We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sacher Wien
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$424
US$397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$359
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$179
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$231
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$319
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$159
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$243
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$300
US$257
Official Site
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,895)
Filter reviews
1,895 results
Traveller rating
1,609
198
61
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,609
198
61
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssacher torteblue barrote baropera houseblaue barold worldhistoric hotelconcierge staffrooms are beautifulalbertina museumdeluxe roomfive star hotelstate operabreakfast buffetspanish riding schoolamazing hotelluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,895 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The sacher hotel is a fantastic experience from the moment you walked through the door. The staff are welcoming and so helpful.
The red room restaurant was fabulous! Enjoyed the intermittency of the restaurant and the food was a beautiful.
The only disappointing part of this amazing experience was breakfast. Our breakfast never appeared on our first morning. My husband raved about there breakfasts, as it had brilliant write ups.The chef forgot! Our breakfast order.
So what do you think we did the next morning???
We found cafe Mozart which was only a two minute walk around the corner of the hotel. The staff there were welcoming. We ate there every morning. Relaxing and the staff couldn't do enough for you.
We loved vienna and would definately come back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien and for your positive remarks!

The more I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused regarding the breakfast. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to prevent any future occurrences.

We very much hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Sacher Wien!

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hotel Sacher is located in the heart of Vienna and is famous for its original Sacher-Torte cake which dates back to 1832. Upon arrival, we were given a short guided tour of the hotel which was very useful. The room was excellent and well appointed. Having reserved dinner at the Rote Bar restaurant, upon arrival early evening, the restaurant manager could not identify our reservation and it was necessary for the writer to go all the way up to the room and back down again in order to show the e-mail reservation - only then did the "misunderstanding" become clear!! Very disappointing which also spoilt the evening.

Whilst the entire concierge team were outstanding, other members of the staff left a lot to be desired, concentrating more on locals rather than their international clientele. This all comes down to consistency of service and training which certainly needs to be improved upon without doubt.

Room Tip: If you contact the Concierge, they will take you directly to the Café Sacher without the need to queue outside. There is a smoking room for those who wish to have a nice cigar.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused and for the disappointment you experienced. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem areas you identified and to prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Spent two nights. Staff were very courteous (but one was practically begging for tips, but it was ok), rooms exuded charm, heated bathroom floors a nice touch. Fabulous location close to several sights (definitely visit the wet market). Only small complaint was the clientele were a bit stiff if not pretentious (of course, not me). If you can afford it, go.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank xx_familyguy_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Sacher Hotel Vienna is a magical place, the staff in all areas are a real asset to the business and they help to make the holiday that bit extra special. It truly is 5 star luxury and we loved it. I would recommend it to anyone - even if it is expensive, it is worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandarina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

OK, this hotel is very expensive, but we went there for our wedding anniversary so we didn't care:). I booked it through booking.com already with a promotion deal, but we even got an upgrade because I had told them about our wedding anniversary! And the first evening we came in back in our suite we found a bottle of Champain offered by the hotel!
The breakfast is unbelievable. I'm not allowed to eat fat, so they prepared me an omelet with just the white. There's soya milk instead of regular milk, and of course there's smoked salmon, all kinds of viennoiseries, the finest charcuteries, fresh fruits, English breakfast, just anything you can imagine. The hotel is based just in front of the Opera and the subway, so everything is nearby. It really felt like being in a fairytale for four days and three nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefaan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews