We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Hotel Sacher”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

One may question paying around euros 550 per night for a hotel B&B tariff. If one can reasonably afford it please allow me to inform you that the Hotel Sacher in Vienna is worth every single shekel. Wonderful value for money. Have we stayed in more opulent rooms elsewhere? Yes. Have we slept better anywhere else. Oh no. Have we had even better service elsewhere? Yes, but only just. Have we had a better location in an inner city hotel? Definitely not.
Where to start? Very efficient limousine service to/from the airport. Wonderful welcome on arrival. Brilliant location with a ten minute stroll to the Hofburg Palace, Spanish Riding School and the pedestrian shopping centre around the corner. Did I mention the Opera House is literally across the road?
The room (double luxe) was just great. Original Sacher Torte (to die for chocolate cake) and fresh fruit constantly restocked during our five night stay. Brilliant bed. All furnishings immaculate. Wierd lip on the bath but the bathroom was lovely. We slept like stones.
We frequented all of the restaurants, bars and cafes in the hotel complex. All brilliant. As a resident one of the concierge team will walk you to the Sacher Cafe so you miss the queues. they even have a smokers cafe next to the main cafe.
All of the main hotel reception rooms downstairs are quite small, and cosy and intinmate and beautifully adorned and furnished.
The Sacher Hotel food? Superb, from the all you could possibly desire breakfast, inclusive of as much champagne as you wish to consume, through to the local dishes in the cafes and restaurants served throughout the day and into the evening. 24/7 Room service of course.
But it's not the location or the rooms or the facilities that make the Hotel Sacher exceptional. It's the ambience created by the staff and the staff themselves that make a stay there so memorable. Nothing is too much trouble. Everything is done with a warm smile, almost affection. It really does feel like a home from home. The Concierge team are just wonderful.
Five nights at the Sacher and we were completely and utterly refreshed, revived and ready to face reality again. A serious battery recharging place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback!

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks!

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Sacher Wien soon!

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

I do not have one single BUT. From the minute we arrived we found every thing higher than our expectation. The room is typical city five star hotels in size but fantastic. The bath room is very luxurious with under floor heating. The hotel is very quite and you could sleep to midday if you want. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room with it is marble walls is something else. To the contrary to what one of the reviews mentioned, I found breakfast is excellent with a lot of varieties and more importantly top quality. We very much enjoyed our five nights stay in this hotel. It's central position is a Hugh advantage. Avoid a restaurant called opera not far from the hotel, service is very bad and quality is not that good. I would definitely go back to sacher hotel.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Bluebird199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Nothing but praise. Room was really good with great facilities. Good night's sleep which is critical for me. Gym well equipped. One of the best breakfast buffets we've had. Very nice staff especially the concierges who gave us some great recommendations. Sad but must add loved the mini sacher torte on arrival. We sent some to our kids in the UK and they arrived in two days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick71959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Hotel Sacher Wien is a remarkably theatrical experience to say the least. This seems appropriate given that it is located just across the street from the Vienna State Opera house. We just spent five nights at the Sacher and found it to be a superb 19th century experience. The Sacher is really a rather intimate hotel with heavy décor befitting of the age it represents. The service was impeccable. Our room, 326, was very quiet, beautifully appointed and very well cared for by the housekeeping staff. Our room overlooked a street (Mayserdergasse) in back of the hotel which turned out to be just fine – no street noise in the evenings or at night. The theatrical nature of the Sacher was well represented in the costuming of the staff – the doorman, the bellmen, the maids, and certainly the concierge. Dealing with the concierge was a delightful experience. He was excellent with advice he delivered in a marvelous, teutonic fashion. I didn’t know whether to say good morning to the concierge or stand at attention and give him a crisp salute! Great fun. The theatricality of the hotel extended outside to the immediate parking area always filled with Mercedes and Audis and even one day a gorgeous Rolls Royce. I would say the Sacher represents the Vienna experience which is why we selected it in the first place. It certainly fulfilled our expectations in every regard. I did a “The Third Man” tour while in Vienna and the Sacher has a direct connection to the story and the film so that made it special as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Together with my girlfriend we stayed there for a weekend and it was ideally located in the city center. Rooms are big and very well equipped. Breakfast is almost too good to be true and a great bar is also open till late at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthieu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Top class hotel right in the center of Vienna. While you are there you just have to have coffee and Sacher Torte, the most wonderful chocolate cake invented there and sold in every bakery in Vienna. Buy one in a little wooden box as well to take home. Expensive but so worth it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janieChania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed in a superior room (which is the hotel's standard room). The view was amazing, looking right at the side of the Opera House. Room was well-equipped with modern facilities. Bathroom was with under floor heating. Room was not big but beautiful, so somehow justify the 400 euro we paid per night. Staff was very friendly, but if you dress like the other tourists, sometimes the doorman stops you from getting in the hotel, which is a bit annoying. (You have to show them the keys.) The only thing i would fault is the breakfast. I didn't think it was grand or scrumptious. Compared to other five star hotels in Vienna i've stayed in, Sacher surprised me with very few options in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,553 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,228 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 358 in Vienna
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 358 in Vienna
1,157 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#27 of 358 in Vienna
1,193 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £308 - £896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing