We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #4 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Great location service dining And
Surprisingly good for light sleepers
Like me!
Strongly recommend !
Concierge service and maids are superb.
They help us with reservation to the best performances and restaurants
Small disappointment -no coffee makers in a room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Arkady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sacher Wien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

This well located, family owned hotel is a jewel. Forget big chains and enjoy the refreshing atmosphere of quality, tradition and service that makes this a star in a city with many new choices. For those that appreciate old world service, it is a step back into that time, but with all the modern conveniences. Having stayed there years ago, I was happy to see that the every room had been tastefully redone and that the hotel had lost none of its charm.

Room Tip: THe top two floors have great views but lower ceilings....
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuseumTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What a wonderful hotel!

Everything was delightful...great staff, great room, great ambience, very intimate and low-key classic. the location can not be topped either...walking distance to just about anything you wanted to see in the city. I couldn't recommend this more highly, do not miss the opportunity to stay here!

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the Opera House and loved it. Very sunny and very quiet...so pretty looki...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hotel Sacher has a fantastic bar with the best atmosphere and gin & tonics. The location is excellent for walking distant to most Viennese tourist attractions including St Stephens which in summer has a series of string quartet and quintet concerts. Parking is provided but you must let the hotel know, which I recommend you do when you make your reservation. Travelling around Europe by car has its own set of issues to do with parking!!
The rooms are luxury with elegant furniture, as you would expect, but it seemed not to 'hang together', as there was no obvious theme but there was the eye for detail BUT the flooring was lino in direct contrast to the other furnishing. The bathroom was exceptional, but the view dreadful, so you would not pull aside the drapes.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Marilyn,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

The Hotel Sacher Wien has undergone a major refurbishment in 2011 & 2012, all rooms & suites including the bathrooms have been completely refurbished. Designed by the internationally renowned French interior designer Pierre-Yves Rochon the rooms combine a contemporary atmosphere with the latest technology and luxurious details. For the flooring we have chosen either top quality carpets or real oak parquet floors for higher room categories, all bathrooms are completely furnished with marble - we do not use lino at all in the hotel rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you at the Hotel Sacher again soon,

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a wonderful 2 days exploring Vienna whilst staying at this very elegant classic hotel.

The room was beautiful with a similarly wonderful white marble bathroom. A great welcome home when you had been out sightseeing for a day, we didn't want to leave! The breakfast was excellent and food in their famous cafe also good.

The hotel was very well located and it was very easy to walk to the main attractions.

I cannot fault this hotel and would certainly put it at the top of the list for anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

La Grande Dame of Wien…
By Dr. Michael LIm The Travelling GourmetTM

SAS stands for ‘Splendide & Superbe’, for that is what the Hotel Sacher, La Grand Dame of Vienna is…Over many years of her glorious history it has hosted VVIPs whose photos and autographs decorate the walls near the discreet reception. President John F Kennedy and Queen Elizabeth II to give just two examples. Superstar Justin Bieber was a guest when I was here. So many of his enamoured teeny-bopper female fans surrounded me each time I left and entered the Hotel Sacher, until the courteous and efficient Vienna Police had to escort me in and out…I told them > "Ich bon der Onkel von Justin Bieber...< They took pictures of me with their Android phones and laughed hysterically. I adored my tastefully opulent, old yet modern and super-comfortable suite overlooking the Albertina. everything you could possibly need is there. The imposing Albertina Museum is where my favourite painting “Der Hase” by Renaissance genius Albrecht Duerer is displayed. My suite was decorated with lovely & immensely valuable old paintings. The bathroom was huge with a TV screen in the mirror a la James Bond! It was the kind of suite that you simply do not want to leave…There are over 1000 genuine objets d’art & precious paintings all over this iconic and world renowned hotel. I adore the painting of the founder, Anna Sacher, an iron lady like Margaret Thatcher. The location of the Sacher is very strategic with the pedestrian shopping street & the iconic Stefansdom just 13 minutes walk away. The enchanting Belvedere Schloss which houses works by renowned Gustav “The Kiss” Klimt & other luminaries of the Impressionistic genre like Monet, is only a short ride away by tram…but that is another story.

Fabulous Fruehstueck!

One unique feature of the Sacher is the Steinwasser’ ( Amethyst Water) for breakfast. Big pieces of purple amethyst are inside the water. Austrians believe that drinking “Stone-Water” is good for your health. I felt really, really good so it must work! The young Chef at the ‘Hot Station’ is very good. His Spanish Omelette a la minute & ,,hart gekoechte Ei”(hard boiled egg) were superb.
This is truly one of the world's iconic hotels BUT there is no arrogance or snootiness here. You feel like family when you stay here.The staff are professionals and love thier job. If only once in your life you simply MUST stay here. What more can I say? I love the Sacher... :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThetravellingG0urmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The sacher hotel is a fantastic experience from the moment you walked through the door. The staff are welcoming and so helpful.
The red room restaurant was fabulous! Enjoyed the intermittency of the restaurant and the food was a beautiful.
The only disappointing part of this amazing experience was breakfast. Our breakfast never appeared on our first morning. My husband raved about there breakfasts, as it had brilliant write ups.The chef forgot! Our breakfast order.
So what do you think we did the next morning???
We found cafe Mozart which was only a two minute walk around the corner of the hotel. The staff there were welcoming. We ate there every morning. Relaxing and the staff couldn't do enough for you.
We loved vienna and would definately come back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien and for your positive remarks!

The more I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused regarding the breakfast. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to prevent any future occurrences.

We very much hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Sacher Wien!

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,477 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
902 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 361 in Vienna
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 361 in Vienna
1,158 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 361 in Vienna
1,175 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £378 - £774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing