We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding elegance in the heart of Vienna”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #5 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a terrific hotel, wonderfully located across from the Opera House and a short walk from all the main sights and meseums in central Vienna. If you give the concierge advance notice by email, the staff will come up with the very best seats at the State Opera or the Lippizaner horses. The reception rooms have rich wall coverings, curtains and carpets; a beakfast room in rich green, a blue bar and a red grill. Upstairs, bedrooms can be smallish, but the adverse comments on TripAdvisor are less than fair; the hotel describes the room sizes accurately on its website and you can choose a larger room if you wish. Our seventh-floor room was spacious and beautifully appointed. This is a hotel where nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast buffet is varied and copious. Dinner at the Red Bar offers traditional Viennese dishes, reasonably priced, but not quite to the standard of Cafe Mozart round the corner, though served with greater elegance to the accompaniment of live piano music. In short, our four night stay (offered through the Kirker tour company for the price of three nights) was a wonderful treat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room on a higher floor if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horace4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Absolutely divine Hotel. Room was beautiful as was bathroom. Staff was incredible pleasant and attentive, especially the concierges. I will return to Vienna and stay at the Sacher again. The spa was world class and the services varied and excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is designed with a lot of luxury and tradition. You can feel the history of the city when woul walk though the halls. The staff is very friendly too, not just by Viennese standards. And the location is excellent - right behind State Opera and on the shopping street. But there is none of this is a valid excuse for such extremely small roms for such extraordinary prices. For the same we could get three times as large rooms only a few hundred metres away. And there we could at least enjoy the view on the ring and not on the a Starbucks or on the backside of the State Opera.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Jasmin,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. I am very sorry that your experience did not entirely meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Hotel Sacher Wien, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

At the Hotel Sacher Wien we offer different room categories with different room sizes. You did not mention the room category you booked but even the smallest room category “Superior” provides nice space with an average of 350 square feet. The Hotel Sacher is very proud of its location at the beginning of the pedestrian street with lots of shopping and dining opportunities, e.g. Starbucks, and opposite of the State Opera. Some of our guests prefer the view to the Albertina Gallery and we always try to accommodate special requests if we know about them.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Been there as a speaker in a conference for 2 nights. Spacious, clean, the staff was excellent. If you go by car, you can safely park it in the hotel's parking, which I found it to be extremely useful. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels where i have been in my life.Servise is perfect.something that I really like is the Sachertorte.Rooms are clean and food is a good.We had a lovely suite facing the Opera and though the rooms are small they are like a perfect little gem.Hotels in a very good location.Price is favorable

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e_john123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is the real Austrian living and in a very good location directly behind opera house and near shopping street Karntner Street. All rooms are very nice in Austrian style. Please enjoy your stay and do not think about the bill too much.

Room Tip: search for special offers on internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ning J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were in the Hotel Sacher cafe this very afternoon. I read other reviews about the bad service & rude staff. I have to say we were very happy with service & staff were delightful. The sachertorte was delicious - although my husband preferred the apple strudel. We would definitely return. We paid €15 for both pastries & two espresso .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
938 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#6 of 359 in Vienna
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 359 in Vienna
1,204 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 359 in Vienna
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £337 - £698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing