this was not large - we only ate the once, drinks were standard.

We found the breakfasts far too expensive and walked a few yards to a pleasant our/indoor cafe.

The hotel was not cheap, higher end to middle range I would think but well worth every doller.

Room Tip: Front over looking the wide main street - watch the horse carriages go bye
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Moire B,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is well located and nicely decorated.
Our room was pleasant, though only a standard width double bed - which feels rather narrow for top end hotels these days. The wifi was slow and had intermittent interruptions, the safe would be too small for a standard size laptop, and the aircon struggled to keep the temperature comfortable. We were provided only two sachets of coffee whitener each day - could hope for a few more considering the price of the room - and the coffee machine made it a long job to make anything other than Espresso.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HardshipPosting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel W, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear HardshipPosting,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At the Grand Hotel Wien, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations.Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues regarding the coffee machine we provide in each room.

The in room safe have all the same size in certain room categories. I do apologize if you found the safe not being spacious enough inside the safe in your room. As an alternative we do offer a large number of safes at the Front Deskl which are certainly larger than the ones inside the room.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#28 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most modern and luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing