We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth the money”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #7 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Expensive but worth the money”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here as a special treat. The hotel lives up to its reputation as one of the top hotels in Vienna. Location wise it couldn't be better right behind the opera house handy for many shops and sights without the need for further transport.

It has retained an old world grandeur in many respects but is also kitted out with the necessities of modern life. The rooms are beautifully furnished and all the little extras you would expect are provided. Although there was refurbishment work ongoing on the hotel when we stayed there for which the management apologised, we were not disturbed by any noise in our room or in the public areas of the hotel. Our deal included breakfast served in the marble dining room with a buffet that promised everything you could wish for and a counter where eggs and other cooked food was made to order in the manner you requested.

The staff were friendly and efficient and, although I suspect we did not fall into the category of their usual guests, they never betrayed this. The gentlemen on the door and at the concierge desk were particularly friendly and helpful.

The hotel has many parts to it including a famous cafe (where the famous Sachertorte is served), a bar cafe, a Bar, and a restaurant. It also has leisure facilities which we didn't use.

On checkout we were presented with minature Sachertortes and urged to return. This hotel would not usually fall within our budget but we both felt that it was worth the extra for such as lovely experience.

The hotel is also one of the key locations used in the film "The Third Man" and has a gallery of photos of the famous people who have stayed there over the years.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, General Manager at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Reiner Heilmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    178
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
280
813
96
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
guam
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

What a sumptuous hotel! From its lobby all the way into your room, it's all about elegance in the Victorian style. The marble bathroom's heated floor and large soaking tub were a welcome blessing after a day spent traipsing on foot around Vienna, and the daily fruit tray and Sacher torte petit fours were just delicious! Plus, the hotel's location is unbeatable---close to the U-bahn, the trams, the Opera House and all the attractions in Vienna's old town. Of course, this luxury comes at a steep price, but don't we all deserve to pamper ourselves once in a while? Definitely a hotel that should be on everyone's bucket list!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank occdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madianh, Saudi Arabai
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I stayed twice at this hotel which was recommended by my family; the location is strategic, as everything is near by and the metro station is a few walking distance. The food is excellent, the service is premium, the toiletters are fine quality, the style is very classic but elegant and fancy, and the cafe attached to the hotel is worth visiting. I loved it and recommend it to visitors of vienna.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koko_waki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This hotel is clearly a 5 star, world class hotel. Yet, I did not particularly enjoy my stay. Somehow it felt suffocating - too many curtains, too imperial, too much. And not enough daylight. The breakfast menu was excellent though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schroedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is one of the best hotel we are ever been, we were upgraded to a junior suite, may be for it´s going under some remodelling, that indeed didn´t were at all annoying, never heard nothing, even so we spend some time at the hotel for heath problems.Love the wonderful setting for the breakfast, a lovely place all in white and gold that takes you to the golden past ages.The room was so comfortable, the amennities left every day, even if you didn#t use them.May be the TV is a little small, but who goes to Vienne to look TV?Love everithing, I highly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A warm welcome with a broad smile, smooth check in, "every penny worth" large room with a nice city view, ever positive attitude of the staff...I love this hotel...

Room Tip: Experience in room breakfast with style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat-Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Whenever something mattered they got it wrong, and acted like they could not have cared less. The rooms were super-small and we even got upgraded to a suite. The concierge and valet staff were indifferent.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Santa_Fe_Jeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Jeffrey,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, especially the personal service and attention is of utmost importance for us; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem areas you identified and to prevent any future occurrences. Our construction will be finished by November 2011 and we hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Sacher to convince you of our excellent service!
Best regards,
Reiner Heilmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,415 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
847 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,129 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Property: Hotel Sacher Wien
Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing