We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #5 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I do not have one single BUT. From the minute we arrived we found every thing higher than our expectation. The room is typical city five star hotels in size but fantastic. The bath room is very luxurious with under floor heating. The hotel is very quite and you could sleep to midday if you want. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room with it is marble walls is something else. To the contrary to what one of the reviews mentioned, I found breakfast is excellent with a lot of varieties and more importantly top quality. We very much enjoyed our five nights stay in this hotel. It's central position is a Hugh advantage. Avoid a restaurant called opera not far from the hotel, service is very bad and quality is not that good. I would definitely go back to sacher hotel.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Bluebird199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Nothing but praise. Room was really good with great facilities. Good night's sleep which is critical for me. Gym well equipped. One of the best breakfast buffets we've had. Very nice staff especially the concierges who gave us some great recommendations. Sad but must add loved the mini sacher torte on arrival. We sent some to our kids in the UK and they arrived in two days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick71959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Hotel Sacher Wien is a remarkably theatrical experience to say the least. This seems appropriate given that it is located just across the street from the Vienna State Opera house. We just spent five nights at the Sacher and found it to be a superb 19th century experience. The Sacher is really a rather intimate hotel with heavy décor befitting of the age it represents. The service was impeccable. Our room, 326, was very quiet, beautifully appointed and very well cared for by the housekeeping staff. Our room overlooked a street (Mayserdergasse) in back of the hotel which turned out to be just fine – no street noise in the evenings or at night. The theatrical nature of the Sacher was well represented in the costuming of the staff – the doorman, the bellmen, the maids, and certainly the concierge. Dealing with the concierge was a delightful experience. He was excellent with advice he delivered in a marvelous, teutonic fashion. I didn’t know whether to say good morning to the concierge or stand at attention and give him a crisp salute! Great fun. The theatricality of the hotel extended outside to the immediate parking area always filled with Mercedes and Audis and even one day a gorgeous Rolls Royce. I would say the Sacher represents the Vienna experience which is why we selected it in the first place. It certainly fulfilled our expectations in every regard. I did a “The Third Man” tour while in Vienna and the Sacher has a direct connection to the story and the film so that made it special as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Together with my girlfriend we stayed there for a weekend and it was ideally located in the city center. Rooms are big and very well equipped. Breakfast is almost too good to be true and a great bar is also open till late at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthieu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Top class hotel right in the center of Vienna. While you are there you just have to have coffee and Sacher Torte, the most wonderful chocolate cake invented there and sold in every bakery in Vienna. Buy one in a little wooden box as well to take home. Expensive but so worth it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janieChania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed in a superior room (which is the hotel's standard room). The view was amazing, looking right at the side of the Opera House. Room was well-equipped with modern facilities. Bathroom was with under floor heating. Room was not big but beautiful, so somehow justify the 400 euro we paid per night. Staff was very friendly, but if you dress like the other tourists, sometimes the doorman stops you from getting in the hotel, which is a bit annoying. (You have to show them the keys.) The only thing i would fault is the breakfast. I didn't think it was grand or scrumptious. Compared to other five star hotels in Vienna i've stayed in, Sacher surprised me with very few options in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here and celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. Wonderful Hotel and an icon in Vienna. Restaurant has wonderful food, you must try the Weinberg Schnitzel, and of course the Sacher Torta, famous in Vienna. The hotel is very well located in the centre of everything. Don't miss a visit to the Spanish Riding School and have coffee and cake at "Demel's" it's a landmark in Vienna. Take the hop on hop off bus and go to "Schoenberg Palace" a must is the Opera too. We went by train after a week in Vienna to Salzburg another lovely place especially the old town and a visit Mozarts house and of course visit Mondsee where the Cathedral is that was featured in "Sound of Music. There are some fantastic restaurants in Mondsee.
A must is at stay in Breganz on the beautiful Lake Konstanz, a truly beautiful part of the world not to be missed. The boat from Breganz will take you to all the various ports along the lake which borders Austria, Germany and Switzerland. You will need at least a week in this area to see all there is. In the town of Konstanz in Switzerland stay at the Hotel Mercure Halm, beautiful, gracious hotel right in front of the station. The best breakfast anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
936 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#6 of 359 in Vienna
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 359 in Vienna
1,204 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 359 in Vienna
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £337 - £698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing